Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public charter
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 697
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bridges Academy 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
At first, I was highly skeptical because in the past this school was known to be "bad." NOT ANYMORE! They REALLY improved! This school has changed it's image and policies and principal - even it's name! Yes, I was skeptical but it really has upgraded into a GREAT school. Very big on "Anti-Bullying" which is great. Their girls basketball coach is supportive and fun. The principal is wonderful (love the way he works). Very proactive staff... I have been greatful for the past two years. Thank you!

Bridges Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a teacher
This school has a comprehensive curriculum for all students. There is a large group of second language learners, all in English Language development and/or math support classes. Here are the electives we currently offer for the 2012-2013 school year ~ A State-Award winning Exemplary Visual Arts Program; Music - including band, guitar, choir,keyboarding; Robotics; Foreign Language: Spanish; AVID; Leadership; MESA, Student Leadership. We have extracurricular girls/boys sports teams in Volleyball, soccer, basketball, and cross country. We offer geometry to qualifying 8th graders. We offer science, social studies, history, mathematics, (ELA) English Language Arts, English Language Development (ELD), interventions for Math/English Language Arts, We have a highly qualified staff of educators and administrators. All supportive to help each student be successful in academics as well as social skills. Contact Irma Loera, office manager 408-283-6400 to enroll your student in Bridges Academy for the 2013-2014 academic school year! Placements are filling up quickly!


Bridges Academy 4

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
This school is a very good, full-curriculum Jr. High. It has outlets for students; such as, music (band), Dance Troop, Cheerleading, and Sports. Then, I heard there's other things. You just have to be in the know, or get your student to bring you the flyers home or check in the office as you wait patiently for someone to get a moment to help you. They are very busy with students and day-to-day activities.

Bridges Academy 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a student
J.W. Fair is a great school! Fair has some of the best teachers, and the best advanced math class. 7th Algebra and 8th Geometry are the best in the state. To bad this school have a bad repretation, but its really a great school. Mr.Duran the advance math teacher there is the best! He 'motivates' you to d your homework, work hard, study hard, and get A's! This is one of the best schools. Its a fun school with sports. And I'm pretty sure you're going to get the best 2 years of your life here! - A former student at J.W. Fair Middle School!

Bridges Academy 5

Posted June 13, 2009
- a student
This school is awesome. Most of the teachers are great. The teachers are helpful and nice.


Bridges Academy 5

Posted May 30, 2009
- a student
I'd have to say that Fair is a great school. There is no way that at Fair that there can be bullying. The teachers are great but maybe a few boring ones but where is there one where teachers aren't? The teachers here care about the students a lot. By the way we have the best Geometry test scores in California(YES!) and one of the best Algebra test scores in the city!All thanks to our great Mr. Duran :]

Bridges Academy 5

Posted May 17, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Bridges Academy 1

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bridges Academy 4

Posted March 22, 2009
- a student
I am currently attending this school as an 8th grader and they have really great classes there like Geometry for 8th graders and Algebra I for 7th graders. The teachers are great and can really relate to some of the students. I know this school has some bad rumors which is not making students wanting to go there, but it's really great. Rumors are just rumors. So, ignore the bad ones.

Bridges Academy 3

Posted November 09, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bridges Academy
1702 Mclaughlin Avenue, San Jose, CA  95122
(408) 283-6400
Last modified Bridges Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bridges Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top