Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bridges Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
The counselor , Ms.Nguyen is the most helpful person in the school. She is the counselor after all.

Bridges Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
I've seen 1-2 teachers that actually care about you. The counselor is helpful a lot.


Bridges Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
Maybe more than a normal school. Some teachers don't check homework. That is the wrong part.

Bridges Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
I can't even, I just, worst school ever. Never have a seen a school this horrible before.

Bridges Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
10% of staff actually care about students. One teacher talked about her weekend. FOR THE ENTIRE CLASS.


Bridges Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
School doesn't care about bullying or nothing. About 10% of staff actually care about students. That is just sad.

Bridges Academy 1

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
I WOULD GIVE 0 STARS IF I COULD. TEACHERS SWEAR IN CLASS. I REPEAT, SWEAR LIKE BAD WORDS. WTH. TEACHERS ARE UNPROFESSIONAL AND DON'T CARE ABOUT YOU. THEY THINK OF YOU AS JUST A PERSON WHO COMES AND GOES. I'VE NEVER EVER SEEN THIS BAD OF A SCHOOL. NEVER IN MY LIFE.

Bridges Academy 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
At first, I was highly skeptical because in the past this school was known to be "bad." NOT ANYMORE! They REALLY improved! This school has changed it's image and policies and principal - even it's name! Yes, I was skeptical but it really has upgraded into a GREAT school. Very big on "Anti-Bullying" which is great. Their girls basketball coach is supportive and fun. The principal is wonderful (love the way he works). Very proactive staff... I have been greatful for the past two years. Thank you!


Bridges Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a teacher
This school has a comprehensive curriculum for all students. There is a large group of second language learners, all in English Language development and/or math support classes. Here are the electives we currently offer for the 2012-2013 school year ~ A State-Award winning Exemplary Visual Arts Program; Music - including band, guitar, choir,keyboarding; Robotics; Foreign Language: Spanish; AVID; Leadership; MESA, Student Leadership. We have extracurricular girls/boys sports teams in Volleyball, soccer, basketball, and cross country. We offer geometry to qualifying 8th graders. We offer science, social studies, history, mathematics, (ELA) English Language Arts, English Language Development (ELD), interventions for Math/English Language Arts, We have a highly qualified staff of educators and administrators. All supportive to help each student be successful in academics as well as social skills. Contact Irma Loera, office manager 408-283-6400 to enroll your student in Bridges Academy for the 2013-2014 academic school year! Placements are filling up quickly!

Bridges Academy 4

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
This school is a very good, full-curriculum Jr. High. It has outlets for students; such as, music (band), Dance Troop, Cheerleading, and Sports. Then, I heard there's other things. You just have to be in the know, or get your student to bring you the flyers home or check in the office as you wait patiently for someone to get a moment to help you. They are very busy with students and day-to-day activities.

Nearby schools

Bridges Academy
1702 Mclaughlin Avenue, San Jose, CA  95122-2936
(408) 283-6400
Last modified Bridges Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top