Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 508
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 2

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
At the surface, this is a really good school. My daughters have been in 1st - 3rd and K - 1st grades. Curriculum is good. Safety could be an issue. There are cases of kids picking on other or smaller kids. Kids will argue and push each other around, but I think of a lot of that comes from the families up bringing. I've witness the students' relatives attitudes and manners during event gatherings, some of them are rude. I'm considering moving or sending my daughters to private school. They have the after school program to help students with homework and activities. It's more like a day care center to me.

G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2011
- a community member
This is a good school. My child has a good time here and she gets straight A's and she has a the most friends anyone can have :D


G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2010
- a community member
Youmight want to look at other schools in the district before enrolling here. The other parent's emphasis on safety is overrated. My daughter is continually beaten up by other students, some not even in her class or grade level. Amazingly, nobody seems to notice when this happens, until she comes home with a black eye. As far as curriculum goes, its average. I actually teach her better at home, but I can't afford home school. Yes, the test scores are good, but there is more to a school than statistics. I suggest you hang around with a visitor's pass and watch how the kids interact at recess. You may see more than you like. Supervision seems to be more focused on damage control rather prevention.

G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 4

Posted November 24, 2009
- a parent
This is a much better school then the others in the area. Concern that most students do not speak English so worried class standards are set back. New Principal so waiting to see how well he does compare to Ms. Lane.

G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
Very safe school. Teachers are nice, yet push students for a better future. Principal does not participate as well, but the other staff members are very passionate and caring for students.


G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 3

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2009
- a parent
hellyer school is such a wonderful and safe enviroment both for the teachers as well as the student. hellyer maintains great educational programs that maintain kids out of trouble and teaches them good values.

G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
Hellyer has become an awesome school with the leadership of Mrs. Lane. The children are having fun and parents are becomeing more involved. Adult english classes being held for free on campus is really helping the parents understand and help there children reach awesome scores. Hellyer was #1 in the district in scores in 2007-2008. That's great commitment from staff, parents and children's. I'd recomend this school to anyone.


G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 1

Posted February 02, 2008
- a parent
This school is [broke] extracurricular activities are in the dumps.. Children are wrongfully disciplined .. And they are always trying to get $$$ from parents and students.. [Don't enroll you're children here

G. W. Hellyer Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

G. W. Hellyer Elementary School
725 Hellyer Avenue, San Jose, CA  95111
(408) 363-5750
Last modified G. W. Hellyer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
G. W. Hellyer Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top