Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
The teachers specially are amazing and they all are committed. my child love the school because her teacher motivate her and build her confidence.

Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2012
- a parent
This is an amazing school with a great staff and a strong and committed principal. I would like to give the SDC and RSP classrooms 10/10. The teachers there are caring and understanding with so much compassion. Visit these classes when you have the chance. My child was in the SDC program and now he is a very independent child who maintains a B average and his social skills have improved. Thank you Dahl! Keep up the terrific work!


Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2011
- a community member
Everything about this school is amazing i give it 5 stars! Since I was a kid I've loved everything the recess, lunch, and amazing teachers!

Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 14, 2010
- a parent
Very Good School. My 3 boys go here and they love it!

Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
This school is going threw a major remodel !! Its about time. The children/staff deserve to have a new facility/ equipments etc. I have also heard that there will be a new principal for the new school year. Hopefully there will be good changes for the new school year.


Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School 4

Posted March 21, 2009
- a parent
I must agree with the last parent. Yes, things have changed. It is not the same as when we went to school. I am glad the principal wants a focus on learning and keeping kids safe. Some parents want to be able to have rules changed just for them. They don't want to sign in or obey traffic laws. I am glad the new leadership is helping our students learn and keeping them safe.

Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 21, 2009
- a parent
Great school. Too bad there are a few bad parents. At a recent PTA meeting one stood up and was mad that Spanish was being used in the meeting even though translators were there for Spanish, English and Vietnamese. How sad...These parents need to realize this is a world where we must all work together.

Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School 3

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of elementary age children who have attended Dahl the last three years, I have seen the leadership change to a new principal. As far as the principal s attitude goes I have had nothing but positive interactions with her. It seems interesting to me that the other parent reviews are so focused on the parties their kids are not having at school as opposed to the learning they are doing. I figure that I send my children to school in order to LEARN not have a party. I am exceedingly happy with all of the teachers my children have had and really appreciate the hard work they do. I agree with the last post many parents do not recognize the different world students are facing today, a world where they are expected to know more at a younger age.


Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
I've read the various parents and need to add my own opinions. First, the school does have field trips and celebrations. My child recently took a wonderful trip to the San Jose Tech museum. As I understand, field trips are organized by teachers. Second, PTA continues to do wonderful things. They had a 'Cafecito with Santa' and it was great. They hold monthly assemblies to recognize students for achievement, leadership and citizenship. As far as Hallowen, I understand the need to focus on academics and help the students learn. I heard the principal offered to let the parents hold Halloween events after school hours, but none of the parents wanted to take the time. I think it is a matter of parents not understanding the different world that students are in today. It is important that the students succeed academically. Parties should be part of the home.

Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
Yes I agree this school has been going down hill ever since Ms. Bacoccina the Principal came to Dahl School. Parents/Students dont feel welcome. She is VERY Rude. Ms. Bacoccina took away halloween parade, holiday parties, students cant even bring in a healthy snack to class to share w/ their classmates on their birthday. I am not sure if the principle has Religious beliefs about certin holidays but that should be kept at home. The teachers are great and care alot about the students and most of the teachers agree as well to bring back the holiday parties etc. There is also no field trips for students. Last yr the PTA did a great job organizing alot of functions movie night, panckes w/ santa , etc. they never had that before this year there is a new PTA members and its the middle of Dec and they have not done anything.

Nearby schools

Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School
3200 Water Street, San Jose, CA  95111-3236
(408) 363-5650
Last modified Captain Jason M. Dahl Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top