Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sylvandale Middle School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a community member
Love this school the teachers are so nice!, The pe programs spot on, and the teachers try their best to make learning as fun as possible.

Sylvandale Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a community member
API keeps raising each year, school does a tremendous job acclimating English language learners. Positive learning environment and strong teachers had had a deep affect on students. School has many electives, and a solid staff of veteran teachers who really care about students with little turn over.


Sylvandale Middle School 5

Posted July 27, 2010
- a community member
this school is so AWESOME!!!!! Mr.Kennedy is the best principal. :D I've learned so much last year as a seventh grader and now I'm going to be an 8th grader this year and I really want to be a good role models for the upcoming students.

Sylvandale Middle School 5

Posted June 09, 2010
- a community member
I think Sylvandale Middle School is a great place. The teacher is there to push us kids to work harder towards our goal. I think Sylvandale is the best school I have attended through my entire school career.

Sylvandale Middle School 2

Posted April 13, 2010
- a community member
sylvandale Junior High School is a not environment for kids there are too much gang related but the teachers they care about the students i was a student in this school some students put down other students a lot i hope the students can change their self of their bulling of other kids.but the point is that less violence on every school not only this school my dream is that too to make the world more peaceful for other people but it wont happen because the children and teens don't care about the world today


Sylvandale Middle School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a student
I go to Sylvandale Middle School. It has a good environment. The teachers look forward to teaching their students in a fun, accurate way. The majority of the people there are kind.

Sylvandale Middle School 4

Posted April 08, 2009
- a student
I go to this school and that school isn't that bad and its fun there! The classes are ok, the teacher are nice but strict and they taught us alot of things that we didn't know before!

Sylvandale Middle School 3

Posted January 07, 2009
- a student
I am a student attending sylvandale and in my opinion it's not so bad sure it's not like the richest. But the students and faculty try their best. Average is a boring word for decent, fair, acceptable. :)


Sylvandale Middle School 4

Posted September 24, 2008
- a student
One of the best schools I have ever attended. The teachers may not be the best and the school may not be the safest but it's full of people that are fun to hang out with including teachers.

Sylvandale Middle School 2

Posted September 11, 2008
- a student
Not the best school there ever is, but I've learned a lot of things here. There's not that many electives due to the budget cut & politics stuff. But, there are a group of teachers that really care about their students more than you can ever imagine.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sylvandale Middle School
653 Sylvandale Avenue, San Jose, CA  95111-1414
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (408) 363-5700
Last modified Sylvandale Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top