Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
64 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lynbrook High School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
Lynbrook continues to be associated with the highest educational standards. Students graduate Lynbrook a formable amount knowledge that has prepared them for the next level of education. Additionally students have the opportunity to develop social skills, via arts & sports, school activities, dances, competition, plays, and so much more. Add the skill and support of the Teacher's and Staff, then there are no excuses for not succeeding. Thank you Lynbrook.

Lynbrook High School 5

Posted April 01, 2016
- a teacher
As a teacher for over 12 years at Lynbrook and 4 years at Monta Vista, I can tell you Lynbrook is an exceptional high school. Don't be fooled by all the negativity, you will not find harder working teachers who not only take great pride in the work they do, but also love their students and connect with them regularly. As for the student body, I can tell you, having worked in 6 different high schools, this group is super inclusive. Bullying is almost non-existent. The camaraderie between students and spirit on the campus reflect the essence of the typical Lynbrook student. From Homecoming skits to the senior Spoons game, the students are ripe with creative outlets and bond with enthusiasm. Parents who are critical of the teachers "teaching only 20%", some nebulous and random percentage, should move. Sell your over-priced house and find something better. I wish you luck. The high ratings of Lynbrook are well deserved. Look at the Science Fair and the STEM program, ranked #7 in the United States. Look at all the Intel and Seimens winners, look at Model UN, DECA winners, a top notch Speech and Debate team, Viking Buddies and Link Crew, nationally rated Yearbook and Epic News magazine, those are just a few of the stellar opportunities for Students. Lynbrook is so much more than test scores and offers endless opportunities for learning both inside and outside the classroom. It a special place to work and I value every single day as much as I value each and every student. Best school you'll find.


Lynbrook High School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I recently spent two weeks observing at Lynbrook as a prerequisite to applying to teacher's college and I was just amazed by he quality of teaching and their students. Yes, the students do tend to be competitive and resemble the characters of the Big Bang Theory but they are also very fun loving, hard working and teachable. There were always some activities in the quad to stir up school spirit and I always see a smile in everyone's face except when they come out of an AP Calculus quiz.

Lynbrook High School 4

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
Great environment for highly academic, self-motivated, over-achievers. A bit stressful for those who don't fit this profile. Not much cultural diversity, since the population is heavily Asian. Administration, teachers, and staff are very competent and caring. Highly intelligent, college educated parent population are actively involved. There is much emphasis on STEM and college prep, such that students may not get exposed to higher level humanities and ethics. In the highly competitive environment supported by parents' definition of success, cheating is an issue. Students with special needs and learning challenges may feel isolated and intimidated. This may not be a healthy environment for some students.

Lynbrook High School 4

Posted December 15, 2014
- a student
Obviously there are a lot of mixed reviews about how Lynbrook is, I think this is mostly based on how people respond to a high-pressure environment. For example parents reviews might be influenced by what their kids say about it. This school has a very large amount of very motivated people, but it's less the school and the teachers than the students themselves that push up LHS's test scores. Almost everything that is done at this school is done to look good on their college applications. The stress level that is experienced here makes cheating a huge problem because of the workloads and lack of time and sleep that everyone gets. Staff are trying to fix the problem this year but from what I can see it isn't working very well. One great thing about all of this is that the pressure that the students have on them to constantly excel in everything makes a great atmosphere of camaraderie, and the people at this school are some of the nicest that I have ever met. Some people may disagree with what I say here but this is how I see it after going here for two years. What I do know is that every day Lynbrook pushes me to learn as much as I can and to be the best I can be.


Lynbrook High School 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a community member
Lynbrook offers a very inclusive learning experience. The teachers have a great track record for being progressive and involved in their students complete education. They are highly skilled and motivated, making Lynbrook a highly regarded school. I feel that students are well monitored, encouraged and motivated. Lynbrook prepares their student's not only for college, but to succeed in life. All aspects of learning is taken into consideration. The basic's such as math, science, liturature, & the arts, music, dance, & sports are all important. Lynbrook is considered be one of the "top high schools in the Bay Area", It had been raked one of the "top five public comprehensive secondary schools in California". There is such a high demand for parent's to have their children go to Lynbrook, that the housing market in the immediate area's have skyrocket, which increases the tax base, which again increases the funding for the school's. Additional families that move into the area are so involved with the best education for their children, many of the bond measures, for school funding, are continually supported. Lynbrook offers an outstanding curriculum & extra curriculum program to all.

Lynbrook High School 2

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
Some comment come from parent who just want to maintain their house value, do not fooled by some parent statement "studying at this school could almost ensure you a spot into a Ivy League school ", The parent and student do the 80% job and teacher only do 20% , a lot of parent are complaining this. Do some research before buy a million house there.

Lynbrook High School 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a student
To those who are reading the negative reviews submitted by "parents" and students please spend a day in this school. Most students enrolled are neither snobbish nor extremely wealthy. There are a myriad of students with different personalities in this school but most are very friendly. The parents and students complaining about "lack of human skills" or "students being smart due to private tutoring" are horribly mistaken. Indeed the AP classes are difficult but there are teachers and other students who are willing to tutor your child if the need arises. There are also tutorial periods for students to ask a teacher questions, do their homework or study for an upcoming quiz/test. The occurrences for bullying, theft, etc. at this school is EXTREMELY rare and are almost unheard of. The teachers at this school are also extremely friendly and bonds with students well (I know because I am a student myself). Overall this school is excellent and studying at this school could almost ensure you a spot into a Ivy League school or at the very least a UC. Keep up the good work Vikings!


Lynbrook High School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
The school is amazing! Most of the teachers are caring, the current principal is a fantastic role model and the parent involvement is outstanding. The support system is strong. I couldn't be happier with a school and its staff.

Lynbrook High School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a student
Not all the steller students are steller naturally. I estimated about 30% of these students steller or not steller gets private tutoring. There are like 5% that are just born smart. Don't buy a house here. Many parents pay for private tutoring. It is the snobbish people that move here. Don't let the false information in suckering your hard earn dollar. If u have the money to waste, plus paying for private tutoring, etc, then go for it.

Nearby schools

Lynbrook High School
1280 Johnson Avenue, San Jose, CA  95129-4172
(408) 366-7700
Last modified Lynbrook High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top