Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 59 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


62 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lynbrook High School 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a community member
Lynbrook offers a very inclusive learning experience. The teachers have a great track record for being progressive and involved in their students complete education. They are highly skilled and motivated, making Lynbrook a highly regarded school. I feel that students are well monitored, encouraged and motivated. Lynbrook prepares their student's not only for college, but to succeed in life. All aspects of learning is taken into consideration. The basic's such as math, science, liturature, & the arts, music, dance, & sports are all important. Lynbrook is considered be one of the "top high schools in the Bay Area", It had been raked one of the "top five public comprehensive secondary schools in California". There is such a high demand for parent's to have their children go to Lynbrook, that the housing market in the immediate area's have skyrocket, which increases the tax base, which again increases the funding for the school's. Additional families that move into the area are so involved with the best education for their children, many of the bond measures, for school funding, are continually supported. Lynbrook offers an outstanding curriculum & extra curriculum program to all.

Lynbrook High School 2

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
Some comment come from parent who just want to maintain their house value, do not fooled by some parent statement "studying at this school could almost ensure you a spot into a Ivy League school ", The parent and student do the 80% job and teacher only do 20% , a lot of parent are complaining this. Do some research before buy a million house there.


Lynbrook High School 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a student
To those who are reading the negative reviews submitted by "parents" and students please spend a day in this school. Most students enrolled are neither snobbish nor extremely wealthy. There are a myriad of students with different personalities in this school but most are very friendly. The parents and students complaining about "lack of human skills" or "students being smart due to private tutoring" are horribly mistaken. Indeed the AP classes are difficult but there are teachers and other students who are willing to tutor your child if the need arises. There are also tutorial periods for students to ask a teacher questions, do their homework or study for an upcoming quiz/test. The occurrences for bullying, theft, etc. at this school is EXTREMELY rare and are almost unheard of. The teachers at this school are also extremely friendly and bonds with students well (I know because I am a student myself). Overall this school is excellent and studying at this school could almost ensure you a spot into a Ivy League school or at the very least a UC. Keep up the good work Vikings!

Lynbrook High School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
The school is amazing! Most of the teachers are caring, the current principal is a fantastic role model and the parent involvement is outstanding. The support system is strong. I couldn't be happier with a school and its staff.

Lynbrook High School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a student
Not all the steller students are steller naturally. I estimated about 30% of these students steller or not steller gets private tutoring. There are like 5% that are just born smart. Don't buy a house here. Many parents pay for private tutoring. It is the snobbish people that move here. Don't let the false information in suckering your hard earn dollar. If u have the money to waste, plus paying for private tutoring, etc, then go for it.


Lynbrook High School 3

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
Please don't be fool to buy a house here. It is not the school that is good. It is the type of students that move here. The students along with their parents make the 80% effort and the teachers only 20%. It is just common sense that you cannot make an average to below average student smart. Don't let the API score fool you. Don't waste your money on buying these huts which they called homes in 95129 area code. 1.2 million for a dump of between 1300 to 1600 square feet of nightmare.

Lynbrook High School 1

Posted March 23, 2013
- a parent
I am very worry about what I heard from other students about how this school really is. Most of the students are very stuck up thinking they are from affluent families and behaving like they are the cream of the crops. LOLS LOLS LOLS. The affluent people do not live here in West San Jose. They are in Los Altos Hills, certain parts of Palo Alto, Atherton, Los Gatos, certain parts of San Francisco, etc. This school have way too many arrogant students which make them go several steps behind those students that are well rounded. Just remember this, there are other schools in California (the one in Cerritos, CA) and out of state that beat your score. I am afraid to say that this school will have plenty of students with lack of human skills.

Lynbrook High School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a community member
And the house prices keep going up!! Thanks Lynbrook for doing such a great job. Interesting to read someone say "Sports not emphasized much, although they do excel in a few areas: tennis, water polo, track & field." I wonder how much that new stadium cost the taxpayers.


Lynbrook High School 4

Posted July 06, 2012
- a student
The school has strong support provided by the teachers to any student. Students are urged to pursue their own interests despite the strong science and mathematics emphasis already in place.

Lynbrook High School 5

Posted March 23, 2011
- a parent
We moved to this area specifically so my kids could attend this school - my son is a sophomore in his second year at Lynbrook. As advertised, Lynbrook provides a challenging academic environment, offering multiple AP, honors and advanced, technical coursework and has a great record for test scores & college placement with its graduates. Although the campus itself appears a bit dated, classroom equipment is top notch. However I suspect that most of the steller academic results are due to students' home environments (parents) rather than from teachers. Sports not emphasized much, although they do excel in a few areas: tennis, water polo, track & field. The school has more clubs than I've ever heard of a school having and a very tight-knit student body. Extracurricular activities are wholesome - don't ever hear of kids getting into any kind of trouble around here. The school is addressing the perception that Lynbrook students lack social skills by implementing a program to practice presenting, public speaking and working in groups. School population is mainly Asian/Indian - we are not - caucasians are definitely in the minority. But that has never been an issue for my son.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lynbrook High School
1280 Johnson Avenue, San Jose, CA  95129
(408) 366-7700
Last modified Lynbrook High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lynbrook High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top