Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 8

4 stars
Based on 60 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


63 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lynbrook High School 4

Posted December 15, 2014
- a student
Obviously there are a lot of mixed reviews about how Lynbrook is, I think this is mostly based on how people respond to a high-pressure environment. For example parents reviews might be influenced by what their kids say about it. This school has a very large amount of very motivated people, but it's less the school and the teachers than the students themselves that push up LHS's test scores. Almost everything that is done at this school is done to look good on their college applications. The stress level that is experienced here makes cheating a huge problem because of the workloads and lack of time and sleep that everyone gets. Staff are trying to fix the problem this year but from what I can see it isn't working very well. One great thing about all of this is that the pressure that the students have on them to constantly excel in everything makes a great atmosphere of camaraderie, and the people at this school are some of the nicest that I have ever met. Some people may disagree with what I say here but this is how I see it after going here for two years. What I do know is that every day Lynbrook pushes me to learn as much as I can and to be the best I can be.

Lynbrook High School 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a community member
Lynbrook offers a very inclusive learning experience. The teachers have a great track record for being progressive and involved in their students complete education. They are highly skilled and motivated, making Lynbrook a highly regarded school. I feel that students are well monitored, encouraged and motivated. Lynbrook prepares their student's not only for college, but to succeed in life. All aspects of learning is taken into consideration. The basic's such as math, science, liturature, & the arts, music, dance, & sports are all important. Lynbrook is considered be one of the "top high schools in the Bay Area", It had been raked one of the "top five public comprehensive secondary schools in California". There is such a high demand for parent's to have their children go to Lynbrook, that the housing market in the immediate area's have skyrocket, which increases the tax base, which again increases the funding for the school's. Additional families that move into the area are so involved with the best education for their children, many of the bond measures, for school funding, are continually supported. Lynbrook offers an outstanding curriculum & extra curriculum program to all.


Lynbrook High School 2

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
Some comment come from parent who just want to maintain their house value, do not fooled by some parent statement "studying at this school could almost ensure you a spot into a Ivy League school ", The parent and student do the 80% job and teacher only do 20% , a lot of parent are complaining this. Do some research before buy a million house there.

Lynbrook High School 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a student
To those who are reading the negative reviews submitted by "parents" and students please spend a day in this school. Most students enrolled are neither snobbish nor extremely wealthy. There are a myriad of students with different personalities in this school but most are very friendly. The parents and students complaining about "lack of human skills" or "students being smart due to private tutoring" are horribly mistaken. Indeed the AP classes are difficult but there are teachers and other students who are willing to tutor your child if the need arises. There are also tutorial periods for students to ask a teacher questions, do their homework or study for an upcoming quiz/test. The occurrences for bullying, theft, etc. at this school is EXTREMELY rare and are almost unheard of. The teachers at this school are also extremely friendly and bonds with students well (I know because I am a student myself). Overall this school is excellent and studying at this school could almost ensure you a spot into a Ivy League school or at the very least a UC. Keep up the good work Vikings!

Lynbrook High School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
The school is amazing! Most of the teachers are caring, the current principal is a fantastic role model and the parent involvement is outstanding. The support system is strong. I couldn't be happier with a school and its staff.


Lynbrook High School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a student
Not all the steller students are steller naturally. I estimated about 30% of these students steller or not steller gets private tutoring. There are like 5% that are just born smart. Don't buy a house here. Many parents pay for private tutoring. It is the snobbish people that move here. Don't let the false information in suckering your hard earn dollar. If u have the money to waste, plus paying for private tutoring, etc, then go for it.

Lynbrook High School 3

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
Please don't be fool to buy a house here. It is not the school that is good. It is the type of students that move here. The students along with their parents make the 80% effort and the teachers only 20%. It is just common sense that you cannot make an average to below average student smart. Don't let the API score fool you. Don't waste your money on buying these huts which they called homes in 95129 area code. 1.2 million for a dump of between 1300 to 1600 square feet of nightmare.

Lynbrook High School 1

Posted March 23, 2013
- a parent
I am very worry about what I heard from other students about how this school really is. Most of the students are very stuck up thinking they are from affluent families and behaving like they are the cream of the crops. LOLS LOLS LOLS. The affluent people do not live here in West San Jose. They are in Los Altos Hills, certain parts of Palo Alto, Atherton, Los Gatos, certain parts of San Francisco, etc. This school have way too many arrogant students which make them go several steps behind those students that are well rounded. Just remember this, there are other schools in California (the one in Cerritos, CA) and out of state that beat your score. I am afraid to say that this school will have plenty of students with lack of human skills.


Lynbrook High School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a community member
And the house prices keep going up!! Thanks Lynbrook for doing such a great job. Interesting to read someone say "Sports not emphasized much, although they do excel in a few areas: tennis, water polo, track & field." I wonder how much that new stadium cost the taxpayers.

Lynbrook High School 4

Posted July 06, 2012
- a student
The school has strong support provided by the teachers to any student. Students are urged to pursue their own interests despite the strong science and mathematics emphasis already in place.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lynbrook High School
1280 Johnson Avenue, San Jose, CA  95129
(408) 366-7700
Last modified Lynbrook High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lynbrook High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top