Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Los Paseos Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

Amazing school. Good teachers and excellent facilities. My kid really loves this school here. It has a YMCA child care on site too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

This is a good school. Nice mix of extracurricular activities. Very good parent involvement with the Home and school club. I wouldn't hesitate donating my money to this school because I see where it goes. Good teachers and the kids love being here. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Los Paseos is a great school. The parents are very involved and kids are very well-behaved. The teachers really care and are available at any time. The Home and School Club is very active and always comes up with fun and meaningful activities. My son (First Grader) loves everything about this school and has always been super-excited to go. I think that's the best indicator of how great this school is :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I love our little school! Before deciding to send my daughter here, I cried. She was coming from Stratford private school and I didn't think she was going to thrive in public school. Well, she is now entering the 2nd grade and she has learned so much and continues to thrive. The teachers she has had are so good with children and passionate about their jobs. The other wonderful thing about our little school is the parents. There is so much parent involvement and it really makes a huge difference in the environment. There is a lot of fund raising but it is all worth it! Without the fundraisers, we wouldn't have the wonderful music program or the great field trips. Great school, great community, great teachers, great parents, great kids. What more can a parent ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

We have been at Los Paseos for 3 years now and we have been very impressed and pleased with the school environment, staff and philosophy. Our 2nd grader is in the special ed program and is pulled out daily for RSP. The RSP treacher is fabulous and he feels "lucky" to get to go to her class daily. He also receives OT and ST at the school and has progressed very much. Our youngest is in Kinder and the kinder team is great. She is in a K-1 combo and has never felt left out of any kinder activities and as well had the opportunity to join some of the 1st grade activities. There are a lot of opportunities to help out for a variety of fundraisers and special events. My kids attend the on-site YMCA daycare center and have enjoyed going there. The staff are WONDERFUL and give the children love and support. They help with homework, do fun art and science projects and play games and sports with them. Our experience with Los Paseos has been great and we look forward to our future years there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I have two children that have been attending Los Paseos since Kindergarten, they are now in 6th & 4th grade. My experience has been outstanding. The principal is a strong leader that explifies excellence in education while maintaining a very personal relationship with each of my kids. The teachers have all showed great interest in helping my kids; from adjusting to a new grade to communicating with me about issues as they have come up. They have a wonderful open door policy and I have never had an issue with being heard or understood by any of the staff. The Home & School Club offers many volunteering opportunities and funds most of the great field trips. They also have a GATE program that does many interesting and fun classes. It will be sad when my kids outgrow this school and move on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

My son started Kinder in September 2010 and I find that Los Paseos rivals that of private schools, down to the day to day curriculum. I good friend of mine sent their daughters to a private catholic school in Campbell, and as we started to compare classworks/homework for our children, I then realized that Los Paseos has identical school works and activities for their Kinder students....and they are all FREE!!! How great is that!?!?!? My son's Kinder Teacher is wonderful and has such a air of patience about her, my son adores her (That's very rare!!). Our second son is turning 5 soon and we are hoping he will be in her class next year!!! The parents are also very involved in day to day class as well as fundraising, and I love the fact that my son gets snacks daily at school between his breakfast and lunch!!! Los Paseos is great!! Lets continue to increase that API !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

My son started kindergarten this past fall, and I am amazed at the progress he has made in just the last 4 months. He did have to change teachers a little into the school year because they dropped one KG class, but he transitioned fine because all the KG kids had experience with all the KG teachers beforehand. His teacher is amazing and always able to answer any questions/concerns I might have. I wanted to help out with his class, but I have two younger children to take care of, so his teacher gives me work every now and then that I can do at home (cutting, folding, stapling). I am glad the HSC was able to raise enough funds for the Music program because he enjoys that very much. I do feel that there is a lot of fundraising, but I do what I can. The principal is a very nice gentleman and the office staff is friendly. Haven't quite figured out the "crowd" yet; some parents are friendly and talkative, others keep to themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My daughter goes to this school and the teachers are great and they have allot of really great kids with extremely active parents... I Love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Awesome teachers & a great community makes for the most awesome students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I have been very impressed with the school and the new principal. I was anxious making a decision to have my child attend public school, but Los Paseos is excellent, low turnover of teachers. Parent involvement is good. I would like to see more enrichment classes and after school programs when California budget allows. School district run very solvently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

Los Paseos is an excellent school! My child started Kindergarten this year and loves it! Her teacher has been here for over thirty years and is simply the best! Very loving towards the children and an all around great educator. I look forward to having my other children go here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

My son started kindergarten in the fall of 2008, and i am extremely happy about his progress and his skills. He goes to school with great enthusiasm. His teacher is very experienced and deals with the children according to their needs. The new principal is introducing many improvements. I recommend the school based on my experience so far. Let's go for the API 9 rating !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

There is strong bulling in the school, since there is a new principal, they don't seem to do anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

We moved to another school district and have found a significant difference in the quality of the school and extra curricular activities. Teachers that our children had at Los Paseos were great and we have no concerns regarding them. Little parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

The Home and School Club (like PTA) is very active and dedicated. The students are friendly and happy. The teachers are happy, kind, and dedicated. My daughter has had a great experience at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Academic programs are good. Not enough extracurricular activities. Safety is OK. Disciplinary actions are sometimes not fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2006

Good basic program, but lacking in extracurricular, and 'beyond basic' enrichment. Have recently gotten a new activity center that should help with this in the future, but programs still need to be planned and developed to utilize the new facilities for the benefit of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

Wonderful parent & teacher involvement, great staff. The do a wonderful outstanding job keeping the students on track, keep parents involved in the school activites and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2005

My daughter is currently in Kindergarten at L.P. Her teacher, Mrs. Pusateri is wonderful! Very pleasant mannerism and really has a handle (after 20+ years of teaching) on *how* to teach little people. I really like her creativity, not just with the arts but with the science of teaching these kids 'how' to learn in a variety of ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

822

Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

822

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females77%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner61%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females74%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females56%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)30%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate63%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females53%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate56%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females81%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females88%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females72%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females76%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students66%
Females67%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females71%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students45%
Females46%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 52%
White 30% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 11%
Black 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 Avenida Grande
San Jose, CA 95139
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 201-6420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Stratford School
San Jose, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT