Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 519
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leroy Anderson Elementary School 1

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
This is perhaps the worst school you can attend, if you are not Latino. More than 80% of them are Latino. And the kids gang up on non-Latino kid. My kids come home everyday crying. I buy them a book. When they take it to school, it gets taken by the bully. The teachers don't do anything about it saying that my kids should not bring any of their books to school. My kids get kicked or beaten, and I call the school. They offered to meet just merely to avoid a law suit. After the meeting, nothing really changed. The teachers are all white. Instead of caring for the kids, they are more concerned about stepping over the racial controversies. The teachers need to be a little more attentive to what is going on outside the class room. They are the one who should encourage the racial acceptance instead of avoiding the subject. Also close to 90% of them are social economically disadvantaged. If you make a descent money and are in a good position to provide for your child/ren. You don't want to attend this school. It invites obvious jealousy and anger toward your child/ren. My kids are happy to attend school where it is racially more diverse.

Leroy Anderson Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
This school has shown great improvement and scores have risen dramatically. Parents and teachers are proactive in encouraging the kids and it has shown as test scores across the subjects have increased.


Leroy Anderson Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The leadership and teachers have done a great job at making the eduction students receive here top notch. Test scores don't show everything this school has to offer. The teachers really produce quality instruction to meet the students needs. The teachers are highly qualified and some of the best in the district, if not state. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for quality, high level, well rounded education.

Leroy Anderson Elementary School 1

Posted June 12, 2014
- a community member
all spanish kids. Low score school. Worst school in an area which has expensive house

Leroy Anderson Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a community member
What a happy place. The teachers and staff are always friendly and the students pick up that same energy. Very impressive.


Leroy Anderson Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
This school has been transformed in the last few years. Just a few years ago it had the lowest test scores in the county - now it is above 800. The principals and teachers have worked so hard to reach the students and transorm the culture of the school. The teachers have engaged the students and take complete responsibility for student learning. Amazing!

Leroy Anderson Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
The teachers at this school work vary hard and they deserve the word 'thank you!' , I have two children and they have a wonderful kindergarten teacher . The school staff is vary helpful . The Principals are both vary good.

Leroy Anderson Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
The campus is really beautiful , clean , serves the community well.


Leroy Anderson Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 13, 2008
- a parent
I was vary happy that my child attended this school , she had a wonderful teacher who taught students about going green , and how wonderful it is conserve . The Music program is really wonderful , I enjoyed a play called Acorn Maidens this June , wonderful .

Leroy Anderson Elementary School 4

Posted May 25, 2007
- a parent
Anderson has been the home school for my family- two of my daughters went there , and now one of them is sending their child there. It been always a school that has tried to support the community. The new Principals are giving the school a new start with new ideas. The music program has been vary upscale over the years that has included coastume stage plays and singing .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leroy Anderson Elementary School
4000 Rhoda Drive, San Jose, CA  95117
(408) 874-3100
Last modified Leroy Anderson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leroy Anderson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top