Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. Our daughter has a number of challenges in learning and the staff/team who work with her are amazing. She's doing really well and we couldn't be happier. Every day is still a challenge for her but she's feeling very successful and happy so we're thrilled.

Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
This school needs a whole new front office staff. The two secretaries need to be replaced or trained. They are there to serve the public school parents paying their wages. They need an honest to goodness how to talk with parents and kids. Any accidents the kids have at school interfere with these secretaries and principles down time to twiddle their thumbs. Honestly very sorry human beings spchildren have to think twice about before reporting an injury.


Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
Best school ever! Our first kid stayed here for 2 years. We like this school a lot! the teachers are great, students are polite, parents are school nice, even neighbors are friendly!

Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This school has great teachers and good learning environment. My daughter has been attending this school for the past 2 years and is very happy with the teachers. The homework assignments are correct for the age and interesting for the child.

Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
My son just started Kindergarten, and he enjoys being a Bobcat! The school is well run, and teachers very attentive. My son was having some trouble staying focused and completing his work, so the teacher took the initiative to inform us and work out some strategies together. I'm pleased about the early intervention, and hoping he lives up to the excellent standards of this school. I also like how involved the families are with fundraising and outside activities. A lot of care all around.


Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at Baker and my daughter is in Kindergarten. We are very pleased with Mrs. Smith and find her to be kind but also not put up with my daughter's nonsense, which we appreciate and support. Wonderful to see so much parent support and awesome fundraising. We are looking forward to more years as a Bobcat!

Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at Baker Elementary. My daughter's teacher, Mrs. Smith is amazing with the children. So far any concerns I have had have been addressed immediately. My only complaint is the class sizes for Kindergarten are 24/1 which seems a bit much but I am glad I can volunteer and help out were I can.

Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 boys, one is in the 4th grade who has been going to Baker since kindergarten & my other boy is in kindergarten now. All I can say is that the teachers at Baker have been very supportive & have gone out of there way to help my oldest son when he would have trouble with a subject & take the time afterschool to help. The amount of parents that help out at school just should show there appreciation & importance of what Baker School means to them & there children. Thank you Baker for teaching my boys on what they know now & what they will learn later! MF


Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 4

Posted May 09, 2013
- a community member
I really like the mix of kids and how nice the kids are. Mrs. D and Mrs.G. Miss Iwamoto is especially nice. And all the other teachers, too! My kid just joined in Miss Iwamoto's class and she dreads the weekend!

Gussie M. Baker Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
I have recently transferred my children from a very good private school. I have to say that I was very nervous about the transition. I now believe that I could not have made a better decision. I love Baker and more importantly my children love Baker. The staff has always been so friendly, and the principal is very approachable and always seen around the campus interacting with the kids and smiling. Go Bobcats!!

Nearby schools

Gussie M. Baker Elementary School
4845 Bucknall Road, San Jose, CA  95130-2021
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (408) 874-3200
Last modified Gussie M. Baker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top