Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ida Jew Academies
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
The teachers do care for the students, so they make sure they develop some good cognitive skills

Ida Jew Academies 2

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are the only reason this school isn't getting one star is because the teachers were good. BUT the way they treat the kids at the school is a complete joke! They used to treat us like 1st graders! They had to assign kids to sit at a certain table at lunch time because we were "too loud". To top it off the students I went with used to smoke vapor pens in class! The kids always used to talk about smoking weed and being in gangs. All of this happened in my 2013-2014 school year so things better change soon.


Ida Jew Academies
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 13, 2015
- a community member
I work at Ida Jew academies an although things are not perfect, I am hopeful we can have changes that will support our teachers. This is a great school. teachers are a dedicated bunch that truly have the best interest of not only the students but also the community. We always work hard & collaborate to give give each child a great learning experience. I love the students at Ida Jew Academies as well as the families. This coming year I am so optimistic that we will have an even more positive growth & establish a great school culture where everyone is eager to be at. You will not be disappointed with the learning environment!! (:

Ida Jew Academies 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
My son has been attending Ida Jew Academies for the last 2 years (6th and 7th grade) and it has been a wonderful experience for him thus far. His teachers have been EXCELLENT and absolutely the best that anyone could ask for. He is very excited to attend school everyday and looks forward to being part of the Music program. He has also participated in the STEM program & the Tech Challenge which have allowed him to gain an incredible amount of knowledge in the area of Engineering at a very young age. Overall, I am proud that my son was given the opportunity to attend Ida Jew, and I hope that this school continues to strive for excellence both in its students and in the teachers that it chooses to employ.

Ida Jew Academies 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
I could not be happier with my decision to send my son to this school. What immediately attracted me to the school was the friendliness of the staff. On a curriculum level I love that he is exposed to all different paths of learning: science, math, Spanish, and their music program. We have attended 2 of his musical and dance performances and both were highly entertaining. I am so excited to be a part of this journey at such a great school.


Ida Jew Academies 4

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
My son attends Ida Jew and I could not ask for a better school. I am amazed with how much he has learned in the past two years. He is in the STEM program and I love that he is getting familiar with technology early. The school works very hard to get the parents involved which is very helpful.

Ida Jew Academies 3

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Ida jew has a new principle. I love how more active she is with everyone from students to the staff..they have this new thing in the office where they practice positive thinking. .. (I saw those little buckets ) recently received a email remind parents not to let their child bring hot chetoos and takis..I been against it all along and get disappointed when I see kids eating a party size. Fundraisers are awesome and different than a typical school with the prize being super awesome. . It brings me joy to listen to my son come home from school with notes from administers giving praises for seeing being good.. (puma points ) I think what that it..I have some sad experiences about my son's teacher but there's always room for improvement. .I think she's burned out. Which can get in the way of appropriately disciplining some kids. But yet again it's difficult to offer suggestions when the school is limited as in space..fingers cross they get a chance to expand..

Ida Jew Academies 4

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
This school is great and has so many extras you don't find in many public schools these days, plus a dual immersion program. The teachers and staff are very receptive to children's needs and listen to parents' input.


Ida Jew Academies 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
We have a new Principal that really wants feedback and for us parents to be involved with school decisions. She speaks Spanish fluently and previously our technology teacher so I believe she as a Principal will be a great our Academies of ALAS (dual immersion) and our STEM academy. I have hopes that together, parents and staff our children will get a great education and a big bright future.

Ida Jew Academies 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
I feel our school needs this grant to put a flag pole with a flag in front our school.. I also think this grant would be good to help fund the bus for our school filed trips... I also think it would be great to help buy school supplies and help fix our lamenting machine that cost over 2k to fix

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ida Jew Academies
1966 Flint Avenue, San Jose, CA  95148
(408) 223-3750
Last modified Ida Jew Academies is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ida Jew Academies Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top