Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
They promote and reward students for positive behavior such as being safe, academic , respectful and kind, which they refer to as B.A.R.K. which ties into their school mantra. The principal is very interactive with the children and the staff is awesome

Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
Alex Anderson Elementary School is an awesome school. From the first day of school the staff, principal and Home and School Club are warm and welcoming. I love the fact that they focus on positive behavior while helping the kids show school pride with what they call B.A.R.K. (Be safe, Academic, Respectful and Kind ). The staff and faculty are constantly looking for this behavior and reinforcing it by handing out B.A.R.K. slips when they see it. The students then in turn in their BARK slips to their classroom dog houses. This is where the teachers then pull out 2 class winners weekly and/or daily classroom prize winners. It is refreshing to see the behavior on the positive versus focusing on the negative. The Home and School Club goes out of their way to make sure every parent and student feels welcomed and appreciated. If Anderson were to win this, I would love to see a big push on technology, we are in great need of a computer lab to help our kids keep up with the community in Silicon Valley.


Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 4

Posted September 23, 2013
- a community member
I am giving Alex Anderson Elementary School a four start rating. This isn't because their test scores are exemplary, but because the faculty and staff and it's supporters are. They are located in a tough community. There is very little parental commitment and support. This is not due to lack of want, but social and economic challenges. The Alex Anderson staff does dynamic things and accomplishes a great deal with what little they receive. The Home and School Connection (their PTA) work endless hours to improve the life of these children and support the faculty and administration. I am no longer at Anderson, but I feel this school and it's supporters deserve a huge shot in the arm and a little recognition. That is why I am choosing to nominate Alex Anderson Elementary School and ring a loud bell in their honor, instead of my child's current school. Thank you for the opportunity to speak out on their behalf!

Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
Anderson is a hidden Jem. The staff is amazing . The teachers are caring and didicated . I am so blessed to have such a great school in my neighborhood.

Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2010
- a community member
Anderson is a very nurturing school, The entire staff have one thing in common, the children are their first priority. The principal is by far the best principal I have come in contact with. Overall GREAT SCHOOL!!


Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2010
- a teacher
The staff is amazing and cares for all students. A very positive place to be! The kids are great, but parent involvement could be better.

Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 1

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
i am not happy with the faculty at the school. there is no support or positiveness at all. I am looking forward to transferring my child to another school.

Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2008
- a parent
My boy just entered the kindergarten. His teacher is wonderful. The new principal is awesome. Hope that during this year Andreson school will increase API scores and will get better rating. Really good school with a winnig team !


Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2008
- a parent
My son just joined the kindergarten. His teacher is wonderful. The new principal is awesome. Hope that during this year Andreson school will increase API scores and will get better rating. Really good school with a winnig team !

Anderson (Alex) Elementary School 2

Posted December 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anderson (Alex) Elementary School
5800 Calpine Drive, San Jose, CA  95123
(408) 225-6556
Last modified Anderson (Alex) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Anderson (Alex) Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top