Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bernal Intermediate School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $430,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

This was overall a great school. I'm a student and adored the school when I was a seventh grader, but this year, as an 8th grader, the science situation is disappointing. Halfway through the semester, they switched out a bunch of students to a new teacher who, to be fairly honest, wasn't very good at her job. The entire class is now very behind and just got another new teacher very near science state testing.


Posted March 27, 2013

Bernal Intermediate is a very good school with excellent teachers that really care about student success. The school offers a solid academic program as well as many extracurricular opportunities such as band, theater, and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

Bernal intermediate is a wonderful school...i am a student there and its awesome!! :) athough bernal has a lot of fights.. :( it's a shame to see other students fight... :'( but overall the teachers are great the staff is wonderful and everybody is freindly!! well sometimes lol


Posted June 5, 2011

While there are many positive things to say about this school, I have to say I am upset everytime I see the back field. All school year long I have seen an overwhelming amount of trash blowing about the field. Today i wanted to walk the track, and changed my mind as I surveyed the south end of the track covered in trash. Why doesn't the school maintain the cleanliness of the field? This is not a one time event, but a year long obsevation of a filthy condition. Boo! Zero rating on picking up litter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

I think Bernal has been a great school for my son. Like any school, a parent has be fully involved and visible, even though our budding teenage children don't think it's cool. Too Bad!! Bernal really prepares the kids for high school with its' challenging and rigorous focus on education, though this year the science class curriculum lost some rigor. There are some great and dedicated teachers at Bernal. There are plenty of opportunities for parents to be involved like the PFC(Parent Faculty Club); a great venue to know what's going on and to build a connection with the administration, sports support, District representation, and volunteering for dances/school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

My Lil sister goes here, and she is constantly being harased by kids in her classes. they make fun of her weight , her appearance, her hair, pretty much anything and everything. My sister is a good kid, she's got a big heart. We have complained to the school numurous times, but nothings happening. she hates going to school because she doesn't want to hear what they got to say to her. she mostly ignores it, but its not like it doesn't hurt her inside. she's been through ALOT over these past few years and she still is able to fake a smile and make it through. it just makes me furious that they do that type of stuff. bullying isn't cool..it's verry immature to put some innocent person (or any at that)down to make ur self feel better.


Posted January 26, 2011

students need to focus on school, not relationships as much. be strict staff, about keeping them focused


Posted January 26, 2011

this school's teachers helped me go through 7th grade very nicely its safe and fun to go to


Posted January 26, 2011

This school is ok. I am a student there & it has had quite a few expulsions & suspensions; many fights.


Posted January 26, 2011

This school is great:) I like the principle all my Teachers and friends. I like My Councilor to. She gives me lots of stuff and helps me when i need it or when anybody else needs it.:) Theres nothing i would say bad about this school.


Posted October 28, 2009

My son graduated from Bernal two years ago and my daughter is there now. It's been a very good middle school in terms of math and music. Language Arts teaching there could use some work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Bernal has always had a great, united staff, with one vision an attitude: students come first. When I taught there it was probably so me of the most wonderful years on my life because not only was the staff working as one, but the students responded in kind. Bernal definitely deserves a great reward.


Posted July 20, 2009

I went their last year and now im in high school I loved it All the teachers are nice, and kind Friends are guaranteed there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

I went to bernal last year, and I loved it. The music program is great, and I loved all my teachers. I really learned a lot, and had a great time too. If the rating system could do halves, I would add another half to it. :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2008

I had an amazing time there! My teachers were great, although some strict. I love Bernal Intermediate!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2008

My son had 2 excellent years at Bernal. The teachers are great, the quality of education is outstanding. Too bad it's only 2 years! We moved within South San Jose so that he could attend Bernal to be with his friends and we do not regret it! I hope the quality will remain the same. My daughter will attend Bernal in 7 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

My child has done so well there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

This is a great school with the best music department in the region.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

Bernal is an amaizing school! It is so much fun there! Sure there is some strict rules, but don't all schools have rules?!?!? Well Bernal is preparing us for highschool and even college! It is going to be a lot more stricter there! I would totally send any kid there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

Bernal is the best school ever. The teachers are very enthusiastic, the cirriculum is great, and I can personally say tha Bernal is indeed a Distinguished School.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

862

Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

862

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
66%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
28%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females65%
Males68%
African American45%
Asian88%
Filipino50%
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability75%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students62%
Females61%
Males64%
African American22%
Asian86%
Filipino57%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability73%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students82%
Females85%
Males79%
African American80%
Asian90%
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability100%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state79%

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females71%
Males64%
African American72%
Asian87%
Filipino89%
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state58%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students22%
Females23%
Males20%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino16%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Non-economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability28%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only25%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students62%
Females65%
Males61%
African American72%
Asian86%
Filipino74%
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to state48%

Science

All Students74%
Females70%
Males77%
African American89%
Asian91%
Filipino81%
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability48%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 26% 11%
White 24% 26%
Black 7% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 13%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6610 San Ignacio Avenue
San Jose, CA 95119
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 578-5731

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT