Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 52 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


52 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bernal Intermediate School 3

Posted April 09, 2014
- a community member
This was overall a great school. I'm a student and adored the school when I was a seventh grader, but this year, as an 8th grader, the science situation is disappointing. Halfway through the semester, they switched out a bunch of students to a new teacher who, to be fairly honest, wasn't very good at her job. The entire class is now very behind and just got another new teacher very near science state testing.

Bernal Intermediate School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
Bernal Intermediate is a very good school with excellent teachers that really care about student success. The school offers a solid academic program as well as many extracurricular opportunities such as band, theater, and sports.


Bernal Intermediate School 4

Posted August 13, 2012
- a community member
Bernal intermediate is a wonderful school...i am a student there and its awesome!! :) athough bernal has a lot of fights.. :( it's a shame to see other students fight... :'( but overall the teachers are great the staff is wonderful and everybody is freindly!! well sometimes lol

Bernal Intermediate School 3

Posted June 05, 2011
- a parent
While there are many positive things to say about this school, I have to say I am upset everytime I see the back field. All school year long I have seen an overwhelming amount of trash blowing about the field. Today i wanted to walk the track, and changed my mind as I surveyed the south end of the track covered in trash. Why doesn't the school maintain the cleanliness of the field? This is not a one time event, but a year long obsevation of a filthy condition. Boo! Zero rating on picking up litter.

Bernal Intermediate School 4

Posted May 20, 2011
- a parent
I think Bernal has been a great school for my son. Like any school, a parent has be fully involved and visible, even though our budding teenage children don't think it's cool. Too Bad!! Bernal really prepares the kids for high school with its' challenging and rigorous focus on education, though this year the science class curriculum lost some rigor. There are some great and dedicated teachers at Bernal. There are plenty of opportunities for parents to be involved like the PFC(Parent Faculty Club); a great venue to know what's going on and to build a connection with the administration, sports support, District representation, and volunteering for dances/school events.


Bernal Intermediate School 2

Posted March 10, 2011
- a community member
My Lil sister goes here, and she is constantly being harased by kids in her classes. they make fun of her weight , her appearance, her hair, pretty much anything and everything. My sister is a good kid, she's got a big heart. We have complained to the school numurous times, but nothings happening. she hates going to school because she doesn't want to hear what they got to say to her. she mostly ignores it, but its not like it doesn't hurt her inside. she's been through ALOT over these past few years and she still is able to fake a smile and make it through. it just makes me furious that they do that type of stuff. bullying isn't cool..it's verry immature to put some innocent person (or any at that)down to make ur self feel better.

Bernal Intermediate School 3

Posted January 26, 2011
- a community member
students need to focus on school, not relationships as much. be strict staff, about keeping them focused
1 person found this helpful

Bernal Intermediate School 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a community member
this school's teachers helped me go through 7th grade very nicely its safe and fun to go to
1 person found this helpful


Bernal Intermediate School 2

Posted January 26, 2011
- a community member
This school is ok. I am a student there & it has had quite a few expulsions & suspensions; many fights.

Bernal Intermediate School 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a community member
This school is great:) I like the principle all my Teachers and friends. I like My Councilor to. She gives me lots of stuff and helps me when i need it or when anybody else needs it.:) Theres nothing i would say bad about this school.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bernal Intermediate School
6610 San Ignacio Avenue, San Jose, CA  95119
(408) 578-5731
Last modified Bernal Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bernal Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top