Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Davis (Caroline) Intermediate School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2013

My Son is current 7grader at Davis. I am happy as he consistently earn good grade here. The quality of education here seems good to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

At first when I came to Davis, I thought this school was so ghetto. I later learned that this school offers wonderful programs and a has a great staff. I would probably have to complain about how the school needs improvments lookwise. There is only one restroom (per gender) and they are bad. The teachers are really nice and caring for their students, but some just can't really teach.I suggest you send your student to davis because overall it's not that bad, and yeah there are some badly influenced student, but every school has kids like that. I also suggest your student joins the band program because there are many fun trips to look forward to and I personally regret not joining. So don't listen to all those bad rumors.


Posted August 18, 2011

I don't think it is very intelligent to assume that a school is bad just from what you hear because we all know what happens when you assume something. Davis is a good school and I will not allow someone to talk bad about it just because they heard all of the bad rumors. Davis has an amazing CJSF program and an incredible Band program which has many field trips through out the year. The teachers are extremely helpful and they all wanted me to get an "A" and would help me when I asked. They're are also after school programs that help you like Algebra Club. I know all of this information because I graduated with the class of 210-2011 and when it comes to the gangs every school has gangs. Why I don't know why anyone would want to be in a gang but in reality people make dumb decisions and the people who are in a "gang" don't bother you, so your student should be perfectly fine.


Posted August 17, 2011

I do not want my daugther to go to davis.I have heard alot of bad things about that school.Teachers are very rude to students.Davis have alot of gangs.The school is over rated with bad issues.The school needs alots of repairs.Its look like a ghetto school.I will not allow my daughter to go to school for two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

My son is a 7th grader at Davis, and this school is great. I am very pleased with the teachers and he enjoys his classes very much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

I am a student at Davis School. Davis is an overall, great school. We work together to bring together the community through various events such as spaghetti dinners and service work projects. Through my two years as a student at Davis, I have met great kids and inspirational teachers. My teachers have made learning fun in new ways. When we learn science, we interact in labs, and when we learn math we find real life applications. The band program is an awesome way to meet new people and discover a new talent. You can never be bored at lunch or break. If you are not hanging out with friends, you can help at the student store, or visit the art room to create a masterpiece. Davis is a fun school and despite popular belief, it is not 'ghetto'. There is constant supervision and you can always learn and have fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2009

Hi, right now im attending davis as an 8th grader and this school gives me A's because my teachers are very helpful and gives lots of time after school if u dnt understand, like my Algebra math teacher Mrbarkley, the cafeteria food is good and healthy. My band teacher MrMorgan is the best band teacher because our band is better than herman and bernal because we get superiors. The sports are the best because the coach will make u better plaer every practice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

i am aparent at davis and it its very good and has many honors classes. i would roccomend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Great school, teachers, and staff but there gang problem is big and the 'cool' kids (gangers) disrupt the smart kids and class. I am a 8th grader at Davis.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2009

Principal Wetzel - A+ Mr. Morgan (band) - A+ Mrs. Marshall (math) - A+ Mrs. White (PE) - A+ Ms. Rawson (math) - A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I have an 13 year old daughter who feels very supported by her teachers, counselor and the assistant principal. She feels like it is a positive place to learn because the teachers care and even administration gets involved in helping her to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

hi! i am a student at davis i am a 7th grader and i really like the school so far. the last progress report i had i got a 4.00 an d its because the teachers they help you understand! i dont really know theoffice staff because i dont really ever goto the office. But overall i really love rthe school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

Thanks for all you do to provide a great educational experience and standards-based program for our community. Staff works extremely hard and students get involved. Great recognition programs, and well deserved praise.


Posted May 1, 2008

My daughter had fun at the school she loved all the activities. The teachers were kind, and respectful. Now she is an honor student at Oak Grove Highschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

Extensive after-school sports offerings, the stellar music program, passionate and dedicated teachers who care about all students' success, a very safe campus, lunch time activities for all students to participate in, the large number of students in honors classes, etc. Look at the diversity in the honors classes, in the band, in the sports programs. All students are able to be involved positively at Davis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

A decent school, but the campus is very shabby. No extracurricular activities other than sports. But this school's band is really incredible, with 20+ instruments to choose from! Counselors are very kind and helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2006

The honor classes are very good. The honors algebra course is fantastic. My kids learned so much there. Now that one of them goes to a prestigious high school, he is first in his class in math, thanks to the good background from Davis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

Ms. Crawford is a great leader for all the children at Davis. I am proud to have my son attend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I am a parent of a Davis School student and a teacher at the school. I brought my daughter there because having worked at four other junior high schools, this school had the best and most caring teachers. She is now a senior at a state University.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

Davis Intermediate School teachers are great collaborators. They meet daily to discuss improving academics and I sense that they genuinely care about their students' progress. I find that Davis' teachers have high expectations for their students and work hard at giving motivating and engaging lessons. Good job Davis!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

763

Change from
2012 to 2013

-16

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

763

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-16

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
54%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
20%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females62%
Males41%
African American64%
Asian78%
Filipino56%
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant education22%
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%

Math

All Students41%
Females47%
Males34%
African American36%
Asian70%
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant education39%
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students31%
Females31%
Males31%
African American18%
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)28%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability32%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only34%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented58%
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state25%

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females57%
Males47%
African American45%
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant education33%
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to state31%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students4%
Females3%
Males4%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino4%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged3%
Non-economically disadvantaged6%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability5%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only5%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate0%
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)14%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students84%
Females82%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students46%
Females45%
Males47%
African American43%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant education33%
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to state20%

Science

All Students54%
Females53%
Males56%
African American45%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant education33%
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate62%
Parent education - declined to state38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 61%
Asian 23%
White 6%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
English language learners 28%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5035 Edenview Drive
San Jose, CA 95111
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 227-0616

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Academy
San Jose, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT