Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 597

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sakamoto Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a community member
my grandson has been at this school k to 4th grade. It is a challenging academic school one of the most sought after if you are fortunate to live in this district. recently my grandson was enrolled in a low income low test ratio school due to parents who would rather see their kid pass math with out learning the fundamentals . Now it's time to teach parents that they are only hurting their child by telling him he can't graduate on Sakamotos high standards ! It's sad to see that parents would take this route just to get their kid to the next grade with out learning what will be needed for his future! is this what education is about now? less parenting time to spend on homework rather than push a kid to their highest capabilities if given the opty. It's a shame to waste a school voted 9 out of 10 that makes sure the kids are educated not just taking up a seat to a school voted #3 with no test results to show ! every teacher knows every student in Sakamoto the front desk lady is wonderful knows each student by name and the parents. yes Sakamoto is tuff it's why parents strive to be in this district.

Sakamoto Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
My son is finishing his 5th grade year. We've been a Sakamoto family since 2010. (2nd grade). The most solid thing about this school is it's administrative staff. The "front desk" woman mentioned in the previous review is neither rude nor inattentive. She has a great sense of humor. She is what makes this school tick like a fine Swiss watch while she continuously adapts to te principa'ls revolving door! Moving on: The PTO is productively connected and the newly appointed board is promising in both the brains and community brawn! The teaching staff is a cohesive team. I've witness camaraderie in the classroom and out. The voted upon parent funded programs (by way of PTO), have had a hiccup this year and communicative efforts have fallen short, but the job is getting done and I have a lot of faith in the new board. Kids are happy! School is safe. Parent drivers can be poopy! But that happens at all schools!


Sakamoto Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
My child is currently enrolled in the kindergarten and we are very happy with his teacher and the curriculum they teach. The homework is challenging and he is learning a lot. It's been a joy to see him learn to read too. The only gripe I have is with the elderly front desk woman. She has been unnecessarily rude and I don't appreciate her giving people attitude, including me. She makes asking simple questions difficult and is not very approachable. I wish someone would talk to her. few interaction I had with the elderly front desk woman, who always seems to have an attitude and is rude. It's almost impossible to ask questions with her without some sort of unnecessary tone and annoyance. Other than that, so far so good!

Sakamoto Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing school. Everyone from the office staff to the teachers are just great. Due to bad experience at her previous school, my daughter was very apprehensive about starting a new school, she enjoys going to school again :)

Sakamoto Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
All I got to say is great school, great teachers, and principal. My boys love going to Sakamoto.


Sakamoto Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
Sakamoto has one of the best Parent Teacher (PTO) Organizations around. They are very proactive and have a great working relationship with the teachers and principal. As a result the school has an amazing amount of extra support. My kids have been on the receiving end of this support with a new computer lab, Science Program, PE Program, Art Program. It is diverse and offers the children a very well rounded experience both academically and socially. As a professional with a Master's Degree, who is VERY connected to my children's long term academic success I am very pleased with the foundation my children receive here.

Sakamoto Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
Sakamoto is a great school because so many of the parents participate in helping make the school a great place for the kids to learn.

Sakamoto Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 22, 2009
- a parent
My daughter started kindergarten this year and has had such a positive experience. She has a wonderful teacher, good friends, and the parents I have met have all been friendly and helpful. I have had an even better experience than expected sending her to this school!


Sakamoto Elementary School 4

Posted September 20, 2008
- a parent
My child has been at his school since K and she is now in 5th grade. She has had a great experience so far. Every teacher has been able to give her extra challenging work to meet her needs. The school also has a great art program for the lower grades 1st to 3rd ran by parent volunteers and a visual performing arts program ran by professionals for the upper grades 4rd to 6th. For extra curricular activities they offer Spanish (extra cost), Music Matters (extra cost), and for the upper grades they offer chorus, no cost ( 4rd to 8th grades), and for 6th grade they offer Band, no cost. We also have a good Gate program ( thanks to parent involvement) The teachers are caring and interested to see the students succeed. This year we have a P.E. teacher, that is exciting!

Sakamoto Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
There seems to be a revolving door as far as principals are concerned. There have been four in the past six years. The climate of the school is totally dependant on the principal, so it changes each time there is a new principal.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sakamoto Elementary School
6280 Shadelands Drive, San Jose, CA  95123
(408) 227-3411
Last modified Sakamoto Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sakamoto Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top