Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Great school . Great teachers . Really focus on children academic and social activities strongly and nicely . Well maintained classes . My son loves going to school .

Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2015
- a community member
This is great school with great teachers. I see huge improvement in the school in last 2 years. We are happy with our kids day to day progress.


Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
My daughter started at Orchard School in 2012. I was very reluctant to enroll my daughter because of a few bad reviews. Also I didn't like the fact that it's elementary and middle school. I was a little horrified at the idea of my second grader being around middle schoolers. I really had nothing to worry about as they are separated. I'm so happy I decided to give this school a try. This year my daughter is in 5th grade. I also have a son in 2nd grade and a daughter in TK. I absolutely love this school! Every year it gets better and better. They have a terrific music department and have improved so much in the past 3 years we've been here. Now, I love the fact that it's elementary and middle school it just works very well. The Teachers and staff are great. The principal is very responsive with any concerns you may have. We are proud parents.

Orchard Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter started kindergarten here. She loved her class and her teacher Ms.Chambers. she is a great teacher i must say. Then she was moved to combo class of grade 1 and grade 2 with Ms.Lao as her teacher.needless to say that she is learning alot and having a fantastic academic year. We love the school. I gave 1 less star because of no transport facility to our residential area.other than that its a great school.

Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Part I: In all fairness to this school.I think most of the 1 star reviews 3 yrs ago are from the same upset individual who written all of the internet. We started at this school with a mind set of all the bad reviews you have been reading all over the internet. We tried everything to not attend this school by transferring to Milpitas for 1 yr and then came back because Milpitas was full. I was very negative at first about this school until I gotten to know the teachers and gotten more involve with classroom and the school. I think this school has lost of potentials and all administrators have all intensions to change/ improve this school.The core problem falls in the lack of parent involvements. It is often full house during any school events while it is always the same very few parents that shows to any task oriented mtgs or committees including the PTA. So 1 parent volunteer would end up doing what normally would be assigned to 5 people.You also have school teachers and staffs often doing tasks that would normally be fulfilled by the PTA and/or parent volunteers. I also work full time and is a one person with 2 children at night .So I make and/ steel time to help so can you.


Orchard Elementary School 3

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
School lacks the educational commitment from teachers that really want to teach. Our teacher just stamps an excellent on homework, child doesn't know if they undertand the concept. it would be great to focus on what they are learning rather than their effort.

Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is very well kept. So far happy with the interaction between the kids and parents seem involved. Hope to see the quality of education continue to rise and test scores improve at this school. Hopefully it will be reflected in the new API scores.

Orchard Elementary School 3

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
OMG, The principal and D.O. office are NEVER available. What happened to Principal Livingstone? He was awesome. Time will tell what happens from here with the new Principal.


Orchard Elementary School 4

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
Having problems paying for my children lunches. Dropped my children off at 8:00. Cafeteria was closed, went to the District Office and it was closed. The School Office was the only one open to help me. Not a good feeling school starts at 8:15 you would think both of theese should be open to help parents.

Orchard Elementary School 1

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
I would rate this school as one of the worse schools I've ever encountered, it is required that my daughter attend this school because of the way they zoned the school district. The principal has changed twice with the current principal being extremely incompetent, uninvolved, and unaware of what is going on at the school the majority of the time. The children have no manners, bad language and seem to have no structure or morals that are taught in their home. The teachers however I can honestly say are superb. I will be sending my child to private school next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orchard Elementary School
921 Fox Lane, San Jose, CA  95131-1602
(408) 944-0388
Last modified Orchard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Orchard Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. Top