Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
82 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 108 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Allen at Steinbeck School 1

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The zero tolerance policy for bullying is a joke at this school. I have never seen a more uncaring administration. I have had two children at this school. One has transfered out, and now exceeds grade level in math and reading. The other is still here, still behind, and being bullied to physical illness. Meeting with staff over and over has been useless. Complaining to the district is ineffective.

Allen at Steinbeck School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Teachers have too many students in and out of their classes all day. Since when do elementary aged students change classrooms multiple times per day?


Allen at Steinbeck School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
These kids have terrible test scores for a reason. They need more work. They need more practice.

Allen at Steinbeck School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
You have to be persistent to show up here and go through hell every single day.

Allen at Steinbeck School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The children are not forced to show respect for one another. The children often use racial slurs and foul language to put each other down.


Allen at Steinbeck School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The staff may try, and the rules and policies are there, but unenforced. There are also a lot of low class families attending this school. That makes it hard to teach caring and empathy because the kids are in a rough neighborhood.

Allen at Steinbeck School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Integrity means doing the right thing, even when no one is looking. This place is full of hypocrites. When I complained about a staff member making derrogatory remarks about my husband to one of my children, the principal pretended to deal with the situation, and then I saw her eating dinner with this staff member at Una Mas the same night. The only time rules have been enforced, is when my middle son fought back when pushed down to the ground. He was suspended. That is unfair.

Allen at Steinbeck School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Some of the teachers need to learn to deal with heir students instead of gripping at the parents. Obviously my eldest child was bored and not being challenged enough. Now that he's in a 9 out of 10 school in a state who cares about your kids academically and well being, he's striving. His reading teacher was good, his math teacher is just new and needs some more experience.


Allen at Steinbeck School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Their school motto my kid came home chanting was basically these three things :) So far they're doing a great job encouraging these traits.

Allen at Steinbeck School 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
My child is in kindergarden here, so I don't have a ton of experience, but I've overall been very happy with the school. Our teacher is amazing, the principal has been very responsive. Drop offs and pick-ups go great and everyone I've interacted with has been great so far. Maybe it was worse before? Maybe certain teachers or grades have more issues. Anyways, here's to constant improvement :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Allen at Steinbeck School
820 Steinbeck Drive, San Jose, CA  95123-2634
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 108 reviews. (408) 535-6205
Last modified Allen at Steinbeck School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top