Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 800

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Booksin Elementary School 3

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointed with Booksin this year. Current principal is more concerned with sweeping issues under the rug than dealing with teachers and parents with problem students. Can only hope for a change next year. Will take up issues with Superintendent and Police.

Booksin Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
Booksin is a superlative public school due to the excellent teachers and the wonderful parent community which supports them! This is our 10th year and last year at Booksin and we are sad to move on, but the school has provide strong academic preparation and a great sense of community. Standout teachers include Mrs. Medina and Ms. Trefero - kudos to them for their hard work and ability to instill a love of learning in our kids!


Booksin Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
We recently moved to Willow Glen and my kid was coming from a highly regarded and expensive private school before coming to Booksin. The teacher this year at Booksin, Miss Trefero, is as good as any at the private school. She's really helped to relieve my worries about the class size. And Ms.Atlas, the principal, is just great. She's on top of things, knows the public school and education system, and seems very, very dedicated to her job. So far so good!

Booksin Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
This school is wonderful! My child is in kinder so this is only our first year but it has been amazing. The parent involvement is nothing like I have seen before! The principal is new & seems to have the children's best interests in mind. Nearly every morning, I see her walking around campus & talking to the students. There are so many great programs offered, as the previous post states. Cornerstone was one of my favorites. I have no real complaints about Booksin. Our first year there has been a great experience!

Booksin Elementary School 4

Posted August 27, 2011
- a parent
We have attended Booksin for 6 years now and I must express how happy we have been with the qualified teachers and the outpouring of parent volunteers. Booksin has an Art Vista program, Accelerated Reading program, Cornerstone Reading and talented parents who want to see the children strive in an academic environment. Booksin puts homework responsibility on both the children and their parents. You will be held accountable if your child does not take education seriously. We love Booksin Elementary and are sad this is our last year.


Booksin Elementary School 4

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
My son has been attending Booksin for 2 years now and I can t say enough good things about this school. The administration, teachers and kids together form a very strong community and a wonderful environment for the kids to learn and grow. The teachers are great and the parent involvement is outstanding. There are a number of extra programs like cornerstone, art vista and mastery reading that the kids benefit greatly from. The after-school Y-care program is also great. We will be moving from to the East Bay next year and will greatly miss Booskin.

Booksin Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
Booksin continues to be fundamentally sound place for our kids to get an education. We all wish it had more for gifted students, and frankly we supplement our kids with some schooling at the Russian School of Mathematics. The teachers care, they help our kids get some more advanced work to do, they have great fundamentals programs for math and reading, and have done some nice things with the science fair efforts to make this an exceptional example of what a public educational system can do.

Booksin Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
This school has great parent participation at every level from the classroom, to arts and afterschool events. We have three children in this school and are very happy here.


Booksin Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
Not recommended for gifted kids. The teachers don't know how to deal with gifted kids. They won't help them to progress. Most likely they become averaged kids after spend 6 years in this school.

Booksin Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2010
- a parent
Great, great school. We have been there 6 yrs with 2 children. The teachers aren't their for a paycheck, they 100% care about the kids. The community is super strong...I stopped in the classroom this year and there were 4 volunteer parents working inside! There are now 30 kids in a class b/c of budget cuts (boo!) but with 5 adults in the classroom, the ratio was 1 adult for 5 kids!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Booksin Elementary School
1590 Dry Creek Road, San Jose, CA  95125
(408) 535-6213
Last modified Booksin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Booksin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top