Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


96 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Graystone Elementary School 1

Posted October 11, 2014
- a community member
The principal is wonderful, and the majority of the teachers alright, but the "yard duties" are complete idiots. They do not respond to student complaints, and are very ignorant. The school can do very little to curve bullying, which is seemingly everywhere in the school. A sizable portion of the school's mentally disabled are in mainstream classrooms, and do not succeed academically or socially in their classes, most are ostracized and bullied to depression (same with much of the schools mainstream population). The parent community their is very ignorant and do not care about the bullying (in fact, the school's cornerstone program's parent members usually have children who bully, thus only worsening the situation..
1 person found this helpful

Graystone Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
Lucky to live in Almaden and have such a great local school. My son did private K-4, but we decided to go "local" for 5th grade last year. I only wish we had done it sooner. Graystone cares about their kids and the parents are very involved which makes it a nice community environment.


Graystone Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2012
- a parent
Graystone has a great principal and caring and involved teachers. This is all wrapped in a community that cares about quality of education and is not overly obsessed with academic performance. There is a nice balance of academic excellence and social development- with programs to support. Many great schools get there because of test scores, at Graystone social development is as valued as academic achievement - which I think is core to elementary education. This is the time to love to learn. Our experience has been that when working as team (parent, teacher, administration) Graystone works excellent.

Graystone Elementary School 4

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
For me, an excellent school doesn't mean they are good academically but how the school can solve the problems what parents face at their school. I tthink Graystone is one of them who really care about your kids and want to listen the parents' concerns.

Graystone Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are terrific, the parents support the school, and the entire staff cares about teaching our kids.


Graystone Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
Fantastic Home and School club, and parent involvement help to make this school great despite all the budget cuts that are hitting the schools. I feel very fortunate my son goes there.

Graystone Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
Phenomenal learning structure, teachers that really really care about the students progress. Fantastic outreach to parents to get involved with activities and even in class. Strong community ties. I am grateful my son attends, because i truly believe he will have an advantage over kids in other average schools.

Graystone Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Great school with lot of parent involvement.. nice activities, excellent teachers


Graystone Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
We love Graystone because of the great teachers, parents, students, and administrators -

Graystone Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Graystones really takes good care of kids, academically and personally. It gets full supports from teachers, students, parents and community for its excellences.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Graystone Elementary School
6982 Shearwater Drive, San Jose, CA  95120
(408) 535-6317
Last modified Graystone Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Graystone Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 96 reviews. Top