Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 45 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bret Harte Middle School 1

Posted October 11, 2014
- a community member
45/100 teachers/staff are alright, but the students and parent community of the school are appalling. Bullying and student hierarchy is rampant, and the teachers are either unable to intervene (in fears of instigating a poor reaction from the parents) or just don't care. The lunch isn't exactly superb either. Would rate 1 star and a half.

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a community member
Three days in, and loving it so far. Great teachers, moderate homework, and lunch that doesn't taste like cardboard. Haven't had any trouble with bullies so far. Then again, most of this is due to being, you know, three days in. Will post update once I've been here longer. -Bret Harte Sixth Grader


Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted June 05, 2011
- a community member
Bret Harte Middle School is an excellent middle school in San jose because of their academics, and school spirit. If you are looking for a good school pick this school because you won't find a quiet, peaceful neighborhood/school. The administration is excellent in conducting their duties.

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2010
- a community member
Mr.Walker is is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. he does realy fun stuf I am a 6th grader at bret hart . he is funny .he is the BEST p.e teacher .my name is Ramiel

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted April 23, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Bret Harte Middle School 3

Posted January 31, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2010
- a student
i love this school!!! it is very friendly and the teachers are very good with us. mr, is the teacher i want to recomend. he is amazing, but he demands. and you will be greatful.

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
I love that the teachers love my kids. It is hard not to love them (totally bias of course) they work their tails off doing homework and getting good grades. I love that the teachers are computer savvy and they respond in a 95% to my requests and my E-mails. But most of all I love that being such a stinky parent myself, and so darn picky, and demand excellence, the Principal has such patience, and always has a beautiful smile on his face. He is very open and helpful. Always, always open to my demands, and to give me his time. I wish I can participate more in the school, but I think my kids appreciate the independence, and feel embarrassed because I am too friendly (they say, of course I do not think so) Homework is of a good size, but again so is life. Thank you for being supportive BH.


Bret Harte Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a community member
I think Bret Harte is a wonderful school that get great test scores and anyone who is going/went to bret harte is going to love it. All the teachers and staff are VERY friendly and helpful!

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
Bret Harte is the best middle school in San Jose. Teachers and administrators truely believe in the importance of eduction. The parents in the community are also very proactive in their childs eduction.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bret Harte Middle School
7050 Bret Harte Drive, San Jose, CA  95120
(408) 535-6270
Last modified Bret Harte Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bret Harte Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top