Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 1,033
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Herbert Hoover Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are enthusiastic, caring, energetic and captivating and it shows in the way they present and teach their students. The students are engaged and more able to comprehend the subject matter.

Herbert Hoover Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
The homework and class material is rigorous and challenging. The staff continually states that they expect their students not to give up on themselves nor will the staff give up on their students.


Herbert Hoover Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
R2S3 helps to develop these aspects in the students everyday behavior with the staff, teachers, and their fellow students.

Herbert Hoover Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
Their behavior platform promotes community respect and responsibility in the class, on campus, and outside of school. It builds a good foundation for honesty and integrity.

Herbert Hoover Middle School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The variety of classes taught are great. This is a perfect school for those interested in the arts, as well as those who would like to come out of their shell, as the arts helps to do that. They have a student council that encourages those interested in be involved in leadership. There are numerous after school and lunch time clubs to help the students make new friends. They have a fairly new sports program that is phenomenal. My daughter participates in cross country and soccer and could not be happier. There is an accelerated math program that is very rigorous and challenges the young minds that are enrolled in the course. I have no complaints at all. This is a great school!


Herbert Hoover Middle School 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a teacher
Tremendous opportunities find students at Hoover, which is a wonderful school for students at these special years between elementary and high school. At the age when so many students are struggling to find their identity, Hoover offers a wealth of performing arts programs, bilingual immersion classes, and extracurricular activities. Academically, Hoover teachers show amazing techniques and strong instruction. Students are going to find a strong focus on the fundamentals of each subject at Hoover, building true mastery before moving on to a new area of study. There is always room to improve with any school, and so it is with Hoover. Just be ready and flexible - this is a great place to learn.

Herbert Hoover Middle School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughter's last year at Hoover and we will be missing it. I have to say that our experience here has been nothing but positive. The teachers are great and will always make time to communicate with you about anything. The adminstrative staff is excellent. The best part about Hoover is the performing arts program. All programs, choir, band, dance, drama, ect are at a professional level and very entertaining. This school helps turn kids love of the arts into special talents. Parent involvement is very high in the arts, sports and academics which is why this school has improved so much in it's API scores and overall. I would recommend this school to any parent that has an incoming 6th grader.

Herbert Hoover Middle School 3

Posted August 14, 2013
- a community member
I am a student at Hoover and I like the involvement. I am a college level advanced student and the advanced math program is great! Also I am in intermediate orchestra and started beginning orchestra in elementary school. The staff are very competent and engaged in our learning. We have a strong 8th grade Leadership force that are smart and supportive, not mean and "popular" like some Leadership councils at other schools. It could use more sports opportunities though. And while the curriculum is great, some eighth grade students can sometimes encourage drug use. I think the only issue is some of the students.


Herbert Hoover Middle School 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
my son go there this is a great school i love the teachers Hoover is a great school. The prinicpal and teachers are wonderful

Herbert Hoover Middle School 2

Posted October 09, 2012
- a community member
They didn't let me wear a pink backpack with hello kitty on it because it was pink. Apparently it's a gangster color,and the next day I see some other girl with the SAME backpack walk right by my teacher who said pink wasn't allowed. The teacher even said hi to her.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herbert Hoover Middle School
1635 Park Avenue, San Jose, CA  95126
(408) 535-6274
Last modified Herbert Hoover Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herbert Hoover Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top