Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Herbert Hoover Middle School 5

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
I have a 6th and 7th grader currently attending. The school wide focus on respect and responsibility is truly driving an attitude of continual improvement. The staff strives for success not just academically but in growing citizens who will make a difference in the world. We love the expanding sports program and the opportunities for participation. The music program is also far above what is expected at a Jr. High level. Parent ideas and participation is also always welcome.

Herbert Hoover Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2015
- a teacher
This school puts students first. I know you may think that it's the purpose of all schools to have students be the central driving force. Sadly that isn't always the case because teachers are pushed to spend a lot of time teaching standards for tests. The staff at Hoover takes the time to get to know each individual student. The community feel that has been forged by the teachers establishing and maintaing the genuine relationships with students lets the students know they are cared for and provide them with an environment they want to be a part of.


Herbert Hoover Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2015
- a teacher
I have been teaching at Hoover for just over a year and I am amazed all the programs and opportunities we have to offer our students. We have a full performing arts department (full time band, orchestra, choir, dance and drama teachers). How many Middle schools in San Jose offer that? Only one other in the San Jose Unified District. I am so proud of my students. I push them hard and they show their best every day. I look forward to having my child attend Hoover when she is old enough.

Herbert Hoover Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2015
- a community member
Hard working teachers and staff, students with great personalities who are eager to help, and helpful office staff. Much better school than the perception will lead you to believe: no gang presence at all.

Herbert Hoover Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 20, 2015
- a community member
Mr. McCloskey, the principal, has made grit and perseverance a high priority at the school, making it a theme that everyone can do the work at the school well, that the work is important, and that no one will give up on the students. This sets an awesome educational experience for students!


Herbert Hoover Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and Administration are amazing. They really care about the students and push them to do their best. I've found the staff very responsive and helpful when I've had questions/problems. The award winning Performing Arts Program is excellent. There are a lot of elective choices. Test scores DO NOT reflect the quality of the school. My daughter started out as a 6th grader with a 10th grade reading level and one year later is reading college level. You need to visit the school and see the quality staff at work. The PTSA is growing and parent involvement is on the rise. Once they get more parents involved and working with the kids and staff their will be no stopping this school.

Herbert Hoover Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Leedy was my daughter's math teacher last year. She was outstanding. Sometimes we didn't know the math (this new common core stuff is tricky) and she would send me links to videos so I could help my daughter. I could always count on her to respond to my emails within a few hours.

Herbert Hoover Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
We have not had a bad teacher yet. They are well trained and caring. They set reasonable expectations while pushing each student to don his/her best.


Herbert Hoover Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
The R2S3 program encourages students to be respectful to themselves, their teachers and fellow students and the community.

Herbert Hoover Middle School 4

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
The administration works hard to provide a safe and educational environment for students to learn. As a parent, I feel welcome at Hoover. The staff works hard to meet students' needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herbert Hoover Middle School
1635 Park Avenue, San Jose, CA  95126-2123
(408) 535-6274
Last modified Herbert Hoover Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herbert Hoover Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. Top