Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
61 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leland High School 1

Posted March 26, 2016
- a community member
If you go to that school, good luck because they do not have all of the courses you want to take on your level.

Leland High School 1

Posted August 14, 2014
- a student
If i could do zero stars I would. For 4 straight years I was at this school they got nothing right. This school sucks. Pioneers better. All the teachers at this school are biased. On top of that they never get your schedule right. If you want to fail school and not go to college then this is the perfect school for you.


Leland High School 2

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
While it works for some students..unfortunately doesnt work for others...my daughter needed extra help and struggled to get it..i had tutors that taught her the material and yet still struggled on the exams ... I have a son who did alright and so for him it worked and no complaints there...2 stars because i beleive that schools should make it possible for everyone..not just the str8 A students...upon reading most reviews i see that there are many with same issue

Leland High School 1

Posted September 18, 2013
- a student
Leland's reputation is built upon self-driven students. The school is otherwise horrible. The teachers are largely incompetent; I went from considering a major in English to never wanting to read another book thanks to a few of the AP English/Lit teachers. My Biology Honors (honors!) course was taught via VCR. My AP Calculus AB course had 45 students stuffed into a portable. I couldn't even take AP Calculus BC because there wasn't enough physical room. Discrimination by students and teachers is rampant. There was not enough money for paper. Maps and textbooks treat the Soviet Union as a current entity. Counselors do not help with college apps at all. Every year I had scheduling issues that, if went unsolved, would have prevented me from getting into college. The office forgot to send out my transcript to colleges. They lost my volunteering hours (required to graduate) multiple times. The reputation of the school is in spite of it, not because of it.

Leland High School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a student
If you get more difficult classes you will find some really fantastic teachers, like all schools there are those teachers that are just bad but I feel like the majority care about learning and are quite good at teaching. underfunded school though


Leland High School 4

Posted March 28, 2012
- a student
i absolutely love Leland! the teachers are hard but that's whats good. they push you in a good way. it is just so much fun! there are cliques but very little.

Leland High School 4

Posted November 19, 2011
- a parent
Both my daughter and son graduated from this school. Though they weren't hrilled with all of their teachers, there are some very good ones. You can send your childeren to this school just for their speech and debate program (#1 in the country). It moulded them into fine young adults building self-confidence and prepared them for their adult lives. Just as any other high achieving school it is pretty competitive but is well balanced compared to other comparable Bay area schools.

Leland High School 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a student
I wouldn't trade my high school experience at Leland for anything. They have the number one speech and debate team in the nation, and a thriving, diverse student body who is equipped for success. The drive that I've found here in the students have inspired me so much; there have been at least six people in the Class of '11 admitted into Ivy League schools, if that's any way to measure motivation. The teachers might not be great and the administration isn't the most helpful bunch of people, but I'd say that's life; high school is where teens learn to stop being coddled and grow up - to figure out their own direction in life and pursue it.


Leland High School 1

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
If you have a very smart child and you want him to feel like a failure, then put your child in this school. The teachers are just there to make student's life miserable. If your child is a big kissup, then he/ she will be very successful here. The bottom line is that the teachers are incompatible, mean and unfair. Please don't waste your money on a million dollar house here. Its just not worth it. I pulled my child out in the middle because my extremely intelligent child felt like stupid here. He is a straight A student in another high school.

Leland High School 1

Posted March 27, 2011
- a student
The teachers at this school don't care about giving the kids an education, math teachers copy examples directly from the book and then get them wrong. English and history teachers give out busy work that is simplistic in nature but very tedious. The administration is an even bigger joke and instead of buying badly needed books they choose to spend their budget on landscaping for the school that didnt make it look any better. Not to mention the purple "thing" they have in the quad. They are always trying to give parents and students the run around, telling them to go from one to the other, and to top it all off they are constantly messing up students transcripts including some students who will not be graduating on time as a result.

Nearby schools

Leland High School
6677 Camden Avenue, San Jose, CA  95120-2142
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. (408) 535-6290
Last modified Leland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top