Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 110 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Los Alamitos Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
This school works very hard together - teacher and principal to make it a very great place. I am so happy how my student is doing. Her teacher told me today how she is learning and what she needs help with. So great to see the principal everywhere. So happy with everything.

Los Alamitos Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been at Los Alamitos for almost ten years now, and we've loved every one of them. We feel lucky every day to be surrounded by such talented, dedicated, and KIND teachers who bring out the very best in our children. The principal, Mr. Rousseau, has been so incredibly approachable and supportive of parent ideas, and the school community is very enthusiastic about their many amazing programs being funded by the PTA and run by hard-working and generous parent volunteers. I find the environment to be inclusive and accepting of diverse values, and I feel like we all receive validation that each one of us has something positive to contribute. I couldn't imagine a better school for my kids--and I've experienced a lot of different schools in my own education and as a former teacher. Thank goodness for Los Alamitos and the strong leadership, awesome staff, incredible teachers, and amazing families and kids!


Los Alamitos Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
For the most part, bullying is not tolerated at Los Alamitos. When it happens, most teachers take the time to address it right away and when that isn't effective enough, parents can bring issues to the attention of the principal, who is incredibly receptive. I've found him to be supportive every time there has been an incident that he's been made aware of.

Los Alamitos Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The Project Cornerstone books that are read in the classrooms go a long way in developing empathy in the students. In PC activities, they're provided with real-world scenarios of students being confronted and bullied, and they're taught appropriate responses to those situations. Students learn about "filling buckets" and spreading "warm fuzzies," and through the many community service projects our school sponsors, students develop compassion for those people less fortunate, like the homeless, the hungry, and the impoverished. Teachers also regularly model kindness in the classroom, and use encouraging and nurturing ways to engage and instruct.

Los Alamitos Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Los Alamitos are masters of their craft! They're very approachable and incredibly kind. They work long hours, come to school with a positive attitude, and seem genuinely excited when a new challenge comes their way. I'm always impressed by their enthusiasm after going to some staff development workshop... they're eager to try new things and meet every child at his/her level.


Los Alamitos Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The school uses the PBIS system to teach students the school's and district's behavior standards. Students are frequently reminded of the rules, praised when they do well, and held accountable when rules are broken. I also think the Project Cornerstone lessons and the Expect Respect program encourage students to be fair in their treatment of their peers and to be honest in their actions.

Los Alamitos Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
As a parent, I have been very satisfied by this school. I have been impressed with my child's teachers and the administration. As for behavior mentioned in a previous post, I met with the principal and also have gathered my own opinions and it appears that there are very few issues. The school uses a positive approach to recognizing the excellent behavior the majority of the students exhibit. After all, consequences really don't change behavior. I like how the teachers and the principal are working together to continue to develop strategies and provide supports for both behavioral and academic needs for some students and enrichment opportunities for all students. The PTA is a great support for the school - 100% membership for 6 years I think. You can't go wrong with Los Alamitos!

Los Alamitos Elementary School 3

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
The school has excellent teachers and a great sense of community, however, there is little, if anything, being done about behavior issues in the classrooms and on the playground. The minimal consequences the school does have in place do little to discourage repeated bad behavior and unfortunately it's beginning to feel like the bad behavior is overpowering the good. Oftentimes, teachers have so many trouble makers in their class that they're spending a great deal of their time just trying to get these kids to listen or do their work, which makes it hard for the teacher to focus on the kids who are there to do their job and learn. Additionally, there are way too many kids on the playground and in the cafeteria at lunch--there's plenty of outdoor seating, yet for whatever reason they stuff so many kids in this tiny, stinky and obscenely LOUD cafeteria. Bullying is on the rise--kids continue being hurt by the same kids and it's been going on for years, yet nothing has been or is being done to address the issue. The leadership is really lacking...the principal needs to step up and start addressing these problems sooner rather than later!


Los Alamitos Elementary School 3

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
I like that the parents and teachers are involved with the students and that this is in a good area but then with a strong PTA and everything why are the playgrounds in disrepair? Students are rushed out after 15 or so minutes of eating lunch. There have been some students that have done what is outlined as reason for suspension (it never happens) and when my child came home with a black eye I had no idea what happened but the school did and I guess didn't feel it was important to tell me. There was also an incident when a child (unsupervised ) fell on one of the playgrounds and was seriously injured but no one knew and I'm not sure how long they had to wait for help or anything. Everyday kids are playing and hanging out where they shouldn't be and with no adult supervision. Safety is another thing that I don't feel this school takes seriously as gates stay open/ unlocked and anyone can just wander on campus without a visitor badge or being questioned. It's almost as if they have the "that'll never happen to me" syndrome. Too bad the district no longer allows you to choose your school but instead you go to your neighborhood school and in this case we just have to settle.

Los Alamitos Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely fabulous well rounded experience for both my children. Great sense of community, very inclusive, with 100% PTA enrollment for I don't know how many years in a row now! :) I think that alone speaks volumes. It is hard to create this environment anywhere else. The Moms and Dads really get involved and prioritize their children's education. The teachers and Mr Rousseau go above and beyond to create an enriching and nurturing environment. Wouldn't want to be anywhere else!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Alamitos Elementary School
6130 Silberman Avenue, San Jose, CA  95120-3931
(408) 535-6297
Last modified Los Alamitos Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Los Alamitos Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 110 reviews. Top