Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Muir Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $486,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2009

I love the dedicated staff and all their hard work to help students excel. We have wonderful electives to offer the students and a great after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

John Muir 8th graders have an opportunity to have involvement in the DC program and the Jr Honors Society. These are great programs that compliment their classroom learnings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Middle school was the 2 worst years of life for me, but thanks to John Muir - my son is having a GREAT time and says he loves school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The school is very geared towards parent involvement and is always looking for ways for students to be involved in healthy activities and is supportive of students success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

John Muir has great teachers. I also like the fun activities offered. I like the rotating schedules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

John Muir Middle School is one nof the best places to send your kid. Its not perfect but, its an enviroment that is not so uncomfortable. I went there for 6th grade year and i think it was the best place. Its an easy place to make friends and it changes your perspective of a middle entirely! The teachers are approchable, and actually want you to succseed, and will handle bully problems appropriately. But they are very strict when you don't follow the dress code. They a lot of after school programs that are free and its also has a math club that is great for kids who aren't doing great in that subject. They have teachers that will literally stay after school for that student if they need help. If you is taking a kid to middle school in San Jose Unified School District, this is one!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2009

The School Staff is terrible including some Teachers.Share Concerns to a Teacher or Staff or Principle and they do not respond. Poor Communication! Leaving messages is a waste of time. To many fights and Police Officers.Scary.. Security Personal picks on innocent Students.Over little issues like the Uniform Shirt not tucked in.Security Personal needs proper training in Communication at a Proffessional Level.Overall rate is Failure. 'F'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

My son, 7th grade, attends JMMS. Overall it's been a very positive experience. The teachers have been great so far. There are some administrators that I do not care for, but overall they're okay. I have to agree that there should be more flexibility with homework distribution, specifically in the math department. Is the point to make them do problems or to make sure they understand the process, and if it's the later, do you really need 30+ math problems a night to prove that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

when i attended John Muir middle in 6th grade. I had made friends so easily, and the classes were enjoyable. Although i had, what i thought was 'a lot of homework', there were teachers to help me after school to get me through it. I was devastated to leave JMMS after 6th grade, but it gave my 7th grade year a great start, because of the education I recieved there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2008

I enjoy this school beacuse it is very diverse, and I learn many new things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2008

I've always liked JMMS, so does my 8th grade son. Seems a lot of parents already share my views but after yesterday I now know that some of the teachers and at least one administrator are quick to anger and respond with a 'smart remark'. If I hadn't heard it myself I might not have belived my son. Next time my son comes to me with a problems I won't be so quick to side with the teacher. Overall, when my son started 6th grade we were so very excited about John Muir, now, I just can't wait for him to finish up this school year and get out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

I have both a 7th and an 8th grader attending Muir. There are definitely some great teachers and some not so great, but the problem is with the amount of homework that is being given. On one hand the 8th grader has homework in every subject except 2( about 4 to 5 hours every night, the 7th grader has little or no homework( possibly 30 minutes.) This definitely causes problems at home. One is bogged down trying to do their best and the other having little or none. It would be great if the teachers could somehow give an equal and reasonable amount of homework. Every teacher can't give an hour of homework every night. Yes, I understand that homework is necessary but please realize that they have other teachers. Hopefully, this review will be read by staff and changes can hopefully be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

I'm not happy with the teachers and staff. Though, the principal was always very helpful. Staff/Office, not friendly at all. My daughter favorite teacher was Ms. Rivers (Science) and Miss Cauphlin (reading). Otherwise the rest were not as creative and strong enough to handle there class. Sometime I have to wonder who's more childish the children or the teachers. Anyways, she will no longer be attending John Muir.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

john muir iz an ok school it just has a LOT of drama lik u cant even b leave but the teachers ar mean & strict pretty much thats it i think the schools kinda retarted though & if u dont tuck in your shirt u have to pick up trash its pretty stupid.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 20, 2006

I have two sons attending John Muir and I find it to be an exceptional middle school. I love the layout and feel that my children are secure and safe. The academic experience has been very successful, my children are challenged and the teachers keep me informed. They have also had a well rounded experience with afterschool activities. I'm very pleasesd with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

The principal is really great but it doesn't seem to flow down to the teachers. There are a few awesome teachers that actually seem to care and have the ability to make learning fun. The rest care more about the uniform rules or sending kids to OCS for the smallest infractions. They have no control over their classroom. They need to encourage the students with a positive attitude versus the negative approach follow. If they are not happy and have lost their love of teaching they need to go elsewhere instead of blaming it on the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

We've been very pleased with our 6th grader's teachers, though feel that the teaching of math could be both more creative (more hands-on concrete experiences, less rote) and more challenging. Our child feels very much a part of the school community, and likes his teachers. There are after school sports, but one has to make the team - it's not just recreational. I'd also like to see more music - not just band. The parents who are involved are very involved, but I'd say that this is a small percent of the overall parent population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

I was a studen at John Muir, currently going to Licoln High. While the principal does a great job, I wish I could say the same for the teachers. The teachers there are either really good, or just awful. And also for art class we had a new teacher every couple days no lesson plans, we just drew pictures or sat around all period. Though its a science magnet we barely did anything that involved science at all! That aside they had a couple great teachers you could talk to, joke around with, and have fun. Also gets got away with a lot of stuff, hitting kids, cursing, only thing they cared about is an untucked shirt.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

787

Change from
2012 to 2013

+15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

787

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
99%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
33%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
54%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females61%
Males56%
African American71%
Asian85%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability48%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state51%

Math

All Students44%
Females43%
Males45%
African American50%
Asian77%
Filipino46%
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented72%
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate57%
Parent education - declined to state32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females58%
Males52%
African American56%
Asian78%
Filipino56%
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state33%

Math

All Students39%
Females42%
Males34%
African American36%
Asian71%
Filipino31%
Hispanic or Latino28%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented69%
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate60%
Parent education - declined to state20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students26%
Females30%
Males22%
African American0%
Asian50%
Filipino55%
Hispanic or Latino17%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Non-economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability27%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented38%
Parent education - not a high school graduate16%
Parent education - high school graduate16%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)21%
Parent education - college graduate35%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to state35%

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females61%
Males50%
African American39%
Asian67%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state39%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students92%
Females100%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students55%
Females55%
Males54%
African American44%
Asian67%
Filipino60%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state42%

Science

All Students56%
Females55%
Males55%
African American28%
Asian65%
Filipino57%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 24%
Asian 11%
Black 5%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/AN/A
English language learners 13%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 9%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1260 Branham Lane
San Jose, CA 95118
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 535-6281

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Branham High School
San Jose, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT