Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 497
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
Reed is a great school I have my son since kindergarten any he is happy . The teachers are wonderful . Reed is palace that amid can grow confidence & learn at the same time.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Reed is my son's second elementary school, we absolutely loved the years he spent there. I LOVE the teachers and the school principal, everyone is doing their best to provide the kids with nurturing, warm environment that is so important in elementary school. Teachers are keeping parents informed on kids progress and are very responsive.


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
Very hands-on principal since arriving in 2005. He knows students' names, does yard duty, and is very involved in the daily activities of the school. Good parental involvement at this school! Accelerated Reading is a great program. School has fitness group called 'Power Paw', does Young Author's Tea for student writers, has docents leading Art Vista, as well as a great music program headed by a dedicated music teacher (Mrs. K.) whom all the students love. Reed is a small school that promotes a great community feel!

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
In researching several other schools we've found we'll be very hard pressed to duplicate that special quality we have at Reed. The 'It takes a village' approach flourishes with the small size and amazing parental involv. It is a beautiful community of all walks of life and ethnicities. The children seem very fond of the principal and, in our experience, most teachers are approachable, able to hone in on our children's talents as well as challenges. My children are flourishing and love to come to school because they have found learning can be such fun. A lifelong trait I wouldn t trade for the world. Fine Art, Music, Plays, Accel Reading, and many after school activities make this little school very rich. Scores have improved and there is a push to keep going higher but if you look beyond the raw number at the heart of Reed you will find a Cinderella.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Reed has been a wonderful experience for myself and my child. She has made many friends. Their reading program is great. The parent involvement since my child has been attending has been awesome. The PTA has made it possible for them to have Music, Art Vistas, fun activities etc. The curriculum and the teachers are great....as with anything in life there is always room for improvement, so I hope for Reed to continue in it's path of showing improvement every year.


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
Reed has the best teachers any student and parent can wish for. Art, music and more because of awesome parent involvement

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2006
- a parent
The change in principal has greatly improved this school. Juan Correa has been wonderful for the students as well as for the parents. Parents are now welcome on the campus, and people know and keep track of all the students very well. The office staff is outstanding, the teachers get an A+ from this parent.

Reed Elementary School 3

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
Much improved principal this year. Friendly atmosphere. Will improve as younger teachers join and new principal continues to influence.


Reed Elementary School 3

Posted November 12, 2005
- a parent
My child went to this school for two years, K and 1st and we didn't have a very good experience. The kindergarten teacher was great, but 1st was a disaster. We ended up taking our child out of the school and is doing fabulously at our new school.

Reed Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2005
- a parent
Reed has a very strong academic program. They are focused on reading and have a great book program that the children all participate in. The children have computer time, music class and field trips. The parent involvement is satisfactory...but definitely could be more.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reed Elementary School
1524 Jacob Avenue, San Jose, CA  95118
(408) 535-6247
Last modified Reed Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reed Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top