Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 497

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Reed is my son's second elementary school, we absolutely loved the years he spent there. I LOVE the teachers and the school principal, everyone is doing their best to provide the kids with nurturing, warm environment that is so important in elementary school. Teachers are keeping parents informed on kids progress and are very responsive.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
Very hands-on principal since arriving in 2005. He knows students' names, does yard duty, and is very involved in the daily activities of the school. Good parental involvement at this school! Accelerated Reading is a great program. School has fitness group called 'Power Paw', does Young Author's Tea for student writers, has docents leading Art Vista, as well as a great music program headed by a dedicated music teacher (Mrs. K.) whom all the students love. Reed is a small school that promotes a great community feel!


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
In researching several other schools we've found we'll be very hard pressed to duplicate that special quality we have at Reed. The 'It takes a village' approach flourishes with the small size and amazing parental involv. It is a beautiful community of all walks of life and ethnicities. The children seem very fond of the principal and, in our experience, most teachers are approachable, able to hone in on our children's talents as well as challenges. My children are flourishing and love to come to school because they have found learning can be such fun. A lifelong trait I wouldn t trade for the world. Fine Art, Music, Plays, Accel Reading, and many after school activities make this little school very rich. Scores have improved and there is a push to keep going higher but if you look beyond the raw number at the heart of Reed you will find a Cinderella.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Reed has been a wonderful experience for myself and my child. She has made many friends. Their reading program is great. The parent involvement since my child has been attending has been awesome. The PTA has made it possible for them to have Music, Art Vistas, fun activities etc. The curriculum and the teachers are great....as with anything in life there is always room for improvement, so I hope for Reed to continue in it's path of showing improvement every year.

Reed Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
Reed has the best teachers any student and parent can wish for. Art, music and more because of awesome parent involvement

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reed Elementary School
1524 Jacob Avenue, San Jose, CA  95118
(408) 535-6247
Last modified Reed Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reed Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top