Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
My son started Reed in the TK program at Reed in 2015. Mrs. Henderson is the best teacher we could have asked for. My son exceeded the expectation of what I thought he would learn in TK. Hands down she is the best teacher and give each kids the attention they need. I do however think the district should look into opening up another TK class or giving Mrs. Henderson an aid. 28-30 four and five year olds could get tough on any teacher, but Mrs. Henderson handles is with patience. A+++ Reed itself is a great school. The PTA is very involved and allows the school to have many programs.

Reed Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Henderson.. she is hands down the best teacher! Give her an aid to help out with such a heavy load.


Reed Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
They follow Reed Rocks which is patterned after PBIS. They teach students how to be Respectful, Organized, Caring, Kind and Safe all day everyday!

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
Reed is a hidden gem in the heart of central San Jose. Teachers are passionate about student learning, they set high academic expectations. The community is very involved and supportive. School leadership is evident and respected. Reed Rocks!

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
Reed is a great school I have my son since kindergarten any he is happy . The teachers are wonderful . Reed is palace that amid can grow confidence & learn at the same time.


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Reed is my son's second elementary school, we absolutely loved the years he spent there. I LOVE the teachers and the school principal, everyone is doing their best to provide the kids with nurturing, warm environment that is so important in elementary school. Teachers are keeping parents informed on kids progress and are very responsive.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
Very hands-on principal since arriving in 2005. He knows students' names, does yard duty, and is very involved in the daily activities of the school. Good parental involvement at this school! Accelerated Reading is a great program. School has fitness group called 'Power Paw', does Young Author's Tea for student writers, has docents leading Art Vista, as well as a great music program headed by a dedicated music teacher (Mrs. K.) whom all the students love. Reed is a small school that promotes a great community feel!

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
In researching several other schools we've found we'll be very hard pressed to duplicate that special quality we have at Reed. The 'It takes a village' approach flourishes with the small size and amazing parental involv. It is a beautiful community of all walks of life and ethnicities. The children seem very fond of the principal and, in our experience, most teachers are approachable, able to hone in on our children's talents as well as challenges. My children are flourishing and love to come to school because they have found learning can be such fun. A lifelong trait I wouldn t trade for the world. Fine Art, Music, Plays, Accel Reading, and many after school activities make this little school very rich. Scores have improved and there is a push to keep going higher but if you look beyond the raw number at the heart of Reed you will find a Cinderella.


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Reed has been a wonderful experience for myself and my child. She has made many friends. Their reading program is great. The parent involvement since my child has been attending has been awesome. The PTA has made it possible for them to have Music, Art Vistas, fun activities etc. The curriculum and the teachers are great....as with anything in life there is always room for improvement, so I hope for Reed to continue in it's path of showing improvement every year.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
Reed has the best teachers any student and parent can wish for. Art, music and more because of awesome parent involvement

Nearby schools

Reed Elementary School
1524 Jacob Avenue, San Jose, CA  95118-1613
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (408) 535-6247
Last modified Reed Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top