Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


River Glen School 5

Posted April 12, 2016
- a student
I am in middle school and love River Glen. I really like the size of my school. Everyone there is familiar to me and many people I know well. I am not lost in a sea of students. I have had excellent teachers and they are very, very kind and loving. If students have trouble understanding something, they take the extra time to explain it to you. I have made close friendships that making coming to school fun! My friends at other schools talk more about bullying, teasing and even dating compared to my school! I love this school!

River Glen School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 12, 2016
- a student
I think that most of the teachers have always been so kind and really teach the material very well.


River Glen School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Students are held to standards and the teachers make sure their work is done or they inform the parents.

River Glen School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
There is something called VISA which teaches respect to the students and is used throughout.

River Glen School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Our family is in our 12th year at River Glen and we remain so committed to it and extremely happy with it! It is a community of dedicated parents, and teachers. We have seen 3 principals over our 12 years and really respect the leadership of our current one. Our older children were very well prepared for high school and are excelling beyond what we could have imagined. We have seen previous graduates of RG to go on to excellent colleges, play in collegiate sports, become artists/musicians and generally very engaged community members. We have 3 more years at this school and cannot quite imagine leaving, however the gifts, more than just being bilingual/biliterate, it has offered my children we will see for the rest of their lives.


River Glen School 2

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
I was a parent at Riverglen for 16 years, the spanish immersion program was a success w/my children. However,I disenrolled my child from the 5th grade due to lack of support that she received from the new principal& her 5th grade teacher. My child is IEP,& she was left behind in this "no child left behind" era. What troubled me the most was the lack of support & the indifference of her 5th grade teacher & of the principal. I was a devoted parent for many years here & have seen quite a difference. The motto of the school prior to this new principal was the success for ALL students. Now, if the child is struggling academically, they are forgotten & the minimum support is offered. My daughter is now in the 7th gr., struggling due to the indifference she received from the principal/her 5th grade teacher. So if your child is an average student, they will succeed anywhere, but if you are a parent with a child that has a learning disability, look elsewhere, because they will not prepare your child for high school. My meetings of concern for my child seemed to have annoyed the principal; I'm sure he is very happy that we left. I was there for 16 years; River Glen is NOT THE SAME!!!

River Glen School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Amazing teachers & staff, wonderful students, engaged parents, grandparents, and extended families... a true community that values learning. The leadership of the principal is exciting!

River Glen School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
I love the teachers and staff at River Glen cause they care, my two neices attened R.G. and I know this school is great I choose it for my son!


River Glen School 4

Posted December 09, 2011
- a parent
It is difficult to read the previous post and have someone try to speak on behalf of the entire Parent/Student community. Our new Principal is a great leader, and he is always extremely professional. He is generous with his time and gives of himself all that he possibly can. He attends every school function and is hands on helping any way he can. He is supportive with any event or activity. His first words are "Let me know how I can help" When disciplining, he means business. What's wrong with that!?...although we miss our past principal's....we are very fortunate to have Mr. Salcido!

River Glen School 1

Posted December 06, 2011
- a parent
This was a great school until the new principal arrived this year. He lacks leadership and experience on working with children. He is unproffesional not a people person. Lacks communication skills. He intimidates the staff to turn against the children for his own personal ego. He doesnt belong at River Glen the kids dont like him and neither do parents or staff. He's turning our family environment into a cold feeling school being run by Mr. Scrooge.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

River Glen School
1088 Broadway, San Jose, CA  95125-2232
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (408) 535-6240
Last modified River Glen School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top