Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Jose High School 2

Posted May 04, 2014
- a community member
I'm a student at sjh and I can tell you that the only reason that this school gets all its 'hype' from is the IB program. That's it. Gangs. Drugs. Graffiti. A normal class that does not include IB or Honors, has about5% of students learning. The rest, well that's there future.

San Jose High School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
I love the sports here. And the coaches really help you. And the bulldog pride is outstanding here. GO BULLDOGS


San Jose High School 5

Posted May 14, 2010
- a student
I am currently a senior and am about to graduate in a few weeks and I can honestly say that this is one of the best public school anyone can attend. This school only gets a bad rap from things done in the past. The school offers challenging programs such as the International Baccalaureate program and the Engineering Project Lead the Way Program. We have a caring administration and an accepting an and diverse student body! We also have new science and engineering buildings that will be open in 2010! SJHA is a stepping stone towards a great future! Go Bulldogs!

San Jose High School
no rating

Posted October 24, 2009
- a student
I am a current junior at san jose high and believe we are one of the best schools in california if not the best we have many great programs that are over looked because everyone assumes we are a bad school because of our past.we have a big portugues club,catt club,key club,ib program,Mesa,latino club, and many more if im taking the time to write about my school so much its because i really do care class of 2011

San Jose High School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
It's a great mix of kids and the International Baccalaureate program is outstanding.


San Jose High School
no rating

Posted August 09, 2009
- a student
The school is now under a new administrative staff, hopefully this attitude will change! Go Bulldogs!

San Jose High School
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
I have seen great students come out of this school, the complain that I have is trying to have the Administrative Staff help with any form or appointment, they have the worst attitude as if they are to occupied all the time and never have the ability to give a smile or a simple caring answer. The times I've need their help I've came out more fustrated and upset then when I first went to seek their help. They need attitude adjustments.

San Jose High School
no rating

Posted January 14, 2009
- a community member
As a community member I have seen a great turn-around over the last two to three years in the school's look! The students have always been friendly but with the new buildings as well as the new sign and clean grounds the school looks great!


San Jose High School 4

Posted December 15, 2008
- a student
Im a currently a student at San Jose High Academy, and I can say that this school has gone through major changes since my siblings have attended this school. This school is a great school, because its one of the most diversed and welcoming schools i have been to. The staff members have changed so much throughout the years, but i have to say that all the teachers that have worked here, have put some much effort in making these students learn. I have never seen any teachers, who are willing to dedicate their time to students who need help in their school work and other personal stuff. Yes, there is a huge gap between the IB students and the Non-IB students in test scores and how they overall interact with each other. But overall, everyone is friendly and caring. This school is recommended for anyone.

San Jose High School 5

Posted October 17, 2008
- a student
I am currently a student at SJHA and I personally think its a great school. What makes it even better is that it is an IB school.

Nearby schools

San Jose High School
275 North 24th Street, San Jose, CA  95116-1143
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (408) 535-6320
Last modified San Jose High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top