Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Simonds Elementary School 1

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
I'm very sad to say the school is a mess. Please, SJUSD, send us a new principal to fix things. We'd welcome Mrs. Samuels back with open arms!

Simonds Elementary School 1

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
I agree with the other parents re: principal. She is rarely around & very hard to reach. It took several weeks for her to respond to my emails requesting a meeting to discuss my child. With 29 students, my sons teacher is overwhelmed & disorganized at best. Her classroom is cluttered, uninspired & messy. In fact, the entire campus looks shoddy with litter strewn about. Each day on our way into the classroom we pick up several wrappers & discarded trash. Overall the school feels very institutional, lacking any personal feeling or specialness.


Simonds Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
The principal is going to run the school into the ground. She is a horrible 'leader' and has alienated both staff and parents. She doesn't care anything about the kids - either academically or socially. She is combative and unprofessional in dealing with parents and is NEVER even seen out on the school grounds

Simonds Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
My child's current teacher is the worst he has had. Compared to other classes in the same grade level, they are behind in math and science. In addition, the homework he gets is the same as he got in the previous grade and even at that the teacher seems to have trouble explaining things in a clear way. She doesn't seem to understand the subject matter and often tells kids in her class to get help from the parents.

Simonds Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Under the current principal, the school has really gone downhill. She is rarely on campus and she obviously doesn't care about the students. It was telling that after almost two years since becoming principal, I heard several kids ask who she was. In contrast, the prior principal was well known to all of the kids and respected as an authority figure. Pictures of her drinking wine during a "girls night" with a couple of the moms she knows well were posted to facebook a year ago. These pictures have been circulated and seen by the kids. This is not the kind of example a elementary school principal should set in my opinion.


Simonds Elementary School 2

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
2 stars only because the new principle is not supportive at all! The teachers and the administration are nice and is willing to help the parents/students, but the principle is not.

Simonds Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My kids absolutely love(d) Simonds. The teachers are caring and attentive, and the administration is willing to address any problems that arise and try to resolve them hands-on. The introduction of common core standards is a new change that the teachers and staff are doing their best to embrace for the kids. Overall, I am very happy with the school.

Simonds Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
We also transferred here and WOW we are extremely pleased with what we have found here. My child transitioned here easily and loves her new school and its offerings, especially that's she's learning keyboard and has a fabulous teacher. We look forward to our years here and being involved. Go Simonds!


Simonds Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
As a transfer parent we love this school. The kids are enjoying the teachers and activities. Great principal and staff.

Simonds Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
My child loving going to school here and the staff is excellent. They are always willing to listen and address any concerns I have.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Simonds Elementary School
6515 Grapevine Way, San Jose, CA  95120-4020
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (408) 535-6251
Last modified Simonds Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top