Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Merritt Trace Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Ms Warburton, Mr Boston and Ms Van Derwark are the Trace Arts dream team! First of all, we're so lucky to have an arts program with music, drama and visual arts in a public elementary school. On top of that we have an amazing group of teachers supporting the program. They all go above and beyond to support the students and consistently help out in fundraisers and other after hours events. Ms Warburton even attends all the PTO meetings!

Merritt Trace Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I think the Trace arts program helps develop these types of soft skills/values. It is great to have the students for example participate in plays and in a strings orchestra - they learn to work together and support each other to success.


Merritt Trace Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I think much of this begins at home but yes, my kids seemed to be pretty tuned into these concepts from school also. Just recently there was a Cornerstone reading program around the theme of "bucket filling" with positive actions and words and they've taken that message to heart.

Merritt Trace Elementary School 4

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
We love the TWBI program and the arts the school has to offer. The reason I'm not giving the school 5 stars is really the school district's fault: The classes should all have a permanent teaching aide given the class sizes.

Merritt Trace Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Trace are as effective as any can be in the sub-standard situation they operate under: Classroom sizes in San Jose Unified School District are simply too large. Education, our most important investment in the country's future, is sadly underfunded.


Merritt Trace Elementary School 1

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
MIss principal, Mrs. Rocha, despite what some may say she was a nice woman. New principal is quite rude.

Merritt Trace Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Gonzalez, the only one in administration that is corteous and willing to help. Most of the office staff come off as rude.

Merritt Trace Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Maria Rodrigues is extremely rude and bitter. I'm certain that with time many other people will see her real persona.


Merritt Trace Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
We have a motto called the 3 B's; Be Responsible, Be respectful, and Be safe! They touch on this every Friday at our community flag salute.

Merritt Trace Elementary School 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Trace is a very good school. It has a lot of programs that the children can get into, also the arts program is great! Teachers are caring and very involved. The parent help and participation is inspiring and am happy to be a part of.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Merritt Trace Elementary School
651 Dana Avenue, San Jose, CA  95126-2003
(408) 535-6257
Last modified Merritt Trace Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Merritt Trace Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. Top