Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 581
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Washington Elementary is an amazing school. They have almost 20 clubs that students can participate in. One club, the China Club, awards the 4 students who learn the most Mandarin a trip to China! The principal is a dynamic leader that reaches out to every family in the community. There is a tremendous team of hundreds of volunteers that help to support every student. Unlike local charters, Washington Elementary will educate any and all students. Also, unlike local charters, all teachers at Washington are fully credentialed, and have more than 10 years of teaching experience on average. There is a vibrant and involved group of parent volunteers -- many parents have more than 300 hours of volunteer time a year. This makes it a really fun school, since the community is so involved. As a college educated parent and silicon valley entrepreneur, I would highly recommend this school. Your kids will get the best education and learn to live in a highly diverse Spanish and English community. To learn more, check out FriendsOfWashingtonSchoolSanJose on facebook https://www.facebook.com/FriendsOfWashingtonSchoolSanJose
1 person found this helpful

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a community member
Washington Elementary provides library time where students may come in regularly during summer to read with their parents and take AR tests in order to keep up and stay ahead in their reading skills during the summer! It's wonderful!
1 person found this helpful


Washington Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
I would not recomend this school just because its unsafe. The staff do not seem to care about the safety of the children. They don't monitor anything that goes on in their campus. Including after school programs.
1 person found this helpful

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
Very dissatisfied with Washington elementary school. My experiences with the teachers and the staff had not been good. The staff was disorganized and didn't seem to care about the students. There's a lack of supervision and communication. I have never seen a school as bad as this school. I had to pull my child out of this school.
1 person found this helpful

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
Parents beware if you want your children safe this isn't the school for you! Both my children went there and both had to spend time in the hospital for serious injuries due to the lack of supervision there, and the principal has no problem blaming everyone else, including your child, for her short comings. I don t recommend this school to anyone. This principal does not deserve to be Principal of the Year! She is that good at being fake! The only good thing about this school is that there are some teachers willing to go the extra mile for your children, but there are very few of them.


Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 05, 2010
- a teacher
The principal puts on good show but deep down is unfocused and leads by force of her personality. If your child is a middle kid, he/she will be taught. If your child is doing well or struggling, he/she are secondary in her thinking. She knows how to play the game and is rewarded by a district and public who are being fooled.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Washington Elementary School 4

Posted May 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2003
- a parent
My daughter attends Washington and will be entering the 2nd grade. She loves school and looks forward to being there everyday. I especially liked Mrs. Zades (kindergarten teacher). She was so great with my daughter and all the other kids in that classroom. I volunteered in class a couple of times. She is so energetic and treats each child as an individual. Being there and being a college student myself I can say that no matter where our children go to school their teachers need 100% support from us. Washington also provides tons of extracurricular activities during the after school program. Washington receives lots of support from people that care to donate their time and money. Go Dragons!
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Elementary School
100 Oak Street, San Jose, CA  95110
(408) 535-6261
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top