Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Williams Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
My son has been going to Williams since Kindergarten. He is now in 3rd grade. I cannot say enough great things about Williams. The current principal is fantastic. Last year my son's 2nd grade teacher hosted an event "Flashlight Reading". She invited all the parents to bring a flashlight to class on a Friday, and read to their child under the flashlight. At the beginning of the event, the teacher has all the parents in one room talking to them about how important it is to read to the kids, while the students are in another room adjacent and the principal was playing guitar for the kids. This is just one of the many events I have seen the principal being involved in and genuinely enjoyed spending time w the students. The teachers my son has had the last few years are genuinely interested and cared for the students. Even though there are 30 students in class, but the teachers are very experienced and they all managed to know my son as an individual and work w us the parents as a team to help my son grow in the areas where he needs encouragement. The Wins foundation organized by the parents is amazing. They provide excellent support for the school.

Williams Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2014
- a community member
Continuing from last review. and they all seem to consider the Williams kids the "smart" ones. So basically, the academics focus works. As long as your kid has friends, hobbies, and some extra-curricular activities [Try Drama or Yearbook], you should be fine. -Teachers Generally good or great. Some bad and some awesome, like any other school. They try their best to teach kids while still doing fun things. -Food This is the worst part of Williams. Seriously. Everything with a bun is soggy [like, falling apart soggy], meat's burnt, snacks are stale, everything's tasteless [and if not, it tastes like cardboard, glue, or various other non-food substances] and whole grain. The fruits and vegetables are okay, if only because they are hard to mess up. Nothing sugary whatsoever. The focus on "healthy" has ruined hot lunch. If you can, pack lunch. Seriously. -Overall: Good, but not great. Horrible food. Lots of academics [and Common Core doesn't help, eurgh]. Don't sign your kid up for math camp. 4/5. -Former student


Williams Elementary School 3

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
The families at Williams are very serious about their children's education. There are high expectations on these kids and because of that the Williams students are going to do well and be successful. Sounds good, right? Well, they aren't learning it in their classrooms at Williams. Instead, parents are spending hours after school teaching what should be taught in the classroom, but class size is so huge it isn't possible. Parents are also hiring private tutors, and sending their kids to academic summer schools & camps. The teachers are as good and bad as at any school. Thanks to Williams Wins Foundation there is loads of fundraising to help support extra curriculum activities, but anything other than strong academics is really an after thought. I am disappointed that Williams kids are already under immense pressure & an intense academic culture. Aren't there plenty of years for that? There is no love for learning going on at Williams, no creativity and no passion at this school. I was drawn to the high API score but I wish I had explored other options too. I have heard great things about Graystone, Simonds, & Los Alamitos, which all have high APIs but more focus on the whole child.

Williams Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2011
- a parent
Great school. Lots of fun activities. Great teachers and programs, needs lots of parent involvement.

Williams Elementary School 3

Posted September 04, 2010
- a parent
Some teachers are great, but there are a few (especially in higher grades, 3rd and up) that are horrible. Those teachers have not taught at Williams for a long time and bring inappropriate teaching styles to an otherwise great school.


Williams Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers, excellent programs, structured environment, very involved parents, higher standards all around. Not a school for you if you are just looking for a daycare.

Williams Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers and a superb lunch time activity program.

Williams Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Great enrichment programs, amazing staff, parents volunteer a lot, art program, high scores


Williams Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 20, 2010
- a parent
The leadership is not approachable & has no understanding whatsoever. However most of the staff is excellent.

Williams Elementary School 5

Posted December 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Williams Elementary School
1150 Rajkovich Way, San Jose, CA  95120
(408) 535-6196
Last modified Williams Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Williams Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top