Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Willow Glen Elementary is a great school and our two boys (K and 3rd) really enjoy attending. The school has an excellent staff and offers quite a few extra-curricular activities such as science, chess club, art, band etc. The school has a great community and a very active PTA.

Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a parent
Parent involvement is key to a good school. Just attend a PTA meeting at the school. It is full of parents that are not board members but honestly involved in the school. They have a band that started a few years ago because a parent was driven to have a hands on music program at the school. That is just one example of improvements parents have made. Teachers are exceptional because this is a school they want to be at. Why? The parent support. No test will reflect that fact.


Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
I have a first grader and a kinder here and am continually amazed by what a great school this is! Teachers, PTA, parents & families are amazing. Love our neighborhood school.

Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
There's not enough room to write about all the wonderful things about WGE! My daughter attended the school (now at WGMS) and my son will be entering 4th grade; both have had wonderful teachers and wonderful experiences. The school environment is safe and caring; parents and community members are involved and supportive of the school. Academics are great - love the GATE - CreaTV program. Academics are held in high standards but so are the arts - band, choir, plays, opera! I am an active PTA member - one of the BEST PTA's in the county - so supportive and creative. This school should be a 10!

Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2012
- a parent
WGE is a wonderful neighborhood school with 2 excellent educational stands, each with devoted, active parents: traditional English instruction and two way bilingual immersion in Spanish. The school has an exceptional number of before-school and after-school programs, like band, dance, musical theater, and TV production. The very active PTA supports additional classroom instructional time in hands-on science projects, computer instruction, art and music.


Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
My son is in the TWBI kinder class 2011. We adore the teachers, principal and other staff like Coach Danny. The parent involvement in the school is out of this world. There are a group of dedicated parents who are at the school putting in as many hours as they would be with a full time job. The fundraising is awesome, the PTA works very hard to ensure that this school has all the resources to teach the kids the best. Schmal Science, Coach Danny, Choir, Opera, Music, Computer Lab, Math and Art Docents for each class room with access to an abundance of materials. You could not find a better and more community oriented school. WGE is really like a extended family.

Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
WGE still has a fabulous English only program too! I can't say enough great things about this school. The Parent involvement is amazing. The principal, teachers and support staff really cares. Other schools are cutting programs, but the PTA at WG makes sure we still have sports, band, choir, art, science, character building and more. Check out wgepta.org to see all that's happening!

Willow Glen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Willow Glen Elementary has an extremely caring staff. The teachers are very engaged, enthusiastic and spend individual time with the students. I love the community and parent involvement. The PTA funds a lot of programs like Art, Science and Music.


Willow Glen Elementary School 4

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
I have a son and a daughter at Willow Glen Elementary. I have been very happy with my children's teachers over the past 4 years. The staff are committed to the kids and work extremely hard. My kids have a had a great year despite the increase in class size in the lower grades. I have seen the biggest growth in terms of parent involvement and creativity this year. This was a year where many things changed. We enhanced our Music Program this year and added a New Band Program. In addition, we have a new principal and new incentive programs for all children. We have a wonderful student council group and Recycling Program- The Green Team. This school is embraced by the community. We had the most successful fundraising year yet despite the difficult economic times. That says a lot about the strong commitment! The New PTA website is

Willow Glen Elementary School 3

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
I have two boys here and there are things we like and things we don't like. There is a core group of parents who are very involved and make great contributions. The school recently started a music program which is exciting. The physical facilities were recently renovated and a new building installed too. At the same time, we are concerned about the school's low API scores. There are challenges with 'running in place' trying to help a seemingly relatively high transient population of ethnic kids who come to the school and then leave before they master English only to leave the next generation of kids to be taught English and score low on standardized tests. It's tough for kids who are talented and looking for academic, social, and related challenges. We continually weigh options of seeking alternatives vs continuing here. At the moment, we are staying and contributing!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Willow Glen Elementary School
1425 Lincoln Avenue, San Jose, CA  95125
(408) 535-6265
Last modified Willow Glen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Willow Glen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top