Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Willow Glen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
I am in awe at how well the teachers manage a class of kids 4 and now this year 5 years of age! They are so patient and calm at all times! At least the two teachers we've had:)

Willow Glen Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
They receive a weekly packet that has suggestions of what to practice each day and it is turned in at the end of the week.


Willow Glen Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is very respectful and taught to listen, take turns, be kind to others, etc. Half her class are Spanish only speaking students because she is in a Spanish TWBI class and she respects her peers because they are helping her to learn.

Willow Glen Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Some of the PTA funds are used to have a PE teacher with the kids during lunch to encourage team play, prevent bullying, and encourage everyone to play together.

Willow Glen Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
They have a cornerstone program that has volunteers come in to talk to the kids about these values and the parents, teachers, and community are all asked to exercise these virtues to be good examples for the child.


Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter started in here with TK. Her teacher was amazing. We described her as when she opens her mouth hearts come out. She was the sweetest dearest teacher a parent could ask for their nearly 5 year old to spend the day with. This year we started Kindergarten in the Spanish TWBI program they have as an option here and we are delighted with her teacher this year too! My daughter has only positive thoughts about going to school and each day is "the best day ever!" We couldn't be any happier!

Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Willow Glen Elementary is a great school and our two boys (K and 3rd) really enjoy attending. The school has an excellent staff and offers quite a few extra-curricular activities such as science, chess club, art, band etc. The school has a great community and a very active PTA.

Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a parent
Parent involvement is key to a good school. Just attend a PTA meeting at the school. It is full of parents that are not board members but honestly involved in the school. They have a band that started a few years ago because a parent was driven to have a hands on music program at the school. That is just one example of improvements parents have made. Teachers are exceptional because this is a school they want to be at. Why? The parent support. No test will reflect that fact.


Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
I have a first grader and a kinder here and am continually amazed by what a great school this is! Teachers, PTA, parents & families are amazing. Love our neighborhood school.

Willow Glen Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
There's not enough room to write about all the wonderful things about WGE! My daughter attended the school (now at WGMS) and my son will be entering 4th grade; both have had wonderful teachers and wonderful experiences. The school environment is safe and caring; parents and community members are involved and supportive of the school. Academics are great - love the GATE - CreaTV program. Academics are held in high standards but so are the arts - band, choir, plays, opera! I am an active PTA member - one of the BEST PTA's in the county - so supportive and creative. This school should be a 10!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Willow Glen Elementary School
1425 Lincoln Avenue, San Jose, CA  95125-3398
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (408) 535-6265
Last modified Willow Glen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top