Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willow Glen Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $619,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

I drive the neighborhood kids to school. All the kids hang out with different groups of kids. Yet, all of them love Wg. They are all going to be in 8th grade soon and have all had a great experience. They offer all kinds of sports, dances every month, a bunch of clubs, a lot of electives. There administrators are strong. I have been a teacher for 20 years and the teachers are great. They have classes for the gifted and children with special needs. There are parents involved. Yet, most kids at this age, in my experience as a junior high teacher, don't want their parents involved. They want their space. I am happy we sent my son here and we didn't put him in private school. We made the right choice to send him to WG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Going from Booksin to WGMS was like going from Beverly Hills to East LA. Sorry, I know none of the local parents want to hear that, but its the truth. I agree with the last reviewer that the assignments are "dumbed down"...some of the assignments were literally 4th grade level when my child was in 7th grade! If we had an issue with a teacher, all we got was a shrug from the administration, and the bad behavior noted by the last reviewer is literally ingrained in the school culture. Parent participation is very minimal and not encouraged by the school. If I had it to do over again, I would have moved before putting my children here. Just a bad experience all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

After a bad 6th grade experiences, we are pulling our daughter out of WGMS. Coming from Booksin, our expectations were high and WGMS was a disappointment. Here are the reasons we are leaving: 1) The curriculum is sub-par. Our daughter read more books, wrote many more papers, and did more special projects in 5th then 6th. In all subjects except for math, the curriculum was easier then 5th (dumbed down and shallow). Homework was a waste of time. (She outgrew crossword puzzles and coloring in 3rd grade.) 2) She had only two strong teachers in 6th (Math and PE) and the rest were poor or mediocre. Boring, unorganized, unresponsive, uncaring, strict and the opposite of inspirational. 3) The new (non-Booksin) kids she met were mostly mean and poorly behaved. She saw kids bullied, shunned and ignored routinely, mean comments and swear words spewed daily and teachers disrespected. Also, about half the kids could care less about learning. They didn t turn in their homework or participate in class and regularly became nuisances and distractions to the kids who actually wanted to learn something. 4) Parent participation is minimal and parents are not welcome in class. I hope they improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

Outstanding school community and academic experience. WGMS has improved each year. The administration is balanced and caring. The academics are great at the advanced levels. Parental involvement the last 5 years has resulted in an explosion in arts, sports, and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I have very mixed feelings about this school. Bullying is a HUGE issue. Get that fixed ASAP! In my 7th grade year, I was bullied excessively. It was to a point where I felt everyone hated me, and the staff barely did anything about it. They let the other kids off with a warning and a lecture, but that did nothing. Other than my bullying issue, the academics are OKAY. Teachers need to be a bit more willing to help the students. I would someday like to send my kids to this school because it IS a neighborhood school. However, if the school hasn't solved the issues on bullying and/or tolerance, I'm not sending them here.


Posted July 17, 2013

Willow Glen Middle schools staff and administration in caring. There offer a lot of electives, sports, clubs and activities. Two of the best schools in San Jose Unified feed into WG. Most of them go to the middle school. They have challenging classes for the gifted. Many of the teachers and police officers who live in WG send their children to the school. I am a middle school teacher in Santa Clara for 20 years and all middle school have bullying unfortunately. Yet, WG staff nabs it in the butt right away. They just have to be informed like any staff. They have an excellent Principal and VP which makes the school run well. My children and myself have been in the private and public school system as students and we love Willow Glen Middle School. I went to WG and we made the right decision putting our sons into Schallenberger and WG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

The administrators here do not communicate will with each other. I have requested meetings for my son's teachers and the principals they notified the other parent but did not notify me at all. The meeting was held without me. I met with the one teacher and reached out to her but she was not helpful to me at all. However another teacher was very kind and did provide the help I asked for and helped my student out a lot. I have struggled for two years with this school and feel they communicate with the other parent and exclude me. I cannot even get mail from the school or district even though they have my address and I have requested the DO to add my address. They have yet to do this. I suppose if your child does well in school and does not struggle the school is appropriate. However, I have had very little support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

My daughter just completed her 6th grade year at WGMS and I have been impressed on so many levels. I work in education and feel I have a good understanding of what's important in a school (it's not just the API score - what is often referred to as the Affluent Parent Index) and this school has it! The communication is excellent, curriculum is targeted to state standards with lots of project based learning, teachers are kind and caring, discipline is good and bullying is NOT tolerated. This is a public, city school so it's not like Challenger or Valley Christian where you can kick anyone out. This is an environment of learning but also social learning, being with a diverse group - that's life. Additionally, extra-curricular activities are amazing - more choices than most middle schools in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

They didn't include my son in his graduating year yearbook. All we got was a "sorry" and a refund. Besides that, it has been an ok school. Changing principals a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

ilove willow glen middle school im currently a student there all the teachers are nice the administration this year is strict and this year is going very good if you do not do your homework assignments they give you f's . so look at this middle school best middle school ever so i dont agree with the 2nd to last comment that is so not true SO LOOK AT THIS SCHOOL EVEN IF YOU COME FROM BOOKSIN OR ANY OTHER SCHOOL.!


Posted May 3, 2011

I completely disagree with the previous posts regarding WGMS. This is a supportive, neighborhood school where bullying is not tolerated. PBIS, Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports is a system created to create a positive environment for all students on campus. This school challenged my child to obtain all A's in 6 semesters allowing her to sign the Golden Book. With 3 full years of science, she left middle school scoring advanced on the CST state test in math, science and language arts. Choose WGMS for the programs, stay because of the positive community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

I agree with the last two reviews wholeheartedly. My child was not just bullied when she was in 6th grade there, she was grabbed by a girl in a crowd of girls surrounding her. The discipline was not there. I had to go back and forth and still nothing came of it. It IS the parent's responsibilty to instill tolerance and confidence, but why should the kids who possess these qualities have to fear school because other parents do not? Is school not supposed to be a safe place for children to learn and grow? It is appalling to hear that some parents excuse the school for being unsafe. My child did receive attention and nurturing from her teachers. There was no true preparation for high school and when she went on to high school, she said she felt like she was tossed into the ocean with no life raft. Academic preparation is important, but it is also important to give the 8th graders a more accurate portrayal of what demands high school has on homework, personal accountability, lack of teacher support and expectations from administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

This school has rampant bullying issues. The problem has existed there so long that the student culture is broken and needs a major "reset". I would definitely NOT recommend sending your 5th grader to this middle school, especially if you are coming from a really nice, neighborhood elementary school, such as Booksin Elementary. You will be horrified and your student will be abused. The contrast is that sharp. Aside from the barbarous culture, our child tells us that most students in his classes don't bother turning in homework and still get 'C' grades in their classes. The teachers seem to "look the other way" at classroom discipline problems. In two words: Look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

I have to say that I had absolutely no issues with sending my 6th grader to WGMS, and I have not regretted it one bit. My son has had a great experience thus far, and has adapted to the culture well. His teachers appear responsive and he has been involved in leadership and school sports. I have heard of none of my child's friends complaining of bullying, as they all are used to diverse environments. It is the parents' responsibility to teach tolerance and instill confidence so the student optimizes his/her educational opptys. I have another child going to WGMS next fall, and have no problem recommending the school to others, My son plays sports with kids from Booksin, Schallenberger, and Willow Glen Elem, and I have heard none of them say a negative word about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

great for training us to study for tests. My favorite teacher here at WGMS has been Ms. Garcia. She goes above and beyond in everything she does. She set up her classroom with amazing lights in her classroom with vases of flowers on desks and snacks for all to enjoy while we did the poetry slam, inpiring students to enjoy and appretiate poetry. The poetry slam was after we finished our poerty anthologies. We wrote about 15 poems about one subject (examples: lyric poems, elegies, sonnets, concretes, etc.). I also had an amazing social studies teacher who showed great videos and DVDs in relation to the subject. I was amazed to see all the citizens who perished during the civil war. That class inspired me to collect many of the state quarters - I now have the full collection. Thanks Willow Glen for all the great life lessons I have learned!


Posted March 15, 2010

The cheerleaders at willow glen middle are absolutely not racist and have become positive role models. Willow Glen Middle has so much to offer it's students. Teachers really do make an effort to offer extra help to their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2009

I think this school is amazing it teaches you al lot principal malina is the best and so is mrs.Saldana I think kids looking for a school to go to should go to WGMS
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

Willow Glen Middle School has provided excelent and creative opportunities for my child to grow and learn; and the teachers seem to really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

Willow Glen has a handful of teachers that are really excellent, but too many teachers teach at an excruciatingly slow pace. If your an overachiever or or excell in academics, I warn you that the only advanced classes this school are those in math. However, willow glen is an overall good school. There are a multitude of different, engaging electives and a good sports program. There is a small problem with swearing and bad behavior among the student body, but there are almost no violence issues. I can't understand why any student would not feel 'safe' at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

This is a great school. Recent changes in district policy have made this a 'neighborhood school' that now draws on highly-ranked elementary schools Booksin and Schallenberger. Watch for rapid growth in test scores. Lots of parent involvement and committed teachers. I am very happy with this school, have sent my daughter and will send my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

811

Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

811

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
33%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
0%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females70%
Males67%
African American40%
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students65%
Females63%
Males67%
African American33%
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students78%
Females90%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females65%
Males61%
African American73%
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state38%

Math

All Students31%
Females33%
Males28%
African American56%
Asian50%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino18%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented55%
Parent education - not a high school graduate9%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)32%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate45%
Parent education - declined to state13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students26%
Females29%
Males22%
African American18%
Asian58%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino17%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)34%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Non-economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability27%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only27%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented37%
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate13%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)16%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate48%
Parent education - declined to state14%

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females69%
Males57%
African American54%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state36%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students4%
Females0%
Males7%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino5%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged3%
Non-economically disadvantaged5%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability5%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only3%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate6%
Parent education - high school graduate8%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students93%
Females92%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students55%
Females55%
Males56%
African American35%
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability10%
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state38%

Science

All Students73%
Females73%
Males73%
African American77%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 47%
White 37%
Asian 6%
Black 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/AN/A
English language learners 13%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Shannon McGee
Fax number
  • (408) 264-5512

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2105 Cottle Avenue
San Jose, CA 95125
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 535-6277

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT