Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carlton Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
Thank students for (unknowingly) being part of a great big educational experiment (the Core) that may or may not prepare them for the future and may indeed prove to have been a massive national boondoggle.

Carlton Elementary School 3

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
Im a parent of students there and also a resident who lives nearby. Up until about 1.5 years ago its been a decent school and has always had a close nit parent community. Unfortunately the school jumped in too soon on the recent Common Core changes and the myopic focus on test scores, before the new curriculum and teacher training was really ready. This has led to our children being experimented on with different learning methods and a lot of frustration by Parents who are bearing the brunt of the massive homework overload. Teachers are in constant out-of-class training trying to figure how how to make the Core work. There is also a myopic focus on getting "technology" in to the class room for the sake of looking like they are doing something with it. The lack of honest (or any) communication on this whole effort doesn't help and the Principal, while friendly and caring, seems to be towing the district line, focusing on test scores and positive PR. The high number of full days off and reduced days the kids are not in school needs to be considered by working parents who need to pay for after school child care and have limited flexibility. The home and school club is mainly a fundraising organization and does not look at traditional PTA type issues like education quality and addressing parent concerns, tending to keep it friendly with the administration, which is unfortunate given the financial leverage they have. If they can get a focus back on just letting teachers teach kids full time, 5 days a week in the classroom and doing the job they way they know how, then this will be a great little school once again.


Carlton Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
They try to do this and have some programs around it, however it falls down in the realities of playground and in the teacher/administrator politics of the school, as these types of initiatives normally do.

Carlton Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
That they have to deal with the mess going on with the Common Core roll out I guess in developing grit and persistence. Sure is doing it for the parents!

Carlton Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
Right now the teachers are having to conduct a big experiment on the children to figure out how to teach to the Common Core. They are throwing out new methods daily. I think they should back off the focus on test scores and let the Teachers teach they way they know best.


Carlton Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
WAY too much. I think this is due to their poor implementation of the Common core and the lack of quality curriculum and materials. They are just stuffing the homework folders every week with assignments that sometime aren't even explain in class. And the material are often intelligible to parents. We suspect the Teachers dont like it, but are under orders from the administration.

Carlton Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
Hard to tell. They have programs around it but these are long term behaviors that have to be evaluated later

Carlton Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
They talk about it a lot, but it can break down in individual interactions with administrators. I think the Teachers try hard


Carlton Elementary School 4

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
I've been quite pleased with the quality of the teachers and overall leadership of the school. I have noticed a disconnected in the principal leadership as others have suggested. But what I see as a bigger problem is some very disconnected parenting. People are busy and have jobs, they need to in order to stay in this area, but only a small percentage of parents actually volunteer and contribute to the school. The vast majority rarely set foot on school grounds, dropping their kids at the curb as they race off, ignoring the right turn only sign on the way out as they turn left. While probably not an isolation, the sheer volume of necessary daily goods stacked on the lost and found cart is a sign that some parents just don't care. That worries me. I've also found that while its wonderful that a lot of parents grew up in this area and are long-time friends, there is certainly an atmosphere of exclusivity that wrongly alienates a lot of good people. This cliquey behavior sets a bad precedent for the children who otherwise have no concept of class and superiority. Overall, the locals could be more welcoming to newcomers in the community and all parents could be more involved.

Carlton Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the latest review I was also at the Principal coffee morning and I was very impressed. I really feel she has genuine compassion for the school, it's students and it's teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carlton Elementary School
2421 Carlton Avenue, San Jose, CA  95124-4949
(408) 356-1141
Last modified Carlton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carlton Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top