Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,005 students|Union Elementary
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

As the principal of Union Middle School, I would like to thank the community members who have shared their thoughts within this forum. Union Middle School recently received a 2008 Caring School Climate Award, was recognized as a California Distinguished School in 2009 and also in 2013, was named a National Forum s School To Watch, and selected as a CalSTAT Leadership Site in 2010, 2011 & 2012. Union Middle School is also visited by hundreds of California Educators each year wanting to learn about the great things happening in our classrooms and on our campus. Additionally, our most recent API was recorded at 938, thanks to the great work of our staff, dedication of our community, and the great student scholars attending our school. If you have any questions about Union Middle School, please do not hesitate to contact me. We will be glad to answer your questions and assist you with any and all of your concerns. Go Tigers!
April 18, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Union Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
My child is in 7th grade and I can't say enough great things about this school and community. Where to start? Well, our principal is IN-volved. He's out in front every morning greeting the kiddos at drop off, at dances, always ready to assure parents with a friendly and reassuring smile. He is there at every board meeting and returns texts and emails almost instantly. Seriously the BEST responsiveness ever. Aside from THAT, our technology environment is unparalleled and I feel my child is being given opportunities that he would not otherwise have at a school in a neighboring district. My child's teachers and the staff seem to be truly invested in the children's educational and personal growth. I can't say enough about how much I love this school and that my child is attending.

Union Middle School 3

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
UNION S.D. = THE NEXT CUPERTINO As we've had a very mixed experience with this school - in short, the community's great, the school less so - it's only fair to rate each aspect separately, as follows: Teachers - 3 stars: mostly so-so, with rare exceptions. The worst teacher was forced into retirement, but other stinkers remain. Only one of our child's teachers has been knowledgeable, hardworking and inspiring. Principal - 2 stars: The current UMS principal is the weakest link in the UMS chain. He runs a tight ship on disciplinary matters (good) but is insecure, dismissive toward parents, and confused and even out of touch with reality when it comes to curricular issues and teacher management. Has been a complete failure in managing the roll-out of the new math curriculum ("Common Core"). Clubs & Activities - 5 stars: many dedicated, even heroic people doing good work in these areas. Outstanding sports and music programs. Your kid is lucky if she or he is into sports or band. School atmosphere - 4 stars: much better than expected: no bullying, kids generally well-behaved and hardworking. No complaints. Families & community - 5 stars: Of course, the biggest reason for Union's high API and other scores is none of the above. As with nearly all California public schools, the demographics are what drive student achievement, and here is where Union shines: the area is rapidly changing to include many more high-achieving families of the sort who, 10 years ago, might have bought houses in Cupertino or Saratoga but who are priced out of those markets by today's bubble. In short, Union is another Cupertino: so-so teachers and bumbling principal saved by an ambitious, high-achieving local demographic. All in all, it's worth putting your kid here as bad teachers get pushed out and as the principal, one hopes, finds his bearings and settles into his role.


Union Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Mr Kay and Mrs Stefanko are heroes for creating a first-rate, wide-ranging school band program that serves hundreds of kids, with next to no help. THANK YOU

Union Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Some really awful teachers who, fortunately, are starting to be forced out. Only one really great teacher. Most are so-so.

Union Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Respect for... what, exactly? Not really. For authority? Yes. But for our civilization's great ideas and achievements? Not so much.


Union Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
The school delivers a consistent message, from the principal on down, regarding anti-bullying and treating others with respect. Some bad apples, but they have been swiftly punished.

Union Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
When grading, teachers devote far too much attention to trivial issues or mistakes regarding things like formatting. This confuses the kids and makes them cynical about their teachers and administrators.

Union Middle School 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Union Middle School is an outstanding school. It possesses outstanding teachers, has an administration beyond compare, a Principal actively engaged in making the school that maximizes its students potential, has an active home and school club, and possesses great students, engaged in their own learning, interested in their school, and ready to learn. Struggling students receive outstanding support from the teachers, assistants, staff and administration. My own child, the second to attend UMS and who has struggled with a learning disability since Pre-K, has moved from well below grade level in reading and math to at grade level in just his first year at UMS. He has gone from being afraid that he cannot keep up to knowing that he can. Finally, I have had several opportunities to discuss problems with the current principal. In each instance, I was amazed at the thoughtfulness, helpfulness and genuine concern displayed. I believe that anyone who has something to discuss concerning their child's education, school experience, interpersonal issue or any other problem, will be listened to and taken with the utmost seriousness and sincerity.


Union Middle School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been involved with Union Middle school for six years, and we re looking forward to three more years of education there. We re so thankful for all the hard work the entire staff and Principal put into the school. The Principal makes great connections with the students and they respect and appreciate him. Our family is thankful for the positive impact UMS has had on our children s lives, we re very encouraged they like their Principal and Vice Principal. The staff is a gem and we appreciate all their hard work with the students. We see the Principal, Vice Principal, teaching and administrative staff as stellar community leaders; representing solid character while providing a very strong educational foundation for high school.

Union Middle School 1

Posted May 09, 2015
- a community member
Teachers here are very uninspiring. They aren't there to teach, they're there to supervise. Students are handed an assignment and they figure out how to complete it on their own. As for learned curriculum, students read a printed-out powerpoint or a textbook all by themselves. If they have a question that the teacher can't answer, the teacher shrugs it off and leaves the student to their own resources. Also, I'm going to specifically target the ELA Department. In 6th grade, the way students are taught to write is very rigid, structured, and it doesn't offer any room for creativity and flow. 7th grade - well, they don't teach anything remotely RELATED to English! They observe rotting french fries, party like Victorians, and create videos. But never, ever are they taught to write. And yet they are TESTED on writing skills at the end of each quarter! Overall, I'm shocked at what Union Middle School considers education. It doesn't prepare students for their future, and really, everything students do at school they could do at home, by themselves. I would be very careful if you plan on attending this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Union Middle School
2130 Los Gatos-Almaden Road, San Jose, CA  95124
(408) 371-0366
Last modified Union Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Union Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top