Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carden Academy of Almaden

Private | K-8 | 250 students

Carden Academy: Where confidence and creativity grow.
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $486,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

We are extremely pleased with the transition and progress our child has made from kindergarten at another school to first grade at Carden. His progress in reading has been remarkable. We looked at many other schools before deciding to attend Carden, and we know we made the right choice given the available alternatives in the 95124-95125 area. The curriculum is excellent, our son s teacher is intelligent and communicative, and school management is highly professional and responsive. The afterschool programs are fun, structured and supervised, as opposed to just a bucket of legos (although there s opportunity for that too). It s great to see the children doing good things with their time afterschool. If the foregoing assessment changes for any reason, I will repost on this website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

The school is good in some ways, but the math program (esp. at the middle school) has serious problems. Sixth grade students are forced into pre-algebra, whether they're ready for it or not, and the course didn't move logically. They jumped around and had different topics thrown at them at once and my child got very confused. The 7th grade students do algebra over the course of 2 years. This has caused real problems for my child, who didn't get a good grounding in the basics and we have to send her to a tutor. The approach is rigid in the extreme, to the point where homework problems must be redone even if the answer is correct because a student used a method not approved the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

Since this school has moved to the Dent Ave campus with a new president in Fall 2012, it has become an incredible school with amazing academics. Their entire staff is now strong, caring, university-educated teachers with teaching credentials (some with masters degrees in childhood education). They have done a wonderful job listening to all the feedback and making changes - the graduating class got multiple offers to all the private high schools.


Posted March 14, 2013

I totally disagree with the previous comment. Having experienced both the Californian public school system and Carden this year - Carden comes out way on top. Not only are the academics good, the teachers understand that not all children learn at the same level and can differentiate to the benefit of all the students. My daughter has come on leaps and bounds academically this year. As well as the academics Carden also focuses heavily on the arts, sports and languages. It is a very well rounded curriculum. The pastoral side is also strong and the students know exactly what is expected of them behaviour wise and are taught to be caring individuals. The only shame for me personally is the this type of good education can be found for free in the UK and Europe and possibly other states in America. However with the Californian public system being the way that it is I feel Carden is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

We were very disappointed with the curriculum at Carden. We found that it was well below what our child was receiving at their last public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

My child attends the junior K program and I must say that I am disappointed in the very simple and non-challenging curriculum. I feel that if I moved my child to public school for Kindergarten, he would be behind his peers because of inadequate Kindergarten preparation. My child even complained that all they do is color, color, color. He is doing considerably less challenging and developmental work here, compared to where he was in preschool when he was three years old. I have to supplement alot at home just to keep him on pace with where he was when he entered Carden. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but for the quite pricy tuition, it is not a good value. On a positive note, the administration is great and very responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

The Carden Academy is fantastic in most ways: the teachers are great and respond to emails very quickly. The administration is very, very organized and you're never left guessing about something or feeling uninformed. They did an amazing job with the new campus. The after-school care is flexible and affordable, and the activities are a lot of fun. Most of the academics are outstanding. The only criticism I have is that the French instruction is terrible --- really awful, to the point of being a joke. The kids don't learn any French at all, and the class is really a waste of time as it's taught right now. This is really a shame. I would give the school 5 stars if not for French. After years of lessons, the older kids can't even put a sentence together! Other than the French, it's really an amazing school. The kids do lots of writing and read lots of wonderful books. The drama teacher is wonderful and the kids had a lot of fun with the Christmas show this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

My child attends the Carden Jr. K program. My child loves the teacher and kids at school. Unfortunately, the academics are not there. All they do is color. The work that is sent home is all about coloring. There is no reading or site word learning that goes on. I would expect with the amount of tuition that is paid, we would be getting a higher quality of education. My child should start to add and subtract, learn the site words and start reading. Rather we pay all this tuition to have to supplement the work at home afterschool. I feel that there should be more than just coloring at the Jr. K level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

We fell in love with the idea of the Carden method and enrolled our son. While we had good relationships with our teachers, we began to discover some serious cracks in the system. Our biggest disappointment was finding that the teacher withheld lessons to some students based on their group at the teaching table, rather than using the group model to provide either additional support or more challenging tasks as the group level required. This meant by the end of they year, all of the children had not received the same base exposure to information. In our case, that meant that our son wasn't challenged to stretch and do more. He was allowed to just float along with his group. We're not even sure his teacher realized his level of reading fluency. Also, while "no homework until the middle of first grade" sounds heaven sent, it makes it very, very hard to get a handle on what your younger student is doing beyond coloring. The administration are nice people, but they lack a strategic plan you would expect to be in place after 30+ years in business. The school is not accredited and the teachers are not required to hold a credential beyond certification in the Carden Method.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

My Son really loves this school. The carden method of teaching has really benefitted him for which we decided to send him there. They truly identify the individual capability of the kids in different arenas and challenge them accordingly to their fullest without pressure. The staff and teachers are very polite and helpful. The students and teachers are like a big Carden family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

My daughter really loves this school ,and she is so passionate about this school that the thought of changing the school upsets her.The environment of the school is very good, and the children are really nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

The environment of the school is very good, and my child is extremely passionate about her school.The principal and vice-principal are very experienced, kind people.Though the school has amazing language arts curriculum and the excellent Carden method of teaching which is our primary reason for choosing this school, unfortunately some teachers do not focus on language arts at all and the quality of teaching in their classroom is very poor.There is wide difference among the teachers in this school with respect to the quality of teaching. In a nutshell, to get benefited from this curriculum one has to be in the right class room.If one is lucky enough to be with a good teacher, this is a very good school otherwise it is very frustrating for the student as well as for the parents especially the ones who are expecting Carden's enriched language program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

As in every school, this school has good teachers and bad teachers. Typically, one can tide over teachers that are not ideal. But not here. The preschool years with good teachers were smooth sailing and happy. The year with the strict teachers (at preschool level) were terrible. I saw every child gradually lose their spirit, their childish innocence, replaced by an adherence for discipline without joy. The school's leadership is so steeped in old school philosophies, that they refuse to change and allow growth even as times have changed in the last 30 years since the schools inception. Academically, this school is weaker than public schools. Even in Kindergarten, they learn by coloring papers all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

Carden is a great school for my children, who both feel valued and at home there. They beg us not to change schools. The academics are fine but it is the community feel and the strong values and understanding of proper behavior that rounds out the school in the nicest way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

I am a parent of a child who did attend Challenger and is now at Carden. I can tell you first hand that this school is NOTHING like Challenger. Thank Goodness. I had to move my child in the middle of the school year because things got real bad at Challenger. Classes were consolidated because of loss of monthly revenue from students departure. At Carden I have found that parents' concerns are always welcome. Constructive suggestions are often heard by the administrative staff. At Challenger, as parents, you DO NOT have a voice. You can try and risk the possibility of expulsion from the school. Ask the parents of the Harwood campus. The Take-It- Or-Leave-It attitude is very obvious. I was told Stratford is run very much like Challenger---Corporate runs the show.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Carden Academy of Santa Clara is a great school! Both my kids wish they could go to school everyday! The teachers are caring and there is a balance of academics and activities. The kids are learning a second language from as early as preschool. They get a blend of music, computers and art! I have never been to Challenger and would never even consider it, but I have to disagree with the reviewer who stated that Carden is like Challenger. I have heard about Challenger and it seems like it produces robots.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

Carden Academy is the best school!!! Not only is it using the Carden curriculum but it also offers all the perks : physical education, computer, art... Why wouldn't you send your child to the best Carden school in the area!!! The campus is great! The teachers and administration are very receptive to the needs of the individual child. Quite a find!! My children are happy to go to school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

Carden Academy is honestly one of the best private schools in the South Bay. My daughter has been at a good public school and at Carden and I have to say, that Carden has got a very well-balanced, intellectually-stimulating and enriching curriculum. The school also offers a lot of field trips that supplement the learning process. The teachers are excellent and take a lot of effort to teach the children. There is also a lot of emphasis on good behavior. They do educate the 'whole' child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

Carden Academy of Santa Clara has been an excellent school to me. I recently graduated, getting accepted into one of the best high schools around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2009

I am extremely disappointed. Carden Academy does not meet our expectations. We escaped to Carden Academy from Challenger but now realize that both are very similar. Primarily, both follow old school academic philosophies and structure. The 'whole child' is not represented and I believe it's the teachers and curriculum. I chose the wrong Carden.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Synopsis (2012)
  • FLL Robotics (2012)
  • Synopsis (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 7:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • William Ries, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (408) 244-0684

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Carden Method
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Life is a joy. And at Carden Academy, we believe that learning should be a joy as well. By combining a thoughtful, contemporary approach to student learning with traditional values of education we help nurture confident, accomplished children who are ready to take on the challenges and opportunities of life.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$13000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bellarmine
Saint Francis High School
Presentation High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5200 Dent Ave
San Jose, CA 95118
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 265-3392

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT