Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Victor School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $449,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2014

At St. Victor's middle school level, academics are low. The only reason you come this the middle school is for its great math program. The two math teachers are really good and make sure each student understand the materials. I scored above the 95th percentile in math for the HSPT because of these teachers. The english program lacks. The english program doesn't prepare you for standardized tests. Important things like punctuation and usage are not really taught at all. Punctuation and usage are main parts to standardized tests. I scored average on the language program of the HSPT because usage and punctuation are not emphasized in this program. The English program is to basic, just learning about nouns, adjectives, verbs, and adverbs. Literature is short stories with book quizzes. Students won't learn a lot of vocabulary. In science, students learn a lot if they don't stall the class, pretending to be confused. The science teacher assigns homework people don't do so extra classes are need to explain the lesson. Because of this, students are lucky to go past chapter 8 out 0f 14. In Social Studies, students learn a lot but the tests are too easy. Not normal school.


Posted August 29, 2013

Academic is low, especially in science and technology. Parents are required to contribute 40 hours volunteer hours in various mundane activities that do not have constructive impact on the students but only benefiting the school financially. The after school program is extremely lacking. Students are not supervised during the homework session, and often come home with the entire set of homework unfinished. There isn't any extracurricular activity offered as part of the after school program, and it charges $6/hr plus a $7/MINUTE penalty fee for late pickup. Although this school is eligible to participate in the National School Lunch Program offered by the Department of Education, they would rather have a hot lunch program run by parents where they only serve unhealthy fast food from Mc Donalds, Taco Bell, etc. There is no cafeteria, and no microwave for heating up lunch from home. We find that this school mainly focuses on making profits but not on the health, the well-being, and the success of the students. School is not gated, and anyone can be on campus during school hour. Under the poor leadership of the school principal, this school has been a great disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

This school is run very well. Academics are high. The parents and children are very friendly. My child loves it here. There are quite a few extracurriculars. I would highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2007

My child is a new student here and she loves it. The children are friendly and so are the parents. They have so much to offer here. The teachers really care about their students and there is a great school spirit. Class size does not seem to be a problem as she is progressing right on target for her age and grade. A great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

I have to say, the library and Physical Education programs are fantastic! The parents there are great too, but the acedemics are much to low.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2007

OK education but lacking in scholastic endeavors. Structure is rigid and the principal and staff appear to be extremely resistant to improving academics or opening new programs. School policy is clearly defined and suffers from an autocratic leadership and a lack of effect analysis. Policies can be arbitrary and change from day to day. If your child may need extra attention or academic help, this is not the right environment. Parents are required to participate 40 hours a year in addition to yard duty, work party and additional fees. Class size in all grades is 36, with the exception of kinder, 30. Some faculty suffer from lack of experience and/or may be a parent. In general, academic and student management systems are much less developed than in competing public schools, and input regarding improvement is not encouraged. Great emphasis is put on Music, art and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2006

By sending our two children to Saint Victor School is far one of the best decisions my wife and myself have made in our life. My daughter who attended SVS just graudated college last week in Southern California and my son who will be Sophomore in college this coming fall. The knowledge and perseverance they received from SVS is now their important tool that will make them successful in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

I have two kids who started at Saint Victor School since kindergarten and they are now in six and seven grades. SVS is a school where kids come first. The teachers work hard to bring out the best in each child. SVS is known to other schools for its academic performance and discipline the students have. Respect for each and discipline is very important. The principal and most teachers know each and every student by name. SVS is also engcoraging each and every student to participate in extra curricular activities. Teachers are giving up their time to teach seven grade in accelerated math and eighth grade in algebra to deserving students. The principal is in charge of the Honor Choir who have made a CD because of their outstanding performance. Thank you SVS for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 81%
Two or more races 12%
Asian 4%
White 2%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3150 Sierra Road
San Jose, CA 95132
Phone: (408) 251-1740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Berryessa Academy
San Jose, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT