Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
260 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Patrick Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
for My Deep personal experienced, This School is a Great school that I ever seen in the San Jose Community. This is small school from TK-8Grade. It located downtow San Jose. Each classroom had around 25-30 students. Three reasons, I love this school is because it was like a family, everyone cares, share, and take care each other. I love how school teach students behavior as respectful, listening, and following the direction. Especially, teach students how to disciple. For me, these charactersitics are so important for their live. When student growing up, they need these basic fundentanteal to be sucess. Once again, thank you so much for your dedication from Ms. Olga and Sister Mary whom guide the school in the right direction. Secondly, about Education, Each teach has schedules and agenda, every house, do rotation, and felexiable, Teachers and students works so hard in classroom. Teachers are very orientation, and well repair for classroom. They have homework veryday. I love their program and specially, every quater each student has to take exams call MAP test(Included, Reading, Math on computer) the goal is to assesment each students to check their levels. If your son good or bad on the subject, you are invite to see teacher one on one meeting for your son or your daughter improvement, suggestion, and inputs from parents with teachers. because, Teachers also need parents help to follow the kids and guide them in the right direction. that why, school required parents involve volunteer work at school for 40 hours services. The goals are to help parents and students communitate with each other. the last point I want to make is a safe place to let your kid stay in school. A school located in Down town San Jose, it is very secure by all parents involve in volunteer. If students late 5 minutes, you need to go to office to get a ticket in order to go to class. after 8 am, they close all the gated by volunteer parents.

St. Patrick Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
I am glad to choose this school for my son. This school has strong ecadamic, spirital.


St. Patrick Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
I am so happy that I chose this school for my kids. Thanks Ms. Olga Islas, Sister Mary and other Staffs, special TK teacher, Ms Lupe for your dedication in Education. In this school,my son is not only learing ecadamic, but he is also learning behavior, maner.

St. Patrick Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
I love the school, and my son loves it as well. I think that they have really good leaders, who care for children's well being and integral education. Ms. Olga Islas and Sister Mary are great administrators and care for students as well as for parent involvement. Yes, fundraising and participation are really encouraged and required. This makes tuition more affordable, so it makes sense.

St. Patrick Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a community member
I would never recommend this school to anyone, not even my worst enemies. NEVER GO TO THIS SCHOOL.


St. Patrick Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2014
- a community member
And I have heard that now volunteers must go through a whole training session to volunteer at the school. STP is going to lose volunteers because the training session is repetitive and useless. If students were to finish community service hours, DO NOT do it at STP when you can go to another school another school and just sign your name to volunteer. This all started because the church burnt down and now the crazy catholic freak principal lost all trust in humanity. The church should not have burned down. The school should have burned down.

St. Patrick Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
The principal at this school is a BULLY! Yes this is a suppose to be a Bully Free Zone however don't let the evil laugh from the woman of god fool you. The ratings for this school have plumaged in the last 3 years due to the new principal. There's obviously a problem if she has had to attend Anger Management courses because of her actions with a STUDENT! That should have been red flag number 1! The school is funded 100% by a charity and she still forces a set limit for donations and fund raising on families. If your child can not give money then they will not be able to participate in certain activities that cost the school nothing! This woman will tell you what your going to do rather then work with you. She has no experience working with children other then her short teaching career. This woman is not strict she is mean, evil and a straight out bullying. You can not go around yelling at children and putting your hands on children. NO EXCUSES! When you think of a private school you think of great education, reflection and learning about religion. My child comes home everyday asking me why that school. My child is to stay out of the way of Olga!! The school will go under

St. Patrick Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Love it My kids have been attending this school since k. Interesting how parents complaint. These are the kind of parents who think their kids deserve royal treatment. New Principal cares about the students and I just love the fact that discipline is implemented. They come here to study not to chillax, so yes expect homework. I am so happy my kids come here. Now each kid will have an ipad and textbooks will be digitalized. And on top of all this: catholic values. What else can you ask for?


St. Patrick Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
I'm extremely disappointed in the direction and and school culture of St Patrick. It was a happy little school when my child was in primary grade. However, with the changes of administration it was been horrible to see and hear the stories that not only do I hear from my child but from dissatisfied parents as well. Homework in the junior high is excessive to say the least especially from the 8th grade language arts teacher who doesn't seem approachable to talk to. The administration offers a mornings with a the school counselor to help parents cope with issues that might arise with their children. These meetings are called "Mornings with A****a". Their well intended but there is a bigger issue when school personnel don't know how to speak to children with respect and consideration. I recommend the staff start participating with their own session to refresh them about their roles as teachers. Advocate for your student, make time to listen to them, don't just assume, don't put them on the spot or embarras a student in front of their peers. Always talk to a student as if their parents are standing right behind them.

St. Patrick Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the 1 star reviews. Anything before 2011-12 was good because it had a different principal. Now it's a horrible place for learning. Administration is clueless about academic needs of students. Junior high teachers are horrible. I'm all for academic challenges but their expectations are way too high with little or no support. Parent communication is non existent. Teachers will not communicate issues with you unless you are aware of them yourself and proceed to talk to them personally. I pulled my child out and she is another person at her new school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Patrick Elementary School
51 North 9th Street, San Jose, CA  95112
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (408) 283-5858
Last modified St. Patrick Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top