Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
305 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a community member
We recently moved to the Rose Garden Neighborhood after having lived in Los Gatos and Saratoga since my husband and I were children. Our daughter attended elementary schools in both towns and we were quite pleased with the level of academics, however, we longed for a more "whole child" experience for out daughter. We began looking into the Catholic schools in our neighborhood and then started asking our Catholic friends from Los Gatos and Saratoga, who were very familiar with the Catholic schools in the Diocese, for recommendations. They unanimously told us that our daughter should attend St. Leo's because of it's outstanding reputation that reached beyond it's boundaries. When we toured the school, we found it to be warm and inviting. The girls in my daughter's class reached out to her before school even began and encouraged her to join the volleyball team. We are delighted at how respectful, age appropriate, and well mannered all of the children are. Overall, it was refreshing to find a demeanor of innocence in these middle schoolers. My daughter has been the beneficiary of the "whole child" approach and it has grown her in ways that could not have happened at the other schools. She especially loves that faith, confidence and leadership are three of the elements that are encouraged. This year (8th grade) she has chosen coding as her elective. St. Leo's is a breath of fresh air and it is a humble yet academically challenging school. It has a diverse population and grants a healthy number of scholarships to deserving families. It is a school that community minded parents and Silicon Valley leaders are enthusiastically drawn to. Of the graduating class of 2015, 100% of St. Leo's 8th grade students were accepted into the private high schools of their choice. It's a very exciting time at the school. The principal, Mrs. Cosentino, is an outstanding visionary. She is passionate about children and works tirelessly to make St. Leo's the best it can be. A STEM lab will be making it's debut soon, the first school in the Diocese to get one, and leading edge technology solutions is a high priority with this administration. My only complaint is that we don't have more years to enjoy this wonderful school. we will continue supporting St. Leo's as alumni for many years to come. We whole heartedly recommend St. Leo the Great School.

St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
What a relief to find a warm & welcoming community like St. Leo's! We grew up in the Midwest with parents for public school teachers, so we really wanted to try to make the public schools here work, but too many horror stories from our neighborhood parents meant it had to be private for us. We visited numerous schools (eight in all), but none compared to St. Leo s. My son just started the Pre-K and in the short amount of time he has been there we have already seen a huge growth in his language development, socialization & overall knowledge. Yes, the uniforms and rules can be a little overwhelming at first, but everything is there for a reason & the staff is so helpful to new parents starting out. Plus, the community of involved parents is second to none- unlike other places where volunteering is a chore you really feel like people WANT to be there. We are so happy we made the decision to go to St. Leo's & look forward to many more years of learning & growing in this exceptional community.


St. Leo the Great School 1

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
Why is the teacher review full of incomplete sentences? Quality of teaching...learning by example....My experience as a divorced parent that did not chose this school is one of shutting out. Previous teachers were never contacted. Teachers were not co-operative in helping my child get help. (3 D's and an F and "he's doing fine" per the administration and teachers) My child was held back a grade, never before a problem. But the teachers were unaware my child was repeating the grade they were teaching. I have learned to lower my expectations. When I asked for financial aid I was given outdated paperwork, kind of like the school. Has anyone of significance ever graduated from there? Belt checks, rote memorization of prayers without meaning (pretty funny when my child could say the school prayer in Spanish, but only knew the sounds and couldn't differentiate one word from another). Save your money and go public! Just be involved. Don't be a fake!

St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
St. Leo's is an excellent school because of its diverse community, brilliant education system and understanding staff. This co-ed school not educates it's students but fully engulfs them in an exciting life as a young Catholic. It's diverse community provides excellent preparation for highschool and beyond. Last but not least St. Leo's understanding and compassionate staff is willing to help any struggling student to make a better world.

St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school in our San Jose community! I have had two daughters attend and graduate from St. Leo's who are more than wonderful students academically and socially. I have found the staff and administration staff extremely friendly over the years, helpful, and always make the children priority.


St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
St Leo the Great School is undergoing a transformation. The "new" principal has been there several years and the school has embraced technology better than most of the other schools we've visited. Gone is the computer lab on the 2nd floor, and now kids have access to their computers in their classroom. Kindergarten has tablets where they learn their small motor skills. Elementary kids all have Google Chrome Books and parents can have access to all their work and grades online from the web. The middle school kids are actually issued laptop bags and take them from class to class. There are 4 main buildings. The Parish. The gym, which was recently remodeled. The main school, which is getting new windows and maybe even AC. The school is a 2 story building with the lower grades downstairs and 4th-8th upstairs. The 4th building is the old convent at the corner of the lot. It is used as a math room (chapel), the science lab (upstairs bedrooms) and the extended after school care and homework club (patio and kitchen). PreK-8th 270 students $7.5k Tuition

St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
I had two of my girls go to St Leos for 9 years each. I love the fact that the girls went from year to year with the same group of kids. They were like an extended family. Both girls had their pick of any of the high schools they wanted to attend. If you want a small group, family type education for your child, this is the school.

St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted September 30, 2012
- a parent
We are happy to be at St Leos! The families were very welcoming. The teachers are wonderful role models. They are unique because they have more male teachers than any of the other schools we looked at (4th grade, 6th grade, science, 2 math, athletic director, IT tech guy and a vice principal who also teaches). Mrs Moody gives a solid Catholic religious footing. The principal Marie Bordeleau isn't a control freak. She hires top notch staff, works hard to support them and is quick to get rid of under performers. She communicates with parents twice a week in her newsletters. The school uses 1:1 Google Chromebooks and has an amazing technology program that has kids using the latest tech tools to pull together their projects. Your kid can login from home and have access to all his classwork. Group collaboration work is the norm. Lindsay Hilliard is the Spanish teacher who also coordinates one of the best after school enrichment programs: chess, writing, theatre, odyssey of the mind, robotics, etc. The kids are very active. On watching how the kids interact they are very kind to one another and polite to parents. The student body is diverse and reflects Silicon Valley.


St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted November 16, 2011
- a teacher
I am so proud to be part of the St. Leo Community - it provides an incredible education with high standards and well develop technology program, and holds students to high behavioral expectations. I joined the school community in 2009 and have never regretted it. . . .the students, families and teachers are welcoming, dedicated, talented, and make each other better people. It is so great to see a wide variety of opportunities for the kids - from sports to band, drama, art, creative writing and so much more . . .the school is warm, welcoming, well organized, maintains high standards and prepares the kids for high school. It is just amazing!

St. Leo the Great School 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
We have been at St. Leo's for 3 years. We came in during the administration change and we have been quite happy with the new administration. The principal is youthful, innovative, and is always thinking of the "big picture" for the school community. She has helped create a wonderful foundation for the school. Some families have had difficulty with some of the changes, as the status quo has been disrupted, but the changes are positive ones. The school has finally started utilizing technology in the way it is meant to be used, which has been so helpful to the children for learning purposes. The new website and communication via web with parents and students is fantastic. The only thing that we struggle with is that the Church itself is a little more on the conservative side than most other Catholic churches in the area.

Nearby schools

St. Leo the Great School
1051 West San Fernando Street, San Jose, CA  95126
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (408) 293-4846
Last modified St. Leo the Great School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top