Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Christopher Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2013
- a parent
Schools, like a lot of things are all about fit..I have two children at St. Chris in K and 4th grades and they both have had great experiences and are learning and growing as people. There is a strong community around the school and lots of parent involvement which is something we really wanted in a school. But I also understand that St. Chris is not for everyone. If you want to send your child to school and rely on on the school to handle everything with respect to education, you'll probably not be happy here. St. Chris requires some parent involvement to get the most out of the experience. If your child has special needs this is probably not the best school for them. Unfortunately, not all schools are set up to handle special needs children. By the same token if your child is a prodigy that will be graduating from MIT at 12 years of age, this is also probably not the best school for them. But if you are looking for a great school, with caring teachers, a community of involved parents where your children can get a great education, you should check it out and see if it's a good fit for you and your child. It's been a 5 star experience for us.

St. Christopher Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
To the review posted on 1.24.13... I am a parent of a 1st grader, whose child went to Hillbrook for Kindergarten and I can't agree with your review of St. Chris's at all. At Hillbrook, the kids were not well behaved and academics were subpar. I am still trying to correct the KidSpell techniques they taught my daughter. The social dynamics at St. Chris are varied, as they should be. The Principal has always been very supportive and responsive to our needs and concerns. The majority of kids who live in Willow Glen, I think, do go to a Private School. A couple decades ago, they bused kids in and the neighborhood didn't react well to it. Now the schools are getting better, due primarily to the Willow Glen Foundation, but unfortunately those kids are now grown and are now sending their kids to private schools. Now for Lincoln Avenue... Our Avenue and Community is wonderful! The new restaurants bring a new Joie d'Vivre to Willow Glen and there is always a ton of foot traffic. and, Let's not forget, Willow Glen is part of San Jose - we are not our own little city, like Los Gatos. Read up on the history of Willow Glen, before writing a post.


St. Christopher Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2012
- a parent
This school is unsatisfactory and the principal has declined over the years. i am very saddened by the quality of this school.

St. Christopher Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2012
- a community member
The teachers at St.Christopher are amazing. Every teacher is credentialed, hardworking, dedicated and passionate. An added bonus is the St. Chris community of teachers, parents and students. St. Chris graduates who graduated from high school this year will be attending MIT and Stanford, plus many other amazing colleges in the fall.

St. Christopher Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2011
- a parent
Teachers are not top quality, in fact this school has been known to hire teachers without a teaching credential in past years.


St. Christopher Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2011
- a parent
My son is a graduate of St. Christopher School and I couldn't be happier about the education he received there. The administration and teachers are knowledgable, compassionate, and experienced. The school community offers a variety of ways to become involved in the life of the school and to allow your voice to be heard. If I had it to do over again, I would choose St. Christopher in a heartbeat!

St. Christopher Elementary School 3

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
Things are going downhill. Good teachers continue to leave the school, leaving behind an atmosphere of discontent and discouragement. It's a shame...

St. Christopher Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
be careful before you enroll your child into this school. if your child does not fit into the 'box' they do not have the talent to help your child.


St. Christopher Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
I think it does a wonderful job of instilling a love of learning in its pupils as well as a sense of caring about the larger community.

St. Christopher Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Christopher Elementary School
2278 Booksin Avenue, San Jose, CA  95125
(408) 723-7223
Last modified St. Christopher Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Christopher Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top