Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Notre Dame High School San Jose

Private | 9-12 | 628 students

Notre Dame has provided excellence in women's education for over 160 years.

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $320,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,460.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2014

The greatest school ever!!! It is my home away from home. I am only a sophomore and am already dreading having to leave. Everyone is friendly, helpful and I feel like I am the getting the best education possible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2012

It is an amazing school that helps you develop leadership skis and there isn't any peer pressure.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2010

I've just finished up my junior year at ND, and I love it. The academics, of course, are great. Our humanities departments are particularly strong. The multitude of clubs offered is also one of ND's strengths. But hat sets ND apart from the other private schools in the area is the sense of tolerance that the school practices. We're easily the most diverse of the Catholic schools- ethnically, religiously, financially... It sounds cheesy, but Notre Dame really does 'teach us what we need to know for life'. ND strives to empower and motivate young girls. From the Facing History program, to the abundance of guest speakers, to the brilliant immersion trips, I feel like I've developed a global conscious annd a passion for service and justice at ND. Oh, and the location in downtown San Jose is amazing! The 'city as a classroom' admissions pull is not an exaggeration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2009

My daughter thrived at ND. It provides an admirable education setting that instills a culture of students being exceptionally supportive of one another. ND provides an inspired college preparatory program for young women in Silicon Valley, through a global outlook that integrates classroom learning with a commitment to service. ND is culturally as well as economically diverse, a valuable attribute that increases the reach of the learning experience. ND engages young women around issues of a global society and seeks to equip them to succeed and contribute to the communities they will touch with their lives. Students at ND also become part of a history that dates to the school's founding in 1851.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

School has everything a student needs with an inexpensive cost.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2007

This coming year, I am going to be a sophomore at ND. It's a wonderful school, that has many great teachers and fun classes. I have had such a great experience here, and I have made tons of friends and learned a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2007

I went there for freshman year.When i first heard that I was accepted,I was beyond excited. it seemed like the perfect school.However, as the year progressed,I started to like it less and less. there arnt that many AP classes to chose from compared to public schools.At first glance, it might seem as if everyone is very close knit and there arnt any cliques or annimosity between the girls. In reality, there is just as much as any other school. If not more because it is all girls. That spells drama-drama-drama. I transfered out sophomore year, as did nearly 1/2 of my class. I was happier in a large public school. I saw no difference in the quality of education. It all depends on the individual teachers and the individual student. Dont waste your money. Going to ND does NOT guarantee your child to a brighter future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 27, 2006

Strong academics, qualified teachers, competitive sports, community service, all under the spiritual umbrella of love and giving of ones' time and talents for the benefit of all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

Notre Dame High School provides an excellent college prep program for girls. Most of the teachers, and maybe all of them have at least a Master's Degree in their subject; some have PhD. My daughter graduated in 2006 and my younger daughter will be attending in 2008 and will graduate in 2012. You won't find a better school and I recommend this school to any girl who wants to reach college and probably have most of her Freshman college credits complete. You can't ask for more in a school. It has a 99.8% rate of grads who attend college. The teachers are wonderful and there is a parent website for homework and grades. If you send an email to a teacher, you will receive a response within 24 hours. My daughter loved the atmosphere and notes that there aren't any of the common 'clicks' or groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

I has been our distinct pleasure to sent our daughter to NDHS. With the quality of expertise in all areas of courses being taught by the teachers and staff at your school, my daughter was able to use them as a tool successfully. She graduated this year in Southern California with dual Degree. Thank you for continuing to teach and guiding our children to the right path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

Great school to prepare you for college because it works like one. Its a very tight knit school where you can feel comfortable being yourself. Sports and clubs could be better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 28, 2005

Academically, fairly strong. Notre Dame provides myriad opportunities to combine academics with practical learning through internship programs with downtown organizations. Classes encourage critical thinking.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 10, 2005

Since we have our daughters at NDHS, we have seen a clear improvement in their academics (comparing to EVHS). The teachers are very responsive, always ready to help parents and easy to contact and make appointments. My wife and I feel far more satisfied and believe now that our daughter will be able to attend a UC college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

I agree that at the begining of the year my impression of ND was wonderful. I couldn't ask for anything better, but as the year progressed I found that I was slipping academically. Now I am not blaming that on the school but I feel that the teachers could be a little more involved and I got the impression that the teachers I have don't really want to be there. To me teaching is a wonderful position and if you don't have a passion for it then your students might not be very involved in the learning process. Just an idea for the new teachers who are not aquainted with the ND teaching process. Other than that and the fact that some girls can be quite rude and hurtful Notre Dame is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2003

My daughter just graduated in June 2003. She graduated from a top academic school that helped her to attain her goals and grow as a person. I hope to send my youngest daughter there next year. Thank you Notre Dame!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter appreciated the education she had received from the Sisters of Notre Dame Damur. She was academically & socially prepared for college life. She loved the competitive spirit of the Notre Dame girls and the sense of belonging and acceptance within the community. The educators were great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Extremely sports oriented, not conducive toward developing students desiring to be involved in other activities besides sports. Above average academic opportunities and cultural diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Notre Dame was a great experience in my life, full of fun, laughter, hard work, and service to others. I learned so much not only scholastically but spiritually as well. In the environment of all-girls I felt free to be who I truly am without any apprehension and that is so important for all high school students as they mature.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 37% 11%
Hispanic 22% 52%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UCLA
UC Berkeley
New York University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Summer Immersion trips: Spanish & French
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mary Beth Riley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Summer Immersion trips: Spanish & French
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Jose
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Debate
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Forensics club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 22, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$15000 - $16000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UCLA
UC Berkeley
New York University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 1%
4 year college - 99%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

596 South Second Street
San Jose, CA 95112
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 294-1113

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT