Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
628 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Notre Dame High School San Jose 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
The teachers are very willing to help even after school if possible. The overall atmosphere is great. There have been so many times where the we get to talk on a personal level to our classmates comfortably. There are laughs. There is empathy. There is love. There are tears. Compassion. Enthusiasm. The list goes on. I couldn't have wished for a better high school experience.

Notre Dame High School San Jose
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
My counselor, all of my teachers, Mrs. Bobst, Sister Carol, and I think just everyone.


Notre Dame High School San Jose
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
I feel like any HW is too much! But honestly, it isn't that bd but it isn't the amount where I only spend an hour a day. It really depends on the classes you pick.

Notre Dame High School San Jose
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
YES! The religious classes really help you through hard times. I'm really loving PSJ rn. I have never felt closer to my fellow classmates.

Notre Dame High School San Jose
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
Counselors, teachers, and any of the staff really respect the students. I have never been disrespected and I thoroughly enjoyed my three years here so far even though I came not knowing many people.


Notre Dame High School San Jose
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
ND teaches us that compassion and empathy are important things to have. Caring is one of millions of other similar acts that fall under these two.

Notre Dame High School San Jose
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a student
NDSJ helps the student really understand the good and bad things in life. We learn of compassion, little acts of kindness, the difference between sympathy and empathy, and we learn about corruptness. All the teachers I have encountered have helped me develop honesty, integrity, and fairness. Of course there are those that aren't these things, but I know it's because of something else.

Notre Dame High School San Jose 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a student
The greatest school ever!!! It is my home away from home. I am only a sophomore and am already dreading having to leave. Everyone is friendly, helpful and I feel like I am the getting the best education possible.


Notre Dame High School San Jose 5

Posted June 14, 2012
- a student
It is an amazing school that helps you develop leadership skis and there isn't any peer pressure.

Notre Dame High School San Jose 5

Posted May 28, 2010
- a student
I've just finished up my junior year at ND, and I love it. The academics, of course, are great. Our humanities departments are particularly strong. The multitude of clubs offered is also one of ND's strengths. But hat sets ND apart from the other private schools in the area is the sense of tolerance that the school practices. We're easily the most diverse of the Catholic schools- ethnically, religiously, financially... It sounds cheesy, but Notre Dame really does 'teach us what we need to know for life'. ND strives to empower and motivate young girls. From the Facing History program, to the abundance of guest speakers, to the brilliant immersion trips, I feel like I've developed a global conscious annd a passion for service and justice at ND. Oh, and the location in downtown San Jose is amazing! The 'city as a classroom' admissions pull is not an exaggeration.

Nearby schools

Notre Dame High School San Jose
596 South Second Street, San Jose, CA  95112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (408) 294-1113
Last modified Notre Dame High School San Jose is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top