Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 1,640

5 stars
Based on 47 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bellarmine College Preparatory School 1

Posted September 22, 2014
- a community member
While the school has great programs I give a 1-star rating because I believe they should admit young women--as one of the best high schools in the bay area I think they are now obligated to admit young women. While I understand the merits of single-sex education it doesn't seem very 'modern', though it may be 'traditional'. I think parents should organize to fight for a change if only for the students, because having a co-ed education will prepare them much better for the modern workforce.

Bellarmine College Preparatory School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a student
Best school around. I also attended Harker through 8th grade (excellent) but Bellarmine produces well rounded men. Excellent athletics, speech and debate program, academics, and caring teachers. Students get along very well with each other and are very proud of the success of all programs. "Man for others" is the motto and BCP does a great job preparing "boys" into becoming "men". All of my friends have become very successful in their life (i.e. marriage, work, etc)


Bellarmine College Preparatory School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
One of the best schools in California. Definitely best in the bay area. School has quality diverse students from all walks on life attending (through financial scholarships), not just wealthy people who live in particular zip code. Good preparation for actual college life, except no women, which they will probably have to change at some point.

Bellarmine College Preparatory School 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
This is a perfect high school for students having potentials and perfering challenging. From LinkedIn statistics, Harker, Bellarmine and some other excellent schools such as Lynbrook occupied half number students entering top private schools at graduations. Bellarmin has also more percentage at lawyer and financial area.

Bellarmine College Preparatory School 1

Posted October 21, 2012
- a student
Unfortunately, I didn't exactly fit in with the GO BELLS! attitude that one is commonly subjected to. I also don't think the all boys atmosphere is that great as it isn't a realistic representation of "real life."


Bellarmine College Preparatory School 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
Bellarmine is not a high school, it is a college prep. Bellarmine prepares all young men for their future not just academically but spiritually. They gave the young men a foundation to success in the challenging world. I remember last year we bumped into a Bell alumni, he is still in UCLA, telling us that one of the classes in UCLA was very easy as the materials and teaching lessons are the same as the class he took in Bellarmine. Forgot to mention more than 50% of their buildings were built in the last few years, a new gym and theatre, etc. a very nice campus. Go Bell!
1 person found this helpful

Bellarmine College Preparatory School 5

Posted July 07, 2011
- a student
Literally every teacher that I had this past year was beyond helpful and seriously engaged me into all of my material. Not only did they explain everything amazingly, but they made all of the work seem very interesting. Even subjects that I normally would despise, such as biology, suddenly became amusing and fun to learn due to how the teachers presented the material. Not to mention, the facilities at this school are continually growing and the students have a great opportunity to work in state of the ark classrooms. Also, the equipment being used for certain classes is PROFESSIONAL GRADE. For example, my Graphic Design class allowed me to use $4,000 macs, an acoustically-sound green screen room, industrial grade lighting, and the newest CS5 software (for illustrator and photoshop). Surprising as this may sound, the social life at this school is the best in the world! Being with your guy friends all day long makes it so you can truly be yourself, clown around, grow a strong bond between them, and not worry about impressing girls. Also, EVERY SINGLE sports team at Bell is top notch, and we also boast over 100 clubs that range from the Filipino Student Union to Guitar Club.

Bellarmine College Preparatory School 5

Posted March 16, 2011
- a parent
Phenomenal school! My oldest graduated from here and my 2nd is a Sophomore. They develop young men to be capable, responsible, worldly, compassionate human beings. They emphasize leadership and the graduates basically populate the who's-who list of Silicon Valley business and government leaders. The school excels in every endeavor.. Academics are outstanding and require focus and effort to keep up to the bar. Sports are also stellar--and they get there by developing the student, not just by admitting star athletes. Extra curricular activities are a requirement. There are groups and activities for all interests from sports to music to debate to theatre to robotics. The school trains the whole individual, not just academics or sports. When your son goes to Bellarmine, he is joining a fraternal order--all Bellarmine boys have a shared experience and they are truly a cut above the others. When you meet a Bellarmine boy, you remember it. The community (think "family") is amazing as well. Our family went through an extremely difficult time and the school staff and the parents org's were truly wonderful, helping us along with every kind of support.. I am deeply grateful.


Bellarmine College Preparatory School 5

Posted December 31, 2010
- a parent
Bellarmine is a school that gives young men the opportunity to change the way that us old folk live.

Bellarmine College Preparatory School 5

Posted January 23, 2010
- a student
This is a great school with awesome teachers and students. There is a special brotherhood that will last forever with the students here.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bellarmine College Preparatory School
960 West Hedding Street, San Jose, CA  95126
(408) 294-9224
Last modified Bellarmine College Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Bellarmine College Preparatory School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top