Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Milpitas Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 386 students

Our school is best known for our outstanding academic teaching and learning.

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $449,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2008

This school offers a good academic foundation and stresses moral character development. The teachers are dedicated and kind. The school offers academic suppliment for those who need it and onsite counseling for those who need it. The daycare is very high quality and there are wonderful after-school activities. The regular elementary program includes PE, music and computers. Band is also optional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Our family has been with MCS for the past 12 years. On the whole, our kids love MCS, and they've enjoyed a great relationship with the teachers and staff. Academically speaking, MCS is for the average student. The Middle school program is not on par with other schools and does not offer foreign languages (only after school for extra $$). There are no AP prep classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

This school consistently offers my child a very challenging curriculum. Teachers are nurturing, skilled, patient, and dedicated to teaching the children. The discipline and control in the class makes a great learning environment for all students. Besides the excellent academics, the school also offers computer, music, sports, and outdoor education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

No school is perfect, but if my focus is on an all-round curriculum and the building of moral character,, Milpitas Christian School has certainly met my expectations. My girl has a rich experience participating in a wide variety of activities ranging from school band, spelling bee, speech meet, and science competitions. The teachers have taken the extra effort to encourage learning outside of the classroom through regional and national competitions, and to constantly challenge the students to realize their potential. My son graduated from MCS with a solid foundation for all the accelerated classes that he had in his freshman year, and he thanked the teachers for preparing him well for his successful transition to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

This school consistently offers my grandchildren a challenging curriculum based on state standards. Teachers are skilled, competent, and nurturing. In addition to excellent academics, the school offers outdoor education, music, sports, fine arts, and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

The curriculum is carefully selected. Offer a variety of musical programs. Parents work together to upgrade school computer systems with the Futuready Program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

Great school. Both my kids have enjoyed Christian setting. Moved away for a while and plan to rejoin MCS this fall 2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

Well organized school. Excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

This school does not have any systematic way of teaching the kids. Some of teachers are very impatience. The level is behind the publice school system. After I transfered my kids to public school, I found they had to spend more time to catch up. The tuition is cheap. However, why do we have to pay cheap education if we have better free public education?! Also, some of teachers are racist. Do not blidly trust all private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

This school has taught both me and my kids wonderful things. I have recommened this school to everyone I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 20% 26%
Black 2% 6%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Chinese (Mandarin)
Chinese (Cantonese)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kenneth Van Meter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (408) 945-9746

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Tagalog
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We have the highest level of accreditation from both the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) and the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI). We are celebrating our 40th year in the community!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
85
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
90

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Valley Christian High School
The King's Academy
Milpitas High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3435 Birchwood Ln
San Jose, CA 95132
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 945-6530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT