Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Milpitas Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 386 students

Our school is best known for our outstanding academic teaching and learning.

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $449,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

My children have attended Milpitas Christian school for the last nine years. It truly has been everything we wanted in a school. A pleasant campus,great location, security, excellent academics, sports programs the list goes on and on. But what really separates this school from the rest is there teaching staff. They are like an all star team. I ask you to reflect back on when you were a kid. Remember the last day of school everyone is excited because it's summer break. Except you were sad because you loved your teachers and you already miss her or him .Every year is like that at Milpitas Christian school. You should choose Milpitas Christian school your family will not regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

My children have been attending MCS for 6 years now. No school is perfect, but this one is great! We are very pleased! It's a very well rounded and friendly school. If you are thinking about enrolling your children, just call them up and schedule a tour to see for yourself. Teachers are well coordinated not only in their own classroom, but with each other. We LOVE the outdoor education program (overnight extended field trips) which starts in 4th grade. They have an excellent program for music and technology, and a few years ago Spanish was added too. Plenty of extra opportunities for extra-curricular activities including sports, band, and a gifted program. The tuition is reasonable (just compare with other schools). (PS-Regarding the parent who's review said that Bible instruction focused on verse memorization. Maybe their child is in one of the younger grades or they are just seeing the memory verse homework. In class there is much more real life application instruction, and it gets more in depth as the grades advance. For example, in 6th grade the curriculum covers every book of the Bible, and in 7th grade it's focused on the life of Christ and the book of John.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

My daughter attends. It compares "+" against charters, and level with some other private schools. The level of academic work and homework is generally demanding. For example: Vacation homework during Christmas. What seems to be odd is the way the school addresses religion teaching. Rather than "teaching the value of religion" in general (morality, values etc.) which may be considered of value in a career, while compatible with the word "Christian", the school focuses instead solely on "memorizing passages from the bible". What's the point of that? A memory test.? Comments from students indicate that they just "follow instructions to pass grade.". They also "upset" typical American kids telling them that "Halloween" is something evil. Huh? Just a chance to dress up and get candy? Get with the program! There are comments below about different teaching for different ethnic groups: They accept foreign students, and modify the curriculum ONLY for such students to give them a chance to learn English On the plus side: The staff (that I have met) are generally friendly, understanding that "pupils have different religious views" etc. Bullying and behavior appear well controlled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

The teachers are caring, the academics are rigorous, and the environment is nurturing. Lots of extracurricular activities and enrichment programs. Our family is very satisfied with MCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2013

We have four children and all of them have gone through preschool, elementary and middle school at MCS. We have been very happy with the experiences that they've had there. The teachers are loving, kind and compassionate. It has been a blessing that these teachers partner with parents to help their students continue as academic achievers and citizens with moral backbone. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

When I pick up my son from Milpitas Christian School, he has a big smile on his face and is excited to tell me what he learned in school that day. After attending kindergarten in the public school system (Berryessa School District), I decided to try MPC for summer school. MPC came highly recommended by several good friends. They told me I would not be disappointed - and they were right. We had such a great experience, I enrolled my son at MPC for 1st grade. I have NO regrets. The teachers are awesome!! There is an aide who helps out in my son's class and also music and computer classes for each grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2013

This is sucks big time. This school used to be good too many years ago before everything got change. It is a waster of money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

My daughter is in kindergarten. We love this school. It is a very special place. the administrators, teachers, students and parents all work toward the goal of not only educating my child but helping the students become stewards of life. They teach more than just great academics. It's a fun, friendly and family oriented school that focuses on the whole child: academics, social skills and spiritual growth. Terrific school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

When you get to the 6th, 7th and 8th grade it is not competitive like the Mission san Jose and Cupertino Middle schools. They are very slow, and the stuff aren't even challenging. This school lost over 35% of it's student since 2009 from what I figured out. I pulled my kids out cuz it is not what I expected. A few teaching staff is good, but they aren't all good. There are very lazy ones and ones that favor white over asian kids when you can see majority are asians. They give different rules to different kids. I found out how inconsistent this school is, so I pulled my kids out. The inconsistency is among their teaching staff and non teaching staff. I don't think this school have much true christian staff working. It is just a money making institution using the name of christianity to get parents to enroll their children. what a waste of money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2012

We are refugees from our neaby public school (Northwood) and, after extensive interviews with private schools in the area, we chose MCS. This is our 3rd year there and we are very happy, very satisfied with the school. The TK and K and 1st class curricula are challenging yet teachers and their aides are still able to provide differentiated instruction to each child in class. The staff are so warm, and genuinely caring about the children and parents. Their kindergarten director, Ms Leta Leggit, has decades of teaching and research experience and you know instantly your child is in great hands. The school sits on a very large lot with several grassy fields for students' PE. They also offer a lot of after school programs like robotics, cartooning, soccer, etc and great, great day care staff. Above all, I feel 100% of the time that staff really want the very best for our children. I highly, highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

Milpitas Christian School has exceeded all our expectations. The students are challenged academically daily, but in a loving environment, where individuality is respected. Most importantly, the students are exemplary citizens, polite and cheerful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

MCS offers the best value for its price. I have yet to meet anyone who has ever heard of a school with an outdoor education program like MCS has. The 4th grade trip is an overnight, but 5th-8th go for 4 days and 3 nights per year. Students bond with each other and with their teachers during these experiences. I look forward to my son attending these trips. The 8th Grade DC trip is the perfect culmination of a fantastic educational experience. At MCS, students who are new to the school fit in fairly quickly. The kids are like a family, accepting everyone with open arms. By the end of the year, it's hard to tell who started just that year and who has been there since preschool. The technology education is streets ahead of what most schools offer. Students begin using Microsoft Office applications right away in 1st grade. They build on their skills more each year, get their own e-mail account (filtered) beginning in 3rd grade, and use more "cloud apps" like Google Docs as they progress through MCS. In middle school, they get to make movies and create photography projects. They create new content for Google Earth starting in 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

Milpitas Christian School has so many benefits that out shines other private schools. Outstanding Computer/technology Lab, and Music dept. Full time Learning lab teacher with onsite tutoring. After school classes that includes soccer, art, and soon coming Chinese school and more. I love that they have Bible study and parenting classes for the parents too. The quality of education is so complete. They not only focus on high academic standards but they focus on building the child's character. I highly recommend Milpitas Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

both my son and my stepson have benefitted from this school's successful efforts to work with each child per their unique abilities and characteristics. I like that they uphold a high standard, but also help the students to achieve their best. And it is more than just about academics - it is helping them grow in character as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

Both my children went here before I came on board as part of the staff. Not only did they excel academically, they had respect for others and themselves. They were taught discipline in their studies and took their education seriously but also enjoyed their childhood years. I worked no less than half and hour away and sometimes farther. I used their extended daycare many times and never had to worry about my children's safety or well-being. In most cases, most of their homework was done by the time I picked them up, which helped me tremendously. I highly recommend this school. It just keeps getting better and better!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2010

MCS is a wonderful school who treats the children extremely well. Their academic program is exceptional and my son has achieved so much personally and educationally. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

We like this school for our children because it offers a challenging curriculum as well as programs to teach leadership skills and character building. After 12 years at the school I can say that the teachers have always been quite caring ( middle school and elementary age). As a working parent, I find that the daycare program to be outstanding and very convenient because it is available during the school holidays when parents have to work. My children especially enjoy the music program and the sports program as well as the opportunity to participate in extra scholastic contests ( spelling bee, speech meet, math olympics, art contest). Overall we are very satisfied with the school and the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I know a student at the school and she has been improving so much at MCS this past year! She has been involved in many activities during the school day. She attends music class (they are currently working on a musical!), PE, technology, and library in addition to the normal class time. I have seen the time that her teacher has put into her education. It is amazing to see how God's love is exemplified through the faculty and staff at MCS.


Posted November 18, 2009

The dynamics of this school have changed drastically in the past couple of years...it seem that the loving nurturing environment has been replaced with a legalistic approach. The primary focus of the administration seems to be on money and they less on academics and curriculum. What once was a strong school has become worldly and weak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

This school offers a good academic foundation and stresses moral character development. The teachers are dedicated and kind. The school offers academic suppliment for those who need it and onsite counseling for those who need it. The daycare is very high quality and there are wonderful after-school activities. The regular elementary program includes PE, music and computers. Band is also optional.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 80%
White 15%
Hispanic 3%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Chinese (Mandarin)
Chinese (Cantonese)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kenneth Van Meter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (408) 945-9746

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Tagalog
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We have the highest level of accreditation from both the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) and the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI). We are celebrating our 40th year in the community!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
85
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
90

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Valley Christian High School
The King's Academy
Milpitas High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3435 Birchwood Ln
San Jose, CA 95132
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 945-6530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT