Advertisement
Advertisement

Primary Plus Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $516,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2004

I have heard nothing but good things about the Primary Plus Elementary program. Our daughter has been in the infant/preschool program since she was 4 months old and we plan on enrolling her for Kindergarten. The program is academically challenging but at the same time gives the children valuable social skills. I am confident that she will succeed next year and on through 8th grade with them! The onsite dance classes and annual recital performance is fantastic, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

Our child has ADHD, SIDS and dyslexia. We wanted a familiy oriented school that would be understanding of our son's special needs. Mrs. Rodriguez, the new principal, as well as other individuals met our son, reviewed available documentation and felt that Primary Plus would provide a positive, healthy experience for our son. Academically, Primary Plus SAT test scores are in the 80% - 90%+ range. Mrs. Rodriquez made it feasible for our son to get the afterschool tutoring he needs. He loves his tutor. He is making new friends, having fun, and most importantly, we've cut his meds by 60%. His summer school teachers, his current teacher, and tutor are great. They make themselves available to me for updates on his academics, behavior, attention, transitions and other matters we need to monitor. We appreciate the monthly Parents Night Out and the year-round school/day care coverage. They also offer healthy, affordable lunches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

This school is a wonderful blend of academic and enrichment activities for children. I am very pleased with the academic offerings at the school and greatly appreciate the extra enrichment possibilites in the dance and sports. I highly recommend the total program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

My child has been at Primary Plus for 6 years, having started as an infant. I am delighted with the progress that he has made. He is a good student, but more important than that he is truly interested in learning. He is open to new ideas and has learned to think of alternatives to problems. We feel that the skills he has learned at this program will add to his success in future education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

My daughter attends Primary Plus for their full day program. Our family is pleased with her academic development and thrilled that she is able to take part in valuable enrichment activities as a part of her total school experience. She is enrolled in dance, a computer class and is a member of a sports team all as part of her school day. We feel that these activities will lead to her future development. We find the staff to be warm and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

My son has entered his 5th year at Primary Plus and I feel he has an excellent foundation and is far exceeding the level of education he would have received from the public system. He not only has a strong grasp of academic basics but he has also acheived excellent social skills. Through the use of projects and verbal reports he has developed strong leadership abilities. The school is staffed with teachers who genuinely care about the children and provide a well rounded program. The staff always keep the parents informed on a formal and informal basis regarding their childrens progress. My son enjoys school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

There are quite a few teachers that have been here for 10+ years. Most extracurricular activities have a high charge, however, they all funnel into an end of the year dance held at the Center of Performing Arts which is an activity the kids/school look forward to. The kids are well looked after and the smaller class size (~22) offer the individual attention hoped for in the public schools. The downside of this is that at times the kids are 'coddled' and may have difficulty in adapting to a public school. In regards to a 'PTA' type of organization, it is as normal...a few parents doing the majority of the volunteering for the good of the kids/school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

This isn't what I consider one of those 'intense college prep gradeschools'. We didn't want that for our kids. This school does very well in national testing rankings, and more importantly, our girls are learning at a good rate. Plus they're happy there. We are very pleased and sometimes amazed with the progress they've made. Most notably in reading and math. Overall we are happy with the teachers. Our girls wouldn't be going there if the classroom environment wasn't notably better than what we found at the public schools. The kids learn a healthy respect for the adults and other kids there. And there are lots of activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

I must disagree with the other evaluations. If they are so terrible why would 1 mother have all 3 of her children in the school and a total cost in exxcess of 30K a yr. My son has done extremely well in the school. I had some concerns however I feel the teachers have been quite helpful in showing him his potential. While I don't always agree with their ways of handling behavior problems. They do. They impress respect which now a days no kid has enough of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

I have three children currently enrolled. My oldest has had some very good teachers but needed some help with math. We had to hire a tutor to correct the problems that she had learned. My son is struggling and we've had to hire a tutor. He is progressing but it is uncertain if he will pass. I think that math basics need to be focused on more and while class size is small, my kids still have developed bad habits that I don't think they should have. The teachers care and are good teachers but they don't focus on the basics like adding, subtracting, multiplication, division, and how to correctly write letters and numbers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2003

Teachers and principal could care less about the child that doesn't fit into the 'box'. There is a 'turn and look the other way' policy at this school. Teachers have been caught subjecting students to their opinions and bad temperaments. Not worth the money you spend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2003

Teachers and principal could care less about the child that doesn't fit into the 'box'. There is a 'turn and look the other way' policy at this school. Teachers have been caught subjecting students to their opinions and bad temperaments. Not worth the money you spend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Hispanic 32%
Asian 12%
Black 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Lou Rodriguez
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (408) 248-7350

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 Amber Drive
San Jose, CA 95117
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 248-2464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT