Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Primary Plus Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 370 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $516,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2010

My son attends the Saratoga location. He started as a pre-K, stay briefly in Jr-K and will be in the school's Kindergarten program. He just really loves the school (his friends/the teachers). The school has a very positive impact on him and I guess that's why spending monry for this private school is not just the right choice, but the necessary choice for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

Great programs for newborn to school age children. I highly recommend Primary Plus to any parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

My 2yr old son has been attending this school for some months now and we are quite satisfied with the school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

My daughter is in 1st grade and has been on the ADPP schools since preschool. she doesnt want to go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My son has been attending ActionDay/Primary Plus since he was one and thru the 3rd grade. It has become so much more than just a school/daycare...it is like family. We have made many friendships with families that will last a lifetime. We love the daycare/afterschool care/before school care that they offer. It makes it so convenient because the school is almost always open except for major holidays! The only downfall I have experienced is the price and some of the academics I feel is across the board and there is no special help for kids that are struggling or for kids that are excelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

My son's attended Pre-K through JrK at Primary Plus Amber and we've had a great experience here. There are lots of after school classes and sports programs that he has enjoyed. As full time working parents we appreciate having these easy options for extra curricular/enrichment programs that can't all be done in the evenings and weekends. The transition from school to extended after school care is seamless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My younger son is in elementary school at the Primary Plus Amber campus in San Jose. During his elementary and secondary years, my older son, now in high school, was a student at a couple of well known private schools, one in Palo Alto and one in Saratoga. Frankly my younger son's overall elementary experience is tremendously better than my older son's. Primary Plus is amazingly underrated and I wish I had known about the school when my older son was younger. The school does more than 'have a philosophy,' classroom curriculum is integrated throughout the campus and academic and artistic/whole child teaching occur for all disciplines. Finally, my younger son is clearly learning a tremendous amount, academically, artistically, and socially, and I know from comparing his work to that produced by students at my older son's former schools, that he is well ahead -- and without feeling pushed or pressured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

We have a daugher in Jr. K. Good caring teachers. Good curriculum. Very little parent-socialization opportunities as most parents work, and that bothers me. Although I'm also working, there's more socialization at my other kids' school. Has homework expecting parents' help and we love it. The program does not offer so much hands-on or creative experience, though. Very academic oriented, than social/developmental.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I love it but the tuition is killng me but it is open all the time I never have to worry about holidays or spring break or anything. Also, my kids love their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

A+ in all areas. My child is 5 and is reading! The dance program is great, too! Can't say enough good things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

The only complaint I have about primary plus would have to be a lack of communication from the administrators. The teacher are great. My kid loves it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

My son first started with Primary Plus in their action day preschool program. The quality of the teachers are excellent. I also love the fact that it has smaller class sizes. My son is in second grade and there are 18 kids. Very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

Good small school. Not enough foreign language classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

My son has been attending Primary Plus for 2 years (preschool and K) in EL Quito location. He obsolutely loves it and learns while having fun. He is already reading simple words and adding single digit numbers and loves doing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

My daughter attended kindergarten at this school and she had a wonderful experience. Her teacher was excellent. She made the extra effort to keep in contact with us as the parents and really treated each child as an individual. She really motivated my daughter to be interested in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

Primary Plus has been great for my daughter. She is only 3 and she has learned so much. Most of all the learning is made to be fun. My daughter is happy when I pick her up. If I ever have any issue's they listen. Making there best effort to make me feal great about my daughter's schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2005

My son attends the Phelan campus since 15 months and I love the teachers there, especially the ones in Room 3. They are very caring and do a lot of art works with the children during the day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2004

Both my children attended Primary Plus since they were babies and we are exceptionally happy with the staff and cirriculum. In elementary school, the children were still able to work at their own pace (which was excellerated) and received lots of individual attention. My oldest son now attends Bellarmine high school, and my second son will attend there next year as well. Very good education!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 6, 2004

I have 2 kids at Primary plus and we have been so happy with the school. They have experienced and caring teachers. The class size is low and the kids always get lots of one on one attention from the staff. My kids always test 1-2 grades above where they are at. The kids go on many field trips throughout the year based on what they are learning. Primary plus has many after school activities for the kids to get involved with. Their dance program is excellent, with a big show at the end of the school year. I highly recommend checking out Primary Plus if you are not happy with your current school situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

My son has been at this school since Kindergarten. All the teachers are exceptionally warm. Each one has taken a personal interest in my son, and they have worked with his social and emotional development as well as his academics. The children at the school are well-mannered and have respect for others. There are so many extra activities for my son, and the best part is he can participate during school/daycare hours so I don't have to take time off of work! We love Primary Plus and can't see going to any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 26%
Hispanic 35% 52%
Black 10% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kathy McDermott
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (408) 248-7350

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 Amber Drive
San Jose, CA 95117
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 248-2464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Heritage Academy
San Jose, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT