Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Almaden Country School

Private | K-8 | 406 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $823,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

Almaden Country School is a magical safe place where kids get be kids. They become organized, thoughtful, and caring people ready to go out and make a difference in the world. My high school freshman was well prepared by ACS middle school and feels confident in himself both socially and academically. Taking on new challenges is easier with the foundation that he built at Almaden Country School under the guidance of the wonderful teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2014

After moving from a Midwestern city with friends & family nearby, we were looking for a school with a sense of community. Almaden Country School is an exceptional learning community which prepares students to be responsible & engaged citizens. The school fosters critical thinking, respect and mentoring as evident in a school-wide big buddy program where older students are paired with younger students. Even though our oldest graduated after 9 years at ACS he has fond memories of this program & still visits his little buddies. The ACS faculty and administration consider parents as partners in the development and character building so important in these early formative years. The teachers are passionate educators who truly love to teach. Opinions matter, whether you re a parent or a student. When my son wanted to start a club, he had the latitude to do so. We re also continuously impressed with the academic curriculum and experiential aspect of both core and elective classes, as well as field trips and weeklong Middle School trips. In the last few years, ACS Athletics has developed into an excellent program. It s a great pre-cursor to high school athletic competition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

With 4 children and through a span of 18 years, Almaden Country School has truly been able to find the gift in each one of our children. It amazes me how the community has been able to balance investing in new teaching techniques and harvesting the benefits of its core strengths. Always a strong Visual and Performing Arts school, I am really excited about how ACS is encouraging creativity in the science, math and tech fields through App Fairs, a Makers elective in addition to what goes on everyday in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

This is the best school in the world. I am a seventh grader right now and everyone is super nice and kind. There is no discrimination and I love the teachers so much. The electives are wonderful and the teachers are very caring towards the students!


Posted March 1, 2014

My wife and I looked at many different schools for our son, not sure if we would find the right fit or even if we should pursue public or private. There are too few times in life where there s a single right decision, but we knew when we met the people and students of Almaden Country School that this was exactly the right place. Many schools could use similar language about developing the unique talents in each student and fostering a love of learning but ACS makes that real. We love ACS. We love the strength of the academics balanced with the focus on developing confident, flexible, curious, engaged individuals who think outside themselves. We love the tradition of each grade putting on a play each year. We ve found friends with similar values in the other parents, while also appreciating a vibrant culture with a good exchange of ideas that leads to a constantly improving ACS. The teachers are absolutely dedicated to the kids and constantly becoming better at what they do. Simply, we re really happy. Our son is, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

We are so happy we sent our children to Almaden Country School. Both of our children started their ACS years in preschool and graduated from eighth grade. ACS provided an educational experience that challenged and supported our two very different children, meeting their individual needs every step of the way. The curriculum is excellent and our children were well prepared for the private high schools they are now attending. The enrichment programs like drama and the middle school electives helped them develop their confidence, creativity and knowledge of the world. Our years at Almaden Country School were filled with learning and laughter. ACS has left an impression on both the mind and the heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I have been part of the Almaden Country School community for over 2 years. I could not be more pleased with the teachers' dedication (and preparation), the administration's responsiveness, the student-teacher ratio, and the school's overall philosophy. The parents are friendly, supportive, and caring. When I joined the school, I immediately felt like a welcome member of the community. I especially like the school-wide events; they are relevant, inclusive, and help bring the school together. When I am in the classrooms, I notice that the children are eager, articulate, and clearly enjoy learning. One of the aspects I appreciate most about the Almaden is that the administration is forward-thinking (Ole's written pieces in the local media are thought provoking) and child-centered. One can tell just by talking with them that they truly care about the students and their development. I am so happy that our family joined ACS. It is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2014

I am a parent of an Almaden Country School (ACS) alumnus that began at in the 4-year old program and attended through Middle School. My daughter was accepted into her first choice West Catholic high school, recently graduated with honors from a prestigious university, captained a Division I sports team and is now a supervisor in Europe for Tesla Motors. She is confident, self-aware, empathetic and hard working. I firmly believe ACS provided a critical foundation for her and many of her classmates who are on a similarly successful trajectory. Test scores are important and ACS students do extremely well on standardized tests. But as we know well, the workplace of the 21st century will be characterized by constant change. It is impossible to know what technical skills will be the most valuable. In preparing the children, ACS focuses on the key ingredients for a successful knowledge worker in an ever changing environment: teamwork, creativity, ethics, resilience, curiosity and time management. ACS is a unique school that places the child at the center of every important decision. The culture encourages family involvement in a strong, caring community of learners.


Posted January 7, 2014

Almaden Country School has surpassed all our expectations. When we relocated our family from the UK, we researched many schools. Almaden Country School matched the educational standards and environment we were looking for. We wanted a soft landing for our children then aged 13 and 11, who were leaving a school they had attended since age 5. Traditional subjects are coupled with electives such as speech & debate, issues and choices, community service and musical drama. The teaching staff are diverse, approachable and very positive. My son graduated with many friends and is well equipped for Bellarmine and my daughter continues to thrive with a passion for both science and the arts. This school develops individuals who are confident and challenged, ready for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

Of course we feel that Almaden Country School is an amazing school for our children. We have been at ACS for nine years now. The community is welcoming and provides a nurturing environment where the students and faculty thrive. But you can't help and wonder if it is it enough. Are our children learning the skills they need to get into a great high school of their choice? Once there, are they able to keep up with their peers? After recently attending open houses at St Francis HS and Presentation HS, the answers were apparent. Almaden Country School graduates have a presence. They are not only attending these top high schools; they are leaders there. It was reassuring to speak with the ACS alum at both schools. They continue to thrive with confidence and ease. It is not a coincidence that these great kids are doing so well, especially when they refer to their ACS experience as a contributing factor to their success. I could go on and on about the fabulous programs at ACS which have truly enriched our children, but there is great comfort knowing that ACS is preparing them for their long educational journey which lies ahead of them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

ACS is s school that was founded on the principle that every student is special and gifted. I recently had the opportunity to meet Nan Hunter, the founder, and she asked me, "Do you have more than one child? Yes? Which one is more special?" When I looked at her with surprise - she smiled and said, "That is what ACS stands for - everyone is special in someway - it is our job to help and encourage children to know that, show them that success in one area can help them be resilient in more difficult areas." And I thought how true - my son skips to his classroom and loves seeing what everyday brings. We are a proud ACS family, at an innovative school that is preparing children to be successful and respectful in life.....a gift for ACS is a gift for all schools as they consistently try to bring out the best in students, other schools, and our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Our family has been at ACS for nearly 10 years. Before our children started, we visited the school and were so impressed by the confident students who looked you right in the eye and talked directly to you. Now we are watching our children develop into strong students who have an interest in art, music, drama, science, technology and so much more. ACS is an incredible community for our children and our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

My daughter started a Jr K this year, and I love this school. I see how much the teachers care and spend time with her, as she is learning English (her primary language is Russian). I love all the different activities and ways the kids are learning. My kid is a picky eater, and teachers at school spend time with her to make sure she eats at least some part of her hot lunch. I can't say enough good things about different programs at school. I love their bug buddy idea, and when I see how the 7th grader spends time with my kid, it bring a tear to my eyes. From my point of view, If the kids who doesn't understand everything and cannot express herself still loves to go to school and looking forward to it every day, the school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

From the moment we set foot on campus the very first day we felt like the school was an extension of home. When I drop him off I feel as though I am leaving him with family. We are always greeted with smiles and warmth from his teachers (and anyone else we come across for that matter). The entire administration is hands-on involved in the classrooms and the day to day operations. They are very approachable. The teachers go out of their way to make sure all of the parents have all the information they need about what s happening with their child in the class each day as well as the plan for what they will be learning each week. They always help us to feel in-the-know We are very encouraged as parents to take full participation with the school s daily activities. From being in the classroom to help, to assisting with special events, and taking part in meetings about the school s philosophies and future; we are always an active participant in our children s education. This is a place that allows children to be children; to explore their world and learn in the way that suits them best instead of a cookie cutter textbook method. This is not just an education is it a life preparation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to watch the ACS 7th grade interact at 5:15 a.m. at the San Jose Airport leaving for their annual field trip. You could imagine the excitement and very little sleep the night before, they may not have been fully cognitive at 5:15 in the morning. But what I witnessed was a group of excited but respectful children, interacting and following direction of the lead chaperone in a way that he never needed to raise a voice above conversation tone. The respect the chaperone delivered with his words and direction matched the actions of the children. The class has been taught "Definite Dozen terms, which includes learning to be responsible, respecting differences and using character over reputation. It was obvious that these teachings had moved off the page and into action and you could see the sigh of relief from their parents watching with the comment this is why we send our child to Almaden Country School. To add, I also witnessed the impact on other travelers at the San Jose Airport thinking to themselves, I wonder what school that is? It was a pleasure watching confident, respectful and happy young adults, which is exactly why our family chose ACS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

We love Almaden Country School, and more importantly so do my kids! The quality of teachers, the close-knit ACS community, and well-rounded academics have made for a fantastic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2012

ACS is strongly focused on tradition and values, but not so much on academic innovation. We were told ACS provides differentiated academics, but we never saw signs of this in our child's class. This is a great school for folks looking for a more traditional environment, something that captures the best of elementary schools as they were 50-60 years ago. Classes are small, kids are treated respectfully, teachers are kind, the parent community is involved and active. But the school seems backward rather than forward facing. We chose ACS because its attitudes about social/emotional development seemed ahead of the game, and we left because the school was simply not progressive enough. I think ACS is a good school that could be great if the administration would take to heart some of the very forward-thinking and progressive sentiments expressed by the head of school. We loved Dr. Jorgensen....but make no mistake, he's only the public (PR) face of ACS and not in charge of steering the ship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

All great things said about this school, there is one major drawback - a starting time is 8am... This time is NOT normal, kids and their parents are chronically sleep deprived, and the family time is out of whack. For all these years we have been at ACS we are suffering badly. Some families commute from Evergreen and beyond, poor kids have to get up at 6, not to mention their parents. The administration have come up with all kinds of lame excuses to justify this starting time, e.g. working parents, lack of extended care in the morning, etc. What working parents? 99% of the moms are either stay at home or work from home moms. And those who do work could have figured out their work schedule. The school year could also easily be extended by a couple of weeks to accommodate for shorter day. 9am would be ideal, but, unfortunately, they do not want to do it... Before you enroll, think carefully if you can tolerate this 8am starting time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

My child won't be returning to ACS next year. Elementary school was ok but I don't feel comfortable sending my child to ACS for middle school. For some reason there is a high turnover of middle school teachers. This year there was one new teacher for each of the 6th, 7th and 8th grades. Also for science, they hired a new science teacher that is fresh out of school. For the amount of money I paid, I expect my child to have experienced teachers and more stability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

Each of my three children emerged from their kindergarten year at ACS happy, confident and engaged in learning, even though one didn't even want to go to school at first. I credit the caring and professional kindergarten teachers (three different ones!), and a curriculum and classroom environment designed to engage and delight. Kindergarten is vital because that is when attitudes about learning and self-concept begin to take shape. Soon, two will have graduated from 8th grade at ACS and the third will have completed elementary school. All are thriving, successful students. ACS aims to nurture and engage, never to overwhelm or stress. Teachers take a personal interest in their students and develop a rapport that fosters confident, respectful, engaged and well-adjusted young adults. In middle school, a heavy emphasis on teaching effective study skills is balanced by interesting and engaging electives, service and leadership opportunities, and enriching field trips and school events. Volunteer opportunities abound, and finding families who will give service is one goal of the administration. Expanding financial aid is a goal, also, and one that is dependent upon donations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Black 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • "Demonstration School" for Legacy Foundation's High Performance Schools program
  • Accredited by the Western Association of Schools & Colleges

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Ole Jorgenson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (408) 997-6823

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • High parent involvement: almaden country school recognizes the most important aspect of a child's education - parental involvement. the school has a very active parent service auxiliary (psa). the mission of the psa is to build a sense of community for the parents and children of almaden country school through financial support, professional resources and social activities.
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • 2009 OPEN HOUSE SCHEDULE: JANUARY 24TH, 10AM TO NOON MARCH 28TH, 10AM TO NOON
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private high schools (80%)
Neighborhood public high schools (20%)
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6835 Trinidad Drive
San Jose, CA 95120
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 997-0424

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT