Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Almaden Country School

Private | K-8 | 406 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $823,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

66 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2009

My daughter will be returning to ACS as a kindergartner and we were thrilled to have her attend JR-K this past year. She thrived in the small environment and the JR-K teacher, Mrs. Semichy, knew each student's unique needs and some of the best ways to handle them. In addition, all of the parents were very involved throughout the year and became a tight-knit community. I look forward to seeing my children continue to develop as individuals in this warm and nurturing community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

Dynamic, nurturing teachers and a family-like parent community have impacted our children in a most positive way! My children have been at ACS since preschool and are now in middle school. In the early years, a perfect balance of hands on learning, stimulating classroom activities and skilled teachers helped our children to gain self-confidence and a love for learning. The elementary years are full of opportunity to find success in the classroom and on the playground. A child's personal learning style and ability is respected. Meaningful and creative projects and field trips abound! Extracurricular activities like Starmites (singing group), scouting, photography club, Legorobotics, chess club provide a rich opportunity beyond the school day. Middle school strengths include challenging academics, character/community building and superb electives. These are some of the choices: spanish/french language, speech and debate, history of rock and roll, drama, filmmaking, social justice & technology. ACS is a model school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

My daughter just finished her first year and we are in heaven. Everything I could ask for in a school - teachers, parents, environment. It's perfect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

This school is amazing! My son has been attending since preschool and he is so happy. For a kid who is going to school, I mean. The teachers are great. There may be one that my son didn't like but that was sorted out quickly enough. Otherwise it is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

While preparing to move to California from Switzerland, I found ACS online. I am so thankful! ACS has all of the qualities I was looking for. Not only do they provide an excellent curriculum, but by teachers examples, they are teaching character qualities like kindness, consideration, respect, responsibility, and team work. The transition from the Private school in Zurich(ICSZ) to San Jose(ACS) was so smooth. My kids are thriving AND happy. They look forward to going to school. The ACS community welcomed us with open arms, making us feel right at home. I am so thankful for all that ACS has given us and I have made life long friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

For the past eleven years two of my children have been attending Almaden Country School. It has been a life-changing experience! The wonderful atmosphere on campus feels like one big family. The school philosophy does succeed in helping each individual discover his/her gifts. The academics are challenging, but not overbearing. The students are well-prepared for high school. My son is doing very well at Archbishop Mitty High School, and he attended Almaden Country School for ten years. As a parent, I was so pleased with the staff and students, that I became a teacher there myself! If you are looking for a nurturing, joyful and academic environment, then Almaden Country School is the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

Almaden Country School (ACS) is the most exceptional place! Our daughter is a fountain of possibilities. After horrific experiences with the local public school system here in San Jose we searched for a school that would allow our daughter to reach her full potential and still experience the joys of childhood. ACS has provided that and more. ACS offers excellence in science, language, art, drama, and music. The teachers are wonderful, dedicated people who genuinely love their work and the children. We find all of the administration, staff, and faculty to be of exceptional quality. They are exceedingly dedicated to the 'Country School Way' and are focused on bringing out 'the gift in every child'. If you want the best education and preparation for life for your child please check out ACS. They have several Open House events per year that will astound you with their dedicated teachers and parents! Dr. Ole
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

This school is amazing. The kids are challenged academically but the skills learned go beyond the classroom. The teachers are phenomenal and the community is great. We have two daughters at this school and both can't wait to go to school in the morning. They love it. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

Our daughter will be starting her 6th year at Almaden Country School in September. We are extremely pleased with every aspect of her development as a result of attending this wonderful school. ACS offers the perfect combination of developmentally-appropriate academics, comprehensive enrichment programs (art, science, P.E., drama, foreign language, music, etc.), individual attention, community spirit and parental involvement. Our daughter is ALWAYS happy to go to school - and we are always happy to become involved in the various volunteer opportunities that exist. It is a happy, warm, welcoming place to be. There is a quality that exists at this school that is hard to find elsewhere... an actual joy of learning! We are confident that ACS is preparing our child for a successful future in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

You have to visit ACS to appreciate it! The children are happy, they feel safe and valued, they are really confident, and they enjoy learning. We like that the curriculum includes drama at every level (maybe that s in part why the children are so poised), foreign language, and hands-on science. We also like the strong emphasis on citizenship and family, and love the closeness of the families at school. The other parents made us feel at home in our first year and have become good friends. Don t expect to be wowed by the campus, though. It s older, and the facilities are just adequate compared to some of the other area schools, but the PROGRAM is fabulous and our daughter is happier than she s ever been at school! This year all the ACS kids who applied to Bellarmine, Presentation, and Notre Dame were admitted -- this is a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

My children didn't just go to school at ACS, they grew up there. The teachers did more than teach my children, they helped me raise them. My children were lucky to be a part of this amazing community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

We are in our 4th year at ACS and we really like the family involvement and excellent academic performance that has been sustained for so many years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

We have a son entering third grade and a daughter leaving the pre-K program and entering Kindergarten at ACS. We see in our kids the things we noticed in the children we observed when we were touring ACS four years ago: joyful spirit, self-confidence, and a love for learning. The families are a lot of fun to be around (which makes volunteering a blast, even for the Dads!) and our entire family continues to nurture fantastic friendships with more people each year. Kids at ACS develop an inquisitiveness for life and learning while developing and respecting early-on their role as community members and team players. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

We have been extremely pleased with the educational experience our children have received at Almaden Country School. My daughter started in the 4-year olds program seven years ago. She'll be entering 8th grade in the fall. We also have a son entering 6th grade. Both kids enjoy learning and going to school. They have not only grown academically but also as people, since the curriculum is rounded out with various enrichment classes like drama, music, art and such. We like that the environment is nurturing and a little less 'worldly' than at some schools, so that the children are able to hang onto their childhood a bit longer. ACS is well-worth the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

Our daughter has attended ACS since preschool (she's now in fourth grade). We initially enrolled her in preschool, intending to move to the public school for kindergarten. Several factors convinced us to stay: 1. Personal values such as citizenship, respect and kindness are part of the curriculum. I went to excellent schools, but never heard a word about personal values. 2. The teachers are amazing. You have never met a group of teachers more dedicated to your child's welfare in your life. 3. Enrichment classes: Art, music, science, and more. 4. Remember how stressful and awkward junior high was? The middle school kids at ACS look you in the eye and smile. Amazing. The last factor above was a real revelation for me. Middle school is not a happy time for families. At ACS, those awkward years are much happier and less stressful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

The board of directors has recently hired a new head of schools. Ole Jorgenson share's the school's core values--indeed embodies them! We are thrilled that he will be at the helm as of the '07-08 year to build on the greatness of this special place where discovering children's gifts are at the heart of everything they do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

Truly an exceptional school. Recognizes and supports the whole child. Students receive a very personal education. Phenomenal parental involvement and support. Excellent teachers and supportive administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

This school offers a below average cirriculum, and does not have adequate facilities. The school does not know how to manage its finances one bit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Programs are comprehensive, offering good enrichment classes. Lots of parental involvement, school listens to parents opinions. Music, French, Art, Some sports from 5th grade. All children can participate not just the best. School has good values, expects respectful and responsible children preparing them very well for high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

A wonderful school. The administrators and teachers are very professional, and caring. With 400 students, they know every one and all their parents. Teachers who have never had your child in their classroom know his name and yours. Excellent communications to the parents: regular Town Hall meetings. Many parenting seminars, to prepare us for those teen years. 5 years ago, they were in financial trouble. They reorganized the Board, established good relationships with Banks, renegotiated the 30 year lease with SJ Unified, and got control of it. They have controlled tuition increases, while getting control of expenses. Great parental involvement, through the Parent Service Association: many social events, tied to pain free fund raising. Students attend the best High Schools in the area. They go on to top rated colleges. ACS tracks, and shares, this info with parents. The kids learn self-reliance, respect for others (even authority figures!), and how to take responsibility. P.E., four times a week, is excellent. Far fewer overweight kids, here. Hopefully, they will carry the habits through to High School. Field trips are first rate: intellectually challenging, and fun. We can t speak highly enough of ACS. We were lucky to find it, when we needed a school for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Black 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • "Demonstration School" for Legacy Foundation's High Performance Schools program
  • Accredited by the Western Association of Schools & Colleges

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Ole Jorgenson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (408) 997-6823

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • High parent involvement: almaden country school recognizes the most important aspect of a child's education - parental involvement. the school has a very active parent service auxiliary (psa). the mission of the psa is to build a sense of community for the parents and children of almaden country school through financial support, professional resources and social activities.
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • 2009 OPEN HOUSE SCHEDULE: JANUARY 24TH, 10AM TO NOON MARCH 28TH, 10AM TO NOON
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private high schools (80%)
Neighborhood public high schools (20%)
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6835 Trinidad Drive
San Jose, CA 95120
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 997-0424

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT