Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

One World Montessori School

Private | K-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $486,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

After visiting 6 preschools, we choose One World Montessori because it was the most traditional Montessori school. If you are unfamiliar with the Montessori Method, you should do some research to see if you are comfortable with its ideology. At our initial visit we were impressed with the classroom hum. Each child was focused and quiet on their task during their "work" time: A child reading a book, one playing the xylophone, a child working on multiplications, an older child helping a younger child on a task. We also loved the back play area. Unlike many other schools, there is a green area, with a garden, chickens, a sandbox and play structures. We saw a difference the first day. She came home calmer than when she was at her previous daycare. And within a week, she would tell me she loved it there and would cry when it was time to go home! The majority of the guides (teachers) in her classroom have been with the school for years, they are caring, affectionate, and work with our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

An authentic Montessori school with an extremely rich environment, including an outdoor area with animals. The head of school, Rebecca, is an absolute gem, and the kids adore her. This place is something special. Everyone who has observed it, talks about it. My 3 year old loves school and sings the songs from circle time every day. Whenever I ask her if she had a good day at school, she says "YES!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I have a son and a daughter both thriving in the Primary program. We've been at this top quality school since the Infant Community and love it. Not only does the school provide high academic standard. That happens to be just a by-product of insightful way they teach our kids. The whole environment is very conductive to children's way of learning. The practical life responds to children's natural interests for physical movement and care of self and environment. The sensorial materials provide a wide range of activities and exercises to children to experience the physical environment. Then as they get older, they naturally move to more abstract materials for Maths and Lanauges etc. Most successful Montessori parents are open-minded people, willing to have their children nurtured to their unique full potential. Don't settle for 'average'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

This school is amazing! I love it soooooo much! All my teachers are amazing. Even without a principal, the heads of the school are amazing and kind. I have been at this school through infant community to elementary II. I would recommend this school to parents who want a good future for your kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2010

Pulled my son out of the Foxworthy location after a period of unsatisfactory experiences. A friend also pulled her son out. We ultimately both realized that this is not the ideal environment for the average boy, or any child who doesn't prefer independent seat work for hours. Not enough movement, absent group work, nothing to support the way boys tend to learn and grow, just stifling of boyish creativity. Please notice that the gender ratio of boy to girl students is maybe 1:5. Very female dominated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I have observed both the Santa Clara, and the San Jose sites and am so impressed with every aspect of these wonderful organizations. If only our public schools could take a page from their book. The teachers are qualified, loving and supportive individuals. I only wish that my older children could have had the opportunity to attend. The diversity is refreshing. The children are not only taught the usual subjects, but they are taught to respect others with different culteral and religeous backgrounds. I can only 'Imagine' what the world would be like if the lessons learned here could be taught every where.


Posted August 7, 2009

My child attended this preschool, and I have to say that I am not very happy with it. The classroom environment was adequate, but there were problems with maintaining staff. One teacher left suddenly, with only a vague explanation. The administration is not friendly towards parents. There are lots and lots of rules. There is no open-door policy for parents. You have to make an appointment to observe your own child in the classroom. Parents may not linger on the playgrund at drop-off time. Also, be prepared to be billed regularly with undocumented signing-in and -out charges. Although cursive writing is taught, I never saw any of the children actually use it to write their names. How are they supposed to learn to read when books do not use cursive? Odd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

My two children have received a pre-school/ Kindergarten tremendous education at One World Montessori. They have benefited from the hands one learning approach that is applied to all subjects: math, reading, writing, art, geography, life skills, science, language and earth stewardship. The teachers are very well trained and very dedicated to their job. There is a very low teacher turn over rate here. The students are taught important lessons on how to get along with other children, on being green, and on various cultures. They have a fun play ground complete with a garden, small animals, climbing trees, sand box and trikes. My children really thrived in this caring, engaging atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

We have two daughters in Primary at the San Jose campus and love this school. The teachers are caring and available. There are monthly parent meetings related to the methods of teaching various subjects that are very helpful esp. if you didn't receive a Montessori education yourself. Our older daughter is in her last year of Primary (equivalent to Kindergarten) and she will be attending Elementary I at OWM next year. Her reading and math skills are excellent. The parent community is an added bonus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

My children have attended One World Montessori for 5 years and after reading the negative reviews of the school left on this board, I question whether these parents had children enrolled in the same school! I am very familiar with the daily schedule in the primary classroom and know that most of the day is spent indoors doing work, either in small groups or independently, or participating in other group activities or special events -- not outside riding a tricycle. There are times of the day where the children are outside playing (before school starts, after lunch, and after nap), but it is not certainly most of the time, as claimed by another parent. Classroom work is child-directed, which encourages independence and fosters self-esteem. The peace curriculum is a unique component to the school, and teaches the children to resolve conflicts peacefully and cooperatively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

Our daughter is thriving in the Primary 4 classroom. Not only is she excelling academically, she is also becoming a really good person, and I think the school has a lot to do with this. While I can understand the previous parent's complaint about the expected donations ($200 annually), it is clearly spelled out in the handbook and contract. I found the handbook to be completely agreeable and in fact serve to uphold the my family's values. We've never been 'in trouble' for not following all the 'rules' all the time. The teachers are incredibly compassionate and understanding to what my daughter, as well as my family's needs are and have been flexible. My only complaint is too many days off/half days for working parents, but we figure out a way to make it work b/c the school is so wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

This review is about the Santa Clara campus. My six year old and two and a half year old are both at One World currently. The teachers are wonderful, and work with each child's personality. Our two are opposite of one another in almost every way. The academic program is excellent, and if you pay for the extra curricular, the piano, art, and P.E. lessons are good. The dance lessons are so-so. They have wonderful field trips, class celebrations, guest artists, etc too. Most of all, the children (and we, the parents) have come to see the school as an extension of our family. They are there for the children through all their little ups and downs, and the teachers seem to know events in the child's life before the parents can articulate them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

My daughter is enrolled in the primary program (2-5+ yr old mixed age class) at this school. She adjusted quickly to the school although it was her first care experience outside home. The teachers are caring and treat the children as individuals, accounting for their home life as well as nurturing interests at school. The mixed age environment is great for our bright, talkative child who prefers the company of older children. Teachers include native speakers of Spanish, Mandarin and Hindi, and the school uses this well by teaching the children songs and counting in these languages. This enhances the Montessori emphasis on multicultural education and global awareness. For an additional fee, high quality onsite group sports, group dance, art and private piano lessons are available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

What amazes at One World is how calm and civilzed the classroom is, considering how many children there are, as well as the mutual respect between teachers and students, and above all among the students themselves. There is a huge range of materials available for the pupils to work with. There is a high level of diversity among students and staff - and this is celebrated on a day-to-day basis. The name 'One World' is very apt - the students are made to feel their own part in that diverse world. This is a Montessori school which adheres very closely to Maria Montessori's principles - those principles have not been 'watered down' to suit parents' tastes. It provides a consistent and structured environment where kids can explore their own interests. Kids of different ages work side by side and learn from each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

Other than the Montessori curriculum, One World's directress, Rebecca Keith, is its major strength. She is terrifically intelligent and knows Montessori like no other. If you are lucky enough to have your child in her Primary classroom in San Jose, you will be amazed by her knowledge, skill, level of involvement, and understanding. Another big strength: 'We are all one world' focus. Kids become worldly and compassionate! Weaknesses: No other Primary-level teacher (at the San Jose site, at least) comes close to Rebecca, in terms of ability. The parents at One World are a great group, super involved, and as geographically and ethnically diverse as they come. (U.N. Day is amazing!) Extracurricular activities are available--at a price. NOTE: This school is a real, authentic Montessori school, complete with cursive lettering practice for children as young as 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

One World is extraordinary--they can accommodate any kind of child. There are children attending from every continent except Antarctica and that diversity is celebrated in beautiful ways. Academics are very high, as well. I can't recommend it enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

Great elementary program. My children love the school and a very friendly, humorous atmosphere and I am very happy how much work they do in there. I hope the love for learning that they have now at One World will stay with them for the rest of their lives, as well as independence and organizational skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Here is a school that boasts teachers who really love their job, love their students. Extremely individual attention given to each student. The school should only teach up to about the third grade. Too few students for very good socialization skills as the students progress into the uper grade. I have enjoyed the parents experience from preschool through 3rd grade. Every promising young child should have a school this good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

One World Montessori school is a school which has a great community, a family feel. Since my child first attended this school, she has grown into a independant, confident child, has a more caring attitude towards others. She is excelling in her work, not just in her school work but also her character, her unique personality. In the Montessori classroom, there is a sense of a community, a family that appeals to me as a parent, this provides a safe environment to be oneself, to gain independence, and acceptance to each child's unique personality and strengths. The teachers are well trained, and caring, who seen to enjoy their jobs. The teachers have been at this school, some over ten years, that shows committment, and the love of teaching. I, highly recommend this school to other parents, come and observe, see for yourself our community. Parent of a 5 year old.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 26%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 4% 52%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1170 Foxworthy Avenue
San Jose, CA 95118
Phone: (408) 723-5140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT