Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Almaden Preparatory School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $555,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2009

I don't quite agree with the faculty assessment. My child is in the second grade and his teacher gives as much one-on-one attention to him as to any other student in his class. The teacher makes it fun and my child never wants to miss class. He also pushes my child to be the very best person he can be, both academically and in everyday life. I really feel my child is getting a great education. I hope he has the same teacher next year, as this teacher is teaching the third grade as well (as a combo). Strong teachers make this school worthwhile!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

Pros: The school does a good enough job to prepare students for top private high schools such as Bellarmine, Archbishop Mitty, St. Francis, Notre Dame, and Presentation, the faculty and staff are kind, there is a trip to yosemite offered for eight graders and science camp offered for sixth graders, a good drama program and sports program (although it is limited to only football, volleyball, and basketball). Cons: The facilities are dated, some of the teachers do not know what they are teaching (last year my son had a spanish teacher that did not know how to speak a word of spanish), resources are limited, no quality lunch program, teachers spend more time on misbehaving students than on the academically gifted students, no student involvement in activities and events (book fair, halloween festival, auctions, etc.), no student government, and subpar teachers who use a lot of favoritism towards certain students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I agree completely with the review written on March 22, 2009. The other reviews look exactly like something the faculty would write to boost the school. It doesn't even sound like a parent's writing, specifically where it says, 'the atmosphere there makes it all worthwhile'. Trust me, the atmosphere is not all that pleasant. Many of the lights and window shutters around the school are broken, the roofs leak every year when it rains, and the plumbing system has problems often causing it to flood in and outside the classrooms. On top of that the school is in very close proximity to a neighboring school called 'Beacon' that is for special education students. They are also students that have violent behaviors and need that extra attention. Sometimes the children are scheduled to be at recess while the Beacon students are also out, and there has been confrontations in the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

Two of the above reviews really looks like 'marketing' from the school faculty. Our own experience is the school is mediocre at best, unless your child performs on the top tier otherwise they ignore your child. The teachers try hard, but the good ones never last more then 1 year.. most are not that great. The principal is very good at talking, but that's about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

As parents, we want the best for our children. We want them to be happy, well-adjusted, and to love learning. We found exactly that at Almaden Preparatory School. Our daughter is happy and ecited about school because her teacher makes learning fun. This is our second year at Almaden Prep and our daughter is already requesting to go there year after year. Almaden Prep has high academic focus, as well as, variety of extracurricular activities. Our daughter enjoys participating in the school plays and taking the piano lessons. She looks forward to joining the girls volleyball team when she's in the 4th grade. We live in Morgan Hill, so the school is a bit out of our way but the overall atmosphere there makes it all worthwhile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

My daughter started school this September. I have seen a huge difference in her personality - she is become more independent, responsible and is striving to do better without me pushing it. The school is great with teachers working 1-on-1 with students, giving them all the opportunities that they are willing to take. The sports program is excellent. The schools offers the perfect combination of academics, comprehensive enrichment programs (art, drama, sports etc.) It is a happy, warm, welcoming place to be. There is a quality that exists at this school that is hard to find elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

Almaden Preparatory School is an elementary and middle school in San Jose, CA near Blossom Hill and Camden. Their K-8 curriculum challenges the brightest of students while allowing all students to grow at their own pace. The Almaden Prep community offers many opportunities for growth via extra curricular activities including sports, robotics, scouting, and martial arts. Almaden Preparatory School is an excellent choice for parents looking to prepare their student for attendance at a private high school. Most graduates of Almaden Prep are not only accepted to high schools like Bellarmine, St. Francis and Presentation but they excel in honors classes once there. Both of my children attended Almaden Preparatory School and I highly recommend this school be considered by parents looking to prepare their children for a successful education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5670 Camden Ave
San Jose, CA 95124
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 723-9017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Beacon
San Jose, CA


Beacon School
San Jose, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT